We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pullman Cairns doesn't live up to Pullman brand” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    771
    267
    68
    36
See reviews for
345
861
112
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed 5 nights at the Pullman whilst visiting Cairns on a conference. When a bus load of us arrived to check in there was only one staff member on duty at the desk - it was only 8.30pm at night. It took a very long time to get to our rooms.
My room was not serviced properly each day. There was usually a dirty coffee cup let by the bed and glasses and spoons were not cleaned and returned. Several times all my towels were removed from the room and not replenished. It wasnt until I came out of the shower that I noticed that my towels were not where they were supposed to be! Very annoying to say the least!
On check out I was advised that there was a "very small charge" to use credit card payment. It turned out to be $13 extra charge which is not "very small" in my opinion - that is a lunch or movie ticket! I understand small businesses needing to charge a surcharge for credit cards but I do not believe a large chain such as Pullman needs to charge this - especially since the room prices are high as are the excessive charges for mini bar etc.
Im sure there are better places for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Having never stayed at this property before I can't compare, but I'm sure in it's heyday it was superb. For the price we paid we did expect everything to be top notch. The room was of excellent size, but smelt musty (something that all NQ properties deal with) and definitely could do with a modernisation. The buffet breakfast whilst having a good variety was not worth the price. We stayed 2 nights and each day we went down at around the same time, possibly this was our error as the food quality was dry, chewy or inedible. We didn't dine here other than breakfast as the buffet one night was seafood only and my fiancé doesn't eat it, don't think there was another option for the other night if I recall.

Staff were more than friendly and helpful, but didn't seem to go out of there way. I guess we expected a different level of service given what we were paying to stay there.

All in all, it's a nice place to stay if you are conferencing or in Cairns for business, wouldn't recommend for the leisure market though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel was very grand in its day and could use a little renovation. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable and you could just about see the harbour. The breakfast was plentiful and had lots of variety however would have been expensive if not included in the room price. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The car parking was a little pricey at $20 per night but there are meters close by and and large car park. I agree with Kathy I would have liked to use the sauna but felt a little shy of walking through the gym and it was cold when I got there! Also the room wasn't spotlessly clean there was a good layer of dust on the skirting boards, and the mirror and the patio furniture was old. Having said all that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure breakfast is included and get a high room as you can hear the noise from the casino across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Qld
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The International is an older hotel (20 years?) but has maintained it's classy grandeur. The lobby with its massive windows and tasteful, timeless decor is gorgeous. Our rooms were well appointed with contemporary decor and a luscious bathroom. Housekeeping were very friendly and prompt in responding to our many requests! My only disappointment was the portacot provided for my baby lacked a decent mattress.

Our price included breakfast which was excellent and offered both Western and Asian options.

Best of all, The International is very centrally located. Casino, esplanade, shopping and nightlife are all walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMapleLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Elegant foyer. Gorgeous pools. Warm spa (the kids loved it). The sauna is a little trek past rooms and through the gym, so not so nice if you want to have a swim before or after. Breakfast was included (too expensive otherwise) but it was probably the best breakfast spread I've ever seen. ever. Catering for all different breakfast styles (Japanese, European, Chinese, American, Australian!) Half the room was lovely. The beds, bathroom and view. Great to see a new flat screen tv. Hard not to notice the really dirty white curtains, the outdoor furniture needs updating, and there was a bit of forgotten dirt, dust and mould spots behind doors, in runners and on walls. It was a bit like they're looking forward to renovating or brightening up those rooms and just letting some little details go for now?!?! $20 to use their carpark was disappointing. So parked for free in the streets. $16 to watch a movie, when you could walk down the road to the cinema. It was difficult not to compare this with another hotel we stayed at recently in the area that claims to have the same amount of stars. Staff were friendly, I always appreciate that.

Room Tip: Get a deal that includes breakfast, maybe even parking (if possible).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Was there for a business conference and had a great stay. We had a standard room but it was still spacious enough with a small table, chair and desk that you can put your laptop on. The bathroom also was generous for standard and the amenities were lovely and well stocked. We were there for 3 nights and on the second night came back and found they had forgotten to restock our towels, so rang reception and within 5 minutes they were delivered to our door. So service was good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had drinks in the foyer a couple of nights and nightcaps and the experience was very pleasant with a entertainer who wasn't too loud to add to the ambiance. I must make mention the beds are very comfortable. Location is also very central to restaurants, a small walk to shops and just across from the casino. The only down side would be the breakfast smorgasbord although plentiful and delicious was expensive so it would be wise to get bed and breakfast deal if you are having breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing