We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Par with Pullman”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“On Par with Pullman”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel has had a name change (remember the Sebel) and a few renovations that suit. Short taxi ride from the airport. Have stayed here a few times and one of the best things about this hotel is the entrance - Raffles Singapore anyone? They also have a wonderful buffet for breakfast and dinner which would be agreeable to most travellers. Rooms spacious and everything needed to have a pleasant stay whilst in Cairns is there for the offering. I was on the 7th floor overlooking the Reef Casino- walk across the road from hotel - and the harbour. Could not complain. Pool and spa available outdoors. Mii Spa excellent treatments and value. Ten minute walk to movie theatres and the Cairns Central Shopping Centre. Will be back there in a couple of weeks can hardly wait.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hi Jane - grea to see you're coming back to this wonderful city and we look forward to welcoming you. Thanks for taking the time to write a review; I'm fairly new to the property and I did think of Raffles as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    793
    275
    69
    40
See reviews for
357
899
116
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed for two nights mid week at the Pullman that the Accor group had just taken over. We were not disappointed with anything. First, we had a very good hotel rate as Accor members and wheh we walked into the hotel, we were greeted by friendly staff and a porter who just took care of the car, which was made available quickly whenever we wanted it.

We had little luggage so carried it ourselves, although the staff offered to take it to our room for us. We and a fourth floor room overlooking the swimming pool and it was a pleasant outlook over a generous balcony. The room was generous, without being excessive and was very clean throughout. Decor was modern and what was expected. Overall a very good room and bathroom.

Coco's restaurant is excellent with a fantastic buffet dinner and breakfast. Not cheap, but probably not too excessive given what is on offer, provided you can eat that much.

Again, throughout our stay, the staff were great, friendly and attentive. I will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YakkaNobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed only one night but had a very good experience, Hotel very clean, had a suite on the 15th floor, Views not great but the room was very nice with a most comfortable bed great sleep.
The bar near the reception was very cosy and the service was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Travelling with family (2 adults, 3 year old and baby). Room was big enough for all of us (standard twin room). Restaurant not cheap ($32 breakfast), but good and convenient, with excellent service. Valet parking also not cheap ($20) but reliable and careful. Front desk staff very helpful - when noise from the casino disturbed our sleep the first night, they did what they could to move us for the second. Only hiccup was delay in luggage help for check out, which almost made us miss our plane. Overall, however, a good experience,and I would return if going back to Cairns. Special mention to the following restaurant and bar staff: manager Amy, bartender Manny, waitress Hannah - for excellent service.

Room Tip: If staying Friday or Saturday night, avoid low-floor rooms at the front of the hotel as the casino m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarbonOffset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkwood, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were disappointed with the cleanliness of the room as soon as we walked in. The furniture was dated and covered with dust, and it was apparent when we went into the bathroom that the mirror and vanity had not been cleaned properly. Service was also very disappointing, we were acknowledged a total of two times by reception and concierge staff during our 3-night stay. Sadly not what we would expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank mkw_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and extended over a weekend as my wife flew into town as well. I am more than happy with the rooms in terms of size and outlook (I paid for a city view but was looking seaward - bonus!) but I did find the bed size a fraction smaller than usual. If you're over 6 feet you'll find yourself needing to untuck the linen so your feet aren't uncomfortable. Minor detail but worth mentioning for you taller travellers.

The meeting facilities are great too although the lack of free wifi as an inclusion is discouraging in this day and age. Give Cairns is a major entry point for our Japanese friends and with the Pullman being a flagship brand I'd expect this may be confronting for them to not have this.

The breakfast options are fantastic and it is good to see Asian cuisine offered at the most important meal of the day. I opted for the Western style fruit muesli and on all days it was fresh and varied. Thumbs up for the kitchen staff.

The staff are very welcoming and friendly as you would expect from a Pullman and that was pleasant at check-in, during my stay and at check-out.

Finally, the gym is well equipped with about a half dozen cardio machines and a couple of sets of free weights and an all-in-one weight station. It's enough to satisfy the traveller who needs to work out.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PartyOfFourToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed on the third floor facing the Casino and I would not recommend the 3rd floor as the balcony are at the same level as the roof of the lobby so views are not great and the roof was not cleaned even though food had been dropped by someone from a room above. Apart from that we paid 125 au$ per night which was pretty fair for what we got. A nice clean room with a small balcony. I did get annoyed though when the cleaners knocked on our door before 9 AM to ask if we needed our room cleaned. Never experienced this before.
Location is great and staff is friendly and the pool is very relaxing although it seems deserted and the music was a bit too loud if you need a nap.

Room Tip: Do not stay on 3rd floor facing the casino. Try to get higher floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing