We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We just had 2 nights here and it was very good. Other reviews said there was a $8 fee for parking but it is now $20 for valet parking only. We were happy with our standard queen room which was large and comfortable. The buffet Breakfast was good, the usual accor style breakfast. As we were there over the weekend we did have the seafood buffet one night. Although it was good we did not feel it had enough seafood selections. Oysters prawns and spanner crab. Also a hot dish of salt and pepper calamari. If not for the accor card this would have been a little overpriced at $70. Make sure you book in advance on the weekends as we could not get a table on the Saturday night. We went across the road to the restaurant that was also a member of accor and could not get a table there either. Manny in the bar, was great and made your time in the bar very enjoyable. He also can make great cocktails. We only had one problem with the room not being serviced and when brought to the desks attention they could not have been more helpful and apologetic.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirley274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Shirley,
Thankls for taking the time to write a review and we're glad you enjoyed your weekend. It's great you mentioned Manny -he is a legend and is approaching 20 years service with the hotel! I can't imagine how many drinks he has made over all those years and every day is smiling and ready to please the guest. He is one of the ones that makes the industry great - diligent, loyal and consistent -what more could you ask for?
Thanks and we hope to see you up here again (you probably need a break from Brisbane soon).
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    779
    270
    68
    39
See reviews for
351
871
113
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel on wotif.com and chose a mystery hot deal. $120per night, I stayed 2, the service staff were great and looked after your every request. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breaky was good too, though slightly rich at 4
$40. There are loads of places to eat close by.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWizard68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Mr Wizard68,
Thanks ofr the great review -looks like you got yourself a great bargain. I'm glad you enjoyed the room but thrilled the service staff looked after you well - that's the main game for us and it is always good to hear people are being well looked after. We hope to see you again one day.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungendore, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

When checking in it felt like it was all too hard for the girl behind the desk .. Our room was a little tried and could do with some upgrading .. House keeping was awful knocked on our door at 8am and as we were still in bed advised no room clean for us today , but we left the room by 9am and she was still on the floor till later in afternoon but no room cleaned !! Service needs some work as not great service from any area of hotel!! And it's a 5star place !!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi Christine F,

Thanks for giving us this feedback and I'm sorry we were unable to impress you in the service delivery department - this is really disappointing for us (and you, no doubt) as we have been really consistent in our service however I recognise that was not the case with you and it is great that you have let us know - all feedback is gold. Thanks for taking the time.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I arrived for a 3 day midweek holiday to Cairns Tuesday late morning. I was greeted at the door, my suitcase and backpack was taken inside for me, and I was greeted by Andre, and felt like a celebrity from the start.

The lobby is very big and has a wonderful atmosphere to it. As you walk in, the restaurant and a bar at to the right.

Check In was simple, and my room (1324) was easy to find.

The room was very clean and spacious, and the temperature was nice and cool. The beds were nice and comfortable. The view out to the hills is very nice, and although there are a lot of buildings, the view is still pretty cool. The bathroom was clear and well presented.

I opted to use th valet parking for my hire car, and it is definately worth the cost. There is parking outside the front of the hotel, but it's meters and you would have to keep going out all the time to buy tickets. The cost would be about the same anyway ($20/day for valey parking).

I was pleasantly surprised to have a chilled bottle of water in the car at the start of each day. It's the small things like this that will have me coming back every time I visit Cairns, or anywhere else there is a Pullman's Hotel.

Breakfast - THere are two options, continental or full buffet breakfast. I chose the latter, which you can really fill up on. All the food looks very well presented, and there is freshly ground coffee available too.

There is a pool, gym and sauna but I didn't have a chance to use them, but the pool does look great from my room balcony.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Carsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi Carston B,
Thanks for the nice review and we're glad you enjoyed your short stay. Pity you didn't have time to jump in the pool - thanks also for mentioning Andre - he's a great employee and always has been a fantastic ambassador for the hotel.
Thanks again for taking the time and we hope to see you back here.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very nice Hotel, Room very good and plenty of space excellent view over the mountains, first class swimming pool, no wifi in room and very costly to have in your room, i do think for prices charged wifi should be in the room, apart from the wi-fi wood recommend this hotel near casino and esplanade, breakfast costly, and mostly Asian food

Room Tip: If you don't like Asian breakfasts suggest plenty other places nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi James D,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and thanks for your comments regarding the room and the pool and I note your comments regarding the internet.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hopefully seeing you agfain in theis part of the world.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We found the Pullman Cairns International to be a really high quality hotel. As soon as you walk into the lobby you know this place is going to be nice. Our room was modern, clean, spacious and comfortable (our room included two double beds as part of the deal we got). We also had our own balcony which looked out to the city and hills.

The staff were all very polite and kind. As other reviewers have mentioned - the food and drink at the hotel restaurant are very pricey - you can find other amazing eats around town for a fraction of the cost. But the experience was amazing none the less.

There are two separate pools with a SPA semi-attached to each one. The pool and SPAs are really relaxing and clean. The fitness centre is small but functional and there are two saunas available to use which are easy to operate and were never busy.

The location is extremely convenient with only a short walk into town and about a 10-15 minute walk to Cairns main train station. In the opposite direction as you leave the hotel you can reach the esplanade in about 5 minutes and the restaurants in 10-15 minutes walking (to the end & swimming area).

Overall we were really happy we chose to stay here and recommend the experience to all!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi DanTreasure,

Great shot on your profile - one of the best I've seen and believe me I have seen thousands. Thanks for the nice review (and for choosing us in the first place) and we've glad you enjoyed the facilities and the stay. I was in Brisbane last week and I must say I enjoy the few extra degrees we have up here in Cairns - it makes it easier to jump in the water. I hope we see you up here again.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Good location, nice pool and friendly staff.
In house food and drink prices are extortionate and rooms a little tired.
Compare to the other quality of hotels in Cairns I wouldnt stay anywhere else.
Just eat elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Mark H,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm happy our staff, location and pool made the grade but I acknowledge we have to win you over on the F&B front. We really appreciate your loyalty - if you are a regular hotel user you should consider our Advantage Plus card which besides getting better deals offers a dining discount. Thans again for your review.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing