We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the centre of Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great place in the centre of Town”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A wonderful week in Cairns, the Hotel is located in the heart of cairns, next to the Reef Casino, Esplanade, Bus Terminal and Woolworths Supermarket. As you enter the grand entrance of the hotel with marble walls and floors and comfortable furniture to sit in the lobby with that holiday feel to it. The friendly reception staff are helpful providing me with my daily Courier Mail/Cairns Post newspaper and providing directions, The lift is speedy and does not make one disorientate. Room was 1303 on level 13 with a view of the hinterland, a bit of the port area and extensive views of the CBD and overhead view of the Resort pool. Room was in great condition, Plasma TV had all the Digital channels and some foxtel channels, the balcony was nice to sit in and quite sunny in the arvo with views of incoming jet liners to Cairns airport. The En-suite was very nice with mirrors reflecting mirrors, big huge fluffy white towels to wrap your self in, Great shower over bath. Cocos Restaurant is good its Asian influence in the nightly buffet I tried the Peaking Duck, Pork, all sorts of salads, I didn't enjoy the vegetables and potatoes as they were curried, the chicken Laksa was great not too spicy, The selection of Miniature Deserts were of Asian influence with coconut this, and ginger and spiced mango coconut crème. The Resort style pool is very nice and gets quite allot of Sun coverage during the day and it can also be quite windy but with plenty of premium sun lounges you can relax, there 2 separated pools with a bridge in-between, each pool has its own Hot Spa, with the exception of the furthermost pool from the hotel having added wading pool. The pool area also has a function area that can cater for Weddings with a Gazebo and outdoor reception area and Grassed area and lounge area as soon as you exit the hotel on level 3. the pool area is well lit up at nite with LED lighting, also on Level 3 is the Gym with a comprehensive display of machinery, Plamas Tvs, Saunas and toilets and showering facilities, pool and gym towels are provided for guests in the Gym and at pool side, however these towels can disappear through the day and would need reception to replenish the towel rack. The Hotel is a insert card in to door to open or press lift button operations, sometimes my card would fail and would need to be reprogrammed. The undercover in-house parking is quite expensive, for our stay the on street parking was sufficient and safe for our stay. will stay again.

Room Tip: Le club Accor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear SugSydney,
Wow -what a review! I think we should use this as our brochure! Thanks so much for a detailed report and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You make a good point about the insert cards and I have alerted our team to ensure the cards and locks are cleaned properly to ensure we minimise any failures.
Thanks again for taking such time and care to give a comprehensive report and, more importantly, we look orward to your return.
Thanks Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    809
    283
    73
    41
See reviews for
378
913
117
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hotel was in a great location, rooms were OK, housekeeping was not so great and only half cleaned the room and then we had to call to get our towels replaced and some toilet paper. Tried to book into the spa a few times but was always booked out. Didn't try the breakfast as there was an amazing cafe next door that had great breakfasts for a fraction of the price of the hotel.
there is an amazing Italian restaurant next door, opposite side to the breakfast place - great food , great prices.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool are quieter but was pretty quiet when i was there even though the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 383traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsuchiura, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I stayed 5nights for winter (summer here) vacation.
We stayed in one of the premium harbor view twin rooms which located on the 15th floor.
Although the neighbor casino was just under the window across the road, we did not hear so much noise as the floor was high enough. (Only on the New Year Eve, we heard the voices of people, but not so much disturbing). There were fireworks on that day, which we could enjoy from the balcony of our room and made our experience here joyful. The fireworks itself was not so much large scale, though.

《Reservation》
At first we tried to book through some of the booking sights, but we could just found the plan which did not allow cancellation.
We made our reservation direct on the homepage of this hotel. We could found the more available rooms including the premium rooms with cancellation allowed.
For some other hotel, the booking conditions are just opposite. Booking sights did have the plans with cancellation and hotels direct booking sight did not have any plan with cancellation allowed. It may be wise for us to check carefully for the plans they provide.

《Location》
It’s in the very nice location. You could walk to the port for the trip to Great Barrier Reef in 5 minutes, the Duty Free Shop from where some optional tours start, and super market within 10~15minutes.


《Breakfast》
We chose the plan with breakfast, and we felt happy for our decision. Quality of food was very nice. We've read comments which informed there were many eating places around here for breakfast, and maybe so, but we did not tried, so we have no information about it.


《Room》
The room was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The interior design was nice.
The view was wonderful.

《Personnel》
They were friendly and polite.

《Only one negative for this hotel》

We reserved the seafood buffet at Coco’s restaurant through concierge, and we thought 15% discount for the staying guests would be applied, as we read the leaflet in the room.
But, the lady at the cashier desk of the restaurant did not apply it. She did not know the discount plan itself. We mentioned we've read about it in our room information, but she did not ask anybody about it and said she did not have any idea about the plan. She said she worked usually in the different division. She was very comfortable, charming, well-mannered beautiful person, and my husband said “It’s not a big deal” and this issue was closed.
Original price for the buffet was rather expensive. Japanese tour company sells the coupon for this buffet in lower price. We just thought, by 15% discount, it was acceptable. Food was wonderful, but not for the price we paid.
As we might be regarded that we have already accepted this issue based on my husband words, I am not sure telling about this is appropriate or not. But, considering for the benefit of someone wishes to stay here, I thought it’s better to tell them what happened and tell them "Shall we make it sure prier to the reservation".
There was a telephone number on the booklet for the reservation. Maybe only through that phone number, 15% discount was applied, not through the concierge nor by telling to the cashier at the restaurant, “We are staying here”.

《Next time》
Despite the experience above, probably we would stay here, again, next time in cairns . Overall experience was not so bad.

Room Tip: Roome on the higher floors, especially above 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teatimeinthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Teatimeinthegarden (what a great name!),

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review on the hotel and you make some very good points. I apologise for the confusion over the pricing of Coco's and I have spoken to the team about being consistent with information -thank you for bringing this to our attention. It was great that you could experience the firewoks from your vantage point up high and I'm really happy you found the staff friendly and helpful.
Thanks again for writing such a good, detailed review.
Thanks
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Loved the decor in this hotel - the creams and greens in our room were restful and the hotel itself is elegant in an understated way. We had a corner room which was very pleasant. Location of the hotel is central - a short walk to wharf, esplanade and shops. We found the staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast provided plenty of choice but was not cheap.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are sunny with a beautiful view and breeze on largish balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It's our first time in Cairns and this hotel met our expectations. We stayed here for two nights. First impression of the hotel was great - the lobby looked really grand, and there was a restaurant (Coco's) and bar. We were very tempted to try the buffet dinner ($70 per head) but considering the wide variety of food options available around Cairns we didn't end up trying it. The room itself was alright. We can tell that the rooms have not been renovated in a while as they still retained the older design and had a "old hotel feel". The carpet was a bit stained and we can see signs of wear and tear but otherwise the room was clean. There was a pool, spa, sauna and gym on level 3. Location of the hotel was great - we were within walking distance from the esplanade, restaurants, and the main streets.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a modern newish room to stay in, look elsewhere. Otherwise this hotel meets a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rujihw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spent four nights in a twin room, harbour view, with buffet breakfast included. We were on 13th floor, so there really was a harbour view. Lower, I am not so sure. Actually, the city view with mountains would be fine, and get afternoon sun. The mattresses were older, I would say, probably springs inside and lacking the comfort layer on top. Too firm for us. Wifi in the room can be had for a price, but is free in the ground floor lobby an hour at a time. Reception staff will give you a piece of paper with your password. Actually making the connection was a trial of intelligence and patience, and involved several trips back to concierge to troubleshoot. Part of the problem was the fluctuation in signal strength. Location of this hotel is good within walking distance to wharf marina and The Esplanade. The hotels own pool is in shade until the afternoon sun, and I found the water temperature too cool. The buffet breakfast was very extensive. Unluckily for us, they had made a change to the dinner menu the day before we arrived, and all was chaos. Next door is an excellent Italian restaurant, Piccollo Cucina.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing