We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great pool area”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A very charming hotel situated close to the Casino and marina. The lobby has large arched windows that give it a Queensland feel and the decor is beautiful and classic.
The rooms are well appointed and if you pay for the harbour view you are treated to the comings and goings of the day boats to the reef.

The pool area is very nice and has palm trees and a grassy area- you have to pinch yourself that it's all situated on the third level.

Our only complaint was that the service level was very flat and they appeared to be under staffed in all areas. Otherwise a good choice among the many on offer in Cairns

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear PJ Scuba,
We hope you are not too hot down there as those heat waves roll on through SA. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we really value the feedback. Sorry our service wasn't that impressive -this is disapointing as it is the most important element of any stay as we have a great record. Anyway your comment highlights the need for consistency and we appreciate that that you took the time to let us know. I hope you will return one day to give us another chance.
Thanks
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    787
    271
    69
    39
See reviews for
354
881
115
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here, the hotel is clean, modern and very large. Our room and bed was comfortable. The pool is nice and well maintained.we had two spa treatments as they were on offer. The only down side is things are bit expensive, as we were on a five week holiday we would have liked to use the laundry service, but At 16 Australia dollars for a pair of trousers £8 pounds UK ,and 4 dollars £2 for a pair of socks it was too much. We found a great launderette on lake street, with a lovely lady, called Michelle who did a service wash two big loads and delivered back to the hotel for 30 dollars. Highly Recommend. The hotel was also expensive on food and drink.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TommyCPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi TommyCPeterborough,
Thanks for the review - the Aussie dollar is coming down so there is some relief in terms of currency exchange. I will apologise however as no one told you we have a coin laundry on the 3rd floor for guests to do larger loads of washing whihc could have made things easier for you.
Thanks Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at the Pullman Hotel for four nights, service at the tour desk and at check-in was very good. Room very nice with view and plenty of room only sore point was the bed, hard as a rock, pillows not much better.

Pool area very nice. Restaurant looked okay but better priced restaurants were close at hand so didn't eat in. Happy Hour was disappointing very small selection of drinks available had to ask for the Happy Hour specials (clearly give the poor selection it was better that they were kept a secret), it one of those things, either do it, and do it well or don't bother.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was very nice with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimmie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Mimmie,

Thanks for your review. I note your comments regarding bed - I have just written a response to someone who thought the beds were too soft - so it is a tricky one and relects real individual taste. I also take your comments regarding Happy hour and will ask my F00d and Beverage Manager (who is brand new) to have a look at it.
Thanks again for your comments
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel before catching a flight. Very nice staff, easy check in, close to shopping, food, nightlife, and post office. Our room had a fridge and kettle for making tea, which I always appreciate. We had to leave early and the staff was prompt with getting us a taxi and getting our bags.

Better than I expected! Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xstala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Xstala,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review - I'm glad we able to exceed your expectations and we would love to see you back here again.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is very well located, has a lovely lobby and the rooms were fine. The staff were not very helpful and curiously, the agent for booking activities was not there at the hours expected and was sent home early during the time that we were there, making it difficult to book activities on the reef or in the rain forest. When that person was there, the two people I encountered were very helpful. The pool is gorgeous, but closes at 9 pm at night, despite having lights etc.
The staff, particularly the Maitre'd at the restaurant, was curt and not helpful, at least for breakfast. Although they were unable to do a late check out when we went to the Reef for an excursion and returned to pick up our bags and check out, they did allow us to use the shower facilities. These were surprisingly "worn" and unpleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meltz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Cairns is not blessed with much in the way of stellar five-star accommodation. Within that context, Pullman was a good stay. We really liked it. The front reception and restaurant area has a soaring British colonial feel to it which is gorgeous. We stayed on the second top floor in a large room with an ocean-facing balcony. Beautiful views. The rooms are dated and in need of modernisation, but they are clean and in good repai and ours was much larger than your average hotel room and priced competitively. Buffet brekkie was great - nice to see savoury mince!! Staff were really helpful and kind and gave us a late checkout which we really appreciated. More full-service than Cairns Harbour Lights which is newer and has better views...where I usually stay when travelling for work. This was a holiday with my boyfriend after a few nights cruising on the reef.

Room Tip: As you'd expect, higher floors afford the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisOutwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi BrisOutwards,

You've got to love the savoury mince at brekkie! Thank you for posting a balanced and detailed review -everything you say is absolutely fair and I'm glad your overall impression was positive. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing