We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    811
    283
    74
    41
See reviews for
378
917
117
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bingil Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

For a reliable night in Cairns at a reasonable price the Pullman Cairns International (still known as the Sebel by most in Cairns) is an OK option but don't expect anything like the quality of the Pullman Reef Casino Hotel across the road. The rooms are really starting to look tired these days and while the public areas might look grand on first glance they too are showing signs of wear.
The reception area was filthy when we arrived and didn't get any cleaner later on. The first room we were put in had a leaking air-con unit in the wardrobe which had clearly been dripping for some time as everything was soaked and the room smelt damp. The maintenance guy who came up to fix it was efficient and got us a new room straight away. However, he wasn't at all surprised by the leak which would suggest that this was a regular occurrence; if it is then surely that should be a sign that some work needs to be done on updating the air-con units!
Our replacement room was much smaller (and had a smaller bed) than the first one but we couldn't be bothered arguing the point as we were only staying one night. The rooms are generally tired looking but clean and comfortable. Noise from adjoining rooms has been an issue in the past but not this time.
Breakfast was included in our rate but we've had breakfast here before and know that we're better off heading to Perottas down the road.
If Accor want to rebadge this property with the more prestige "Pullman" tag then it's about time they spent some money on it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Cairns international - I know its trying to be five star but I think it needs to keep on trying. The reception staff seem a little put out by you being there although the concierge we met was very helpful. The rooms are ok, we had a room on the exec floor and honestly - nothing to write home about.
In most 5 star hotels they supply water - Just saying
Pool area very good.
Stay in the other Pullman or stay in Palm Cove or Port Douglas - much better

Room Tip: Harbour view - can't see harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed there for four nights with my parents. First stop in Australia. Tour desk was certainly very helpful, HOWEVER, I think if anyone wants to book a tour you should book with a local travel agent, they are everywhere on the streets. They offer discounts where the tour desk at the hotel does NOT. Other people who went on the same tour as me got much larger discounts from travel agents on the streets. As for breakfast, I did not like the buffet that much, do not think it is value for money. A cafe called 'Dolce Cafe' just around the corner (actually around 5 minutes walk, turn left when you walk out of hotel front entrance and keep walking straight for I think two blocks and the Cafe is on your right across the street) is super nice and cheaper than the buffet breakfast at the hotel. Of course the buffet offers greater variety, but I think just like any other buffet, quality is just average. And agree with most other comments, hotel is very old and mattress feels a bit odd.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

First stay at this hotel and while it is now a little old the rooms have been fully refurbished and up to the Pullman Standard.
Check In was quick and efficient and also appreciated a up grade to a corner suite double room with great views across the water.
Room was very clean and well presented and everything worked. ( room 1606)
Cannot comment on restaurant food as it was fully booked that night so settled for room service which was quick if not a little expensive. However the room rate booked on line was great value for a hotel of this standard..
Found all the staff to be friendly and efficient and the overall experience was positive. Would stay again when in Cairns.

Room Tip: If you don"t want the hotel breakfast there is a very good eatery just to the right of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qld_Aussie_Expat_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing