We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great hotel. One of the more affordable 5 star hotels. It is within walking distance to quite a few good restaurants and only minutes to the esplanade. Their high tea isn't bad either. If you're needing to park, there are many off street parks close by.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi Pastel8,
Thank you for taking the time to post a (very positive) review.
I'm glad you enjoyed our High Tea -the whole concept is truly back in fashion. Two of our emplyees recently won a Gold Medal in the Dilmah National High Tea competition which was a fantastic achievement but required a lot of training and practice.
We are lucky in that we have a full pastry kitchen on site to do all the pastry/desert work - it is one of my favourite places to visit and 'see how the day is going' usuually around morning tea time with a coffee in my hand...
Thanks
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Cairns International
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at the Pullman International for an extended stay while vacationing in Australia. The hotel staff, especially Alex, were great. The hotel was lovely. The room was good, Bed ok. Pool area was great. The hotel is located across the street from the Casino and is within walking distance of great shopping both touristy shops and high end. I ate at the restaurant only for breakfast as I found other meals to be expensive. I had the pleasure of a day at the Spa for my birthday and it was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floteeflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi floteeflo,

Thanks for writing a review. I hope you are not too cold back in Canada- it's a sunny 32 degrees here today and the pool is looking very inviting however I'm obviously in my office (and not swimming boss) and happily responding to a nice bunch of comments.
I'm glad you enjoyed the Spa - we've got a great facility with 10 rooms and the great inner Sanctuary room which just sets up the whole experience nicely.
Thanks Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A very charming hotel situated close to the Casino and marina. The lobby has large arched windows that give it a Queensland feel and the decor is beautiful and classic.
The rooms are well appointed and if you pay for the harbour view you are treated to the comings and goings of the day boats to the reef.

The pool area is very nice and has palm trees and a grassy area- you have to pinch yourself that it's all situated on the third level.

Our only complaint was that the service level was very flat and they appeared to be under staffed in all areas. Otherwise a good choice among the many on offer in Cairns

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear PJ Scuba,
We hope you are not too hot down there as those heat waves roll on through SA. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we really value the feedback. Sorry our service wasn't that impressive -this is disapointing as it is the most important element of any stay as we have a great record. Anyway your comment highlights the need for consistency and we appreciate that that you took the time to let us know. I hope you will return one day to give us another chance.
Thanks
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a lovely stay here, the hotel is clean, modern and very large. Our room and bed was comfortable. The pool is nice and well maintained.we had two spa treatments as they were on offer. The only down side is things are bit expensive, as we were on a five week holiday we would have liked to use the laundry service, but At 16 Australia dollars for a pair of trousers £8 pounds UK ,and 4 dollars £2 for a pair of socks it was too much. We found a great launderette on lake street, with a lovely lady, called Michelle who did a service wash two big loads and delivered back to the hotel for 30 dollars. Highly Recommend. The hotel was also expensive on food and drink.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TommyCPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi TommyCPeterborough,
Thanks for the review - the Aussie dollar is coming down so there is some relief in terms of currency exchange. I will apologise however as no one told you we have a coin laundry on the 3rd floor for guests to do larger loads of washing whihc could have made things easier for you.
Thanks Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at the Pullman Hotel for four nights, service at the tour desk and at check-in was very good. Room very nice with view and plenty of room only sore point was the bed, hard as a rock, pillows not much better.

Pool area very nice. Restaurant looked okay but better priced restaurants were close at hand so didn't eat in. Happy Hour was disappointing very small selection of drinks available had to ask for the Happy Hour specials (clearly give the poor selection it was better that they were kept a secret), it one of those things, either do it, and do it well or don't bother.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was very nice with balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimmie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Mimmie,

Thanks for your review. I note your comments regarding bed - I have just written a response to someone who thought the beds were too soft - so it is a tricky one and relects real individual taste. I also take your comments regarding Happy hour and will ask my F00d and Beverage Manager (who is brand new) to have a look at it.
Thanks again for your comments
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel before catching a flight. Very nice staff, easy check in, close to shopping, food, nightlife, and post office. Our room had a fridge and kettle for making tea, which I always appreciate. We had to leave early and the staff was prompt with getting us a taxi and getting our bags.

Better than I expected! Would stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xstala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hi Xstala,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review - I'm glad we able to exceed your expectations and we would love to see you back here again.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is very well located, has a lovely lobby and the rooms were fine. The staff were not very helpful and curiously, the agent for booking activities was not there at the hours expected and was sent home early during the time that we were there, making it difficult to book activities on the reef or in the rain forest. When that person was there, the two people I encountered were very helpful. The pool is gorgeous, but closes at 9 pm at night, despite having lights etc.
The staff, particularly the Maitre'd at the restaurant, was curt and not helpful, at least for breakfast. Although they were unable to do a late check out when we went to the Reef for an excursion and returned to pick up our bags and check out, they did allow us to use the shower facilities. These were surprisingly "worn" and unpleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meltz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £112 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing