We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at a couple different Pullman's throughout Australia on our recent visit...but I will say that the Pullman Cairns International was bar far the best one! The location was great, amenities beautiful, and service top notch. The room was VERY clean and tidy with fabulous views. We were lucky enough to stay on the 16th floor, so perhpas they have been renovating from the top down, as our room was fresh & new, not tired and dated as some of the earlier reviews suggest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    771
    267
    68
    36
See reviews for
345
861
112
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trentham, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Pullman recently for 3 nights after a relaxing stay further north in Port Douglas. On arrival to the Hotel I was impressed with the efficient and friendly service from reception staff. The room presentation on arrival was very good, after settling in we though we would spend the afternoon by the pool. During the course of the afternoon we ordered food and drinks to the pool side, timely but pricey however the disappointing thing was when some locals staying at the hotel came in by the pool, snatched up precise of furniture to make their own little area then pull out their own plastic glasses and alcohol (in glass bottles, champagne bottles could be heard popping) to consume. This was totally unfair and my observation was that hotel staff turned a blind eye when walking through. After the group became painfully loud we headed back to our room and thought we would enjoy a drink on our balcony only to have cigarette smoke billowing up onto us from the balcony below. At the same time ferals were screaming obscenities to everyone and anyone from a balcony at the Pullman reef hotel across the road. That was the end of that. I then used the bathroom to shower, the shower head was one you had to hold as it would not fix to allow standing under. Water was spraying everywhere the shower was useless. It then dressed and went down to reception to complain. We were moved promptly to a superior room that looked exactly the same as the room we had just left except for a TV cabinet and a shower head you could stand under. The air conditioning thermostat control was stuck at freezing and could not be adjusted for the remainder of the stay along with noisy louts yelling out on the street on the Saturday and Sunday night. The room next door had noisy kids that kept crying and would wake you early along with the constant sound of water running. Beds were saggy and uncomfortable. Breakfast was great each day with a good variety and well replenished. We left the Pullman feeling tired and grumpy after feeling so fresh on arrival, we did not sleep well at all. Would not stay at the Pullman again, is certainly not 5 star and did not meet our expectations.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I love the harbour views! It's great to wake up to a beautiful view each day. It just makes the day all the more awesome. The hospitality at the front desk was excellent and the buffet was plentiful.

The restaurant staff was kind except one woman who became very frustrated when we wanted to sit at a different table for breakfast. Other than that, great experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaAnnJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is starting to look tired and show its age. The hotel room although large needed to be refreshed. I requested a non smoking room but there was the lingering smell of old cigarette smoke. The bed was well passed its useful life with a sagging mattress and squeaking bed head. The TV is dated required a new remote - The power button changed the channel.

Now the good stuff. The bathroom had an awesome shower, it was well presented and clean. Staff were friendly, professional and knowledgeable. The breakfast buffet had a great selection of items, but the fresh omelette I request lack polish.

The room key slot in the lifts needs to be more prominently displayed and in a better location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prahran, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my parents for five nights, we had the included buffet breakfast which was lovely, and had lots of options! The pool is great! With two spas one heated! The gym facilities are also very good! The rooms are a little old and tired for a 5 star hotel but the other facilities are great. The pillows on the beds were terrible however, they were lumpy and not comfortable. The bed was fine for comfort. I have been to other 5 star hotels were the room comfort was a lot better but the facilities are good here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahandcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Sure some people say this location is great because its opposite the Casino but it is a 5 min walk to the Marina which isnt far but its also not on the Marina like the shangri-la or near the esplanade.

This 5 star experience was far from 5 star, i know that in Cairns the hotels are a bit older and not as new as say some in Gold Coast, generally the 5 star here really isnt an international level 5 star if you had stayed 5 star in singapore or thailand then this will disappoint!

the furnishings are really old, the bed and bedside tables are in tjhat yucky old wood in a beac colour. the tables and chairs on the balcony are just white cheap plastic chairs. the bathroom does have marble in but still looks old and worn.

Service wasn't great either!! we specified a King room and they put us in a double, it wasnt until we questioned it that they put us into a king room. The lady on the front desk barely spoke english and was very unhelpful. when i called about the room change i was on hold nearly 10 minutes.

Quite honestly this hotel ruined my holiday a bit. we had booked to stay here 3 nights and after the first night we left and checked into the shangri-la which was a proper 5 star and service.

i do not recommend this hotel. sure, the lobby is amazing!!!! -but THATS IT!

i usually take photos of my hotel rooms and post online but i was so upset with this one i forgot to take any photos sorry.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelbag, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing