We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Centrally located which was easy access to restaurants, pubs, groceries and shops. It was also within easy reach to the meeting points when joining various tours /activities. The hotel was clean with comfortable environment. Staff were lovely. They always showed us the happy smiling face and very helpful. We had stayed there for 3 nights and would recommended this hotel highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPFTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi WPFTracey,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review -we're gald you enjoyed the location however more importantly I'm gald the staff were impressive -I'm very lucky to have a happy and dedicated crew here at the hotel and these comments certainly help - so many thanks!
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    788
    271
    69
    39
See reviews for
355
881
115
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you're board of the run-of-the-mill business hotels that appear in every city in Australia and just want something a little different, try the Pullman in Cairns. I found the hotel by accident (our usual haunt was full).

Excellent service from the front desk starts the experience off. Then up to a very modern (yet classic) room which is larger than the norm. A great bathroom with large bath (I can fit in the bath, all 6 ft 2 inches of me) and excellent amenities. The in-house restaurant is great, and I enjoyed the breakfast there. And it's marginally cheaper than the other lot which is a real bonus. Great views of the bay as well.

Decor is modern by classic. Stunning spot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Mark L,
What a great accident - I'm glad fate brought us together and the hotel was to your liking! Thanks for the great review (it's a great way to start the work week) and we really hope we see you again.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Location was very convenient. Within 10 min walking distance of town, groceries, marina, snorkeling cruises, restaurants, and bars. Stayed for 6 nights.

Hotel lobby was nice decor, well maintained. Checking was fast and friendly. Katie at reception anticipated our needs very well. Thank you!

Hallways look a bit dated, but very well maintained.

We had booked a marina water view room, worth it!

Nice view from the balcony of town and marina and the river and the reef. Very clean, well maintained, with plenty of space to spread out!

Only complaint is of the tiny print on the phone in the room, too small for me to read! Getting extra towels in room was no issue once we asked for them.

Swimming pool was awesome for cooling down, swimming, or playing. Beer/drinks available from inside bar. Plenty of towels available, along with sun and shady area depending on your Preference.


Bar service was great, prices steep. Buffet breakfast had good variety but very expensive too. We tried little breakfast crepe place next door: great food, very reasonable: 3 of us ate at the price of one buffet.

Tour Booking desk, Amanda was amazing. Very helpful, friendly and efficient. Prices were the same as at booking places along the street. She took care of everything , including advising us very well for kuranda to take the train up in the cool of the morning since train has no air-conditioning, and then taking the gondola down.


Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Priti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Priti K,
Thanks for posting a review -we really appreciate your feedback. The point you make about the phone printing is fair enough and something we shall look at. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in this part of the world and hope to see you back here again one day.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I recently spent 7 nights in this hotel.
It's a little dated but very nice and comfortable and most importantly clean.
It had a great location. Service was great. Pool was beautiful but no pool bar.
Breakfast was a bit over priced.
Hotel has a day spa and a tour desk which is great
Overall was very happy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi Michelle V,
Thankls for taking the time to post a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We are just getting through Cyclone Ita at the moment so for once being in Sydney is probably better than Cairns!
I hope we can see you up here again.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I recently hosted a small group of colleagues (22) for a 4 night stay at the Pullman International, not to be confused with the Pullman Reef Hotel & Casino, which is directly across the street. I received no complaints from the group. The hotel upgraded the group to superior waterfront rooms and graciously offered me an upgrade to the executive suite. While the rooms are a bit dated, they were very clean and certainly functional and all came with balconies. The included breakfast buffet was conveniently open from 6:00 - 10:00 and had a decent selection of fruits, vegetables, juices, hot dishes, breads & egg station.

What didn't work so well was our planned functions: 1) Training area was in an open section on the upper mezzanine ; 2) Our awards cocktail was set up in the lobby away from the bar and a little too open and busy with foot traffic. I had hoped the function Manger would have reached out to check on us, but the staff that did were pleasant enough, but likely were not in a position to assist us beyond what was provided.

Great location near the start of the esplanade with views of the Trinity river inlet and within 5-10 minute walk from Cairns Central Shopping Mall, Night Market & Rusty's Fruit & Vegetable Market. I would have rated 4 stars or higher if the planned group functions were executed a bit better. For a couple, family or small group of friends it would be a good place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi Ron,
Thanks for a fair and balanced review - I note your comments regardingn the functions and I have discussed this with the team.
I'm glad you enjoyed the location and that your meeting was successful. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review -we really appreciate the feedback.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing