We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently stayed here during a trip to Cairns. The hotel is in a great location for restaurants and access to the reef. The hotel foyer is impressive and our room was a reasonable size. The buffet breakfast was pretty good, with lots of fresh fruit as well as the usual selections. The service was pretty good although we did have an unfortunate experience during our first night when one of the hotel staff knocked on our door repeatedly at 1:30am and asked to be let in to check to see if we had thrown a chair off of our balcony. She then ran through our room and went out to the balcony to ensure our chairs were still there then ran out the room. No explanation or apology the following morning... Overall, a pretty enjoyable stay and worth considering if visiting Cairns.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sismith17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi sismith 17,
Firstly let me apologise regarding the incident with chair -that was a fairly crazy night for us as someone was throwing chairs out of the windows and we were very concerned about people being injured - sorry we could have handled it better for you. Thanks for the rest of the review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,155)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Cairns International
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Pullman Cairns International Hotel. We stayed in room 1419, balcony, nice view, friendly staff and clean hotel. We found the housekeeping staff to be very professional and pleasant. Small gym, pool and 2 sauna's (loved the sauna's). This hotel certainly has the facilities for conferences/balls etc. Good air conditioning (bit noisy, but that doesn't really bother me) Negatives....stained carpets, tired and dated furnishings, the most uncomfortable beds (married couple given twin double beds). As we were staying there as part of a very large group of people we didn't want to complain as we thought they would probably be booked out....I am not fussy with beds, however these were tiny and very uncomfortable!! We heard at least 4 other couples talking about their beds. Very limited options for food/room service after 10pm (wedges or toasted sandwiches). Food ..... well..it was ok, definitely room for improvement..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Brisbane No1,
Thanks for your review and mentioning the staff and I note your comments regarding the beds - this situation is under review; I know that doesn't change your experience but your generous donation of feedback certainly helps our cause -thanks again.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have just returned to London from a 5 day conference trip held at the hotel and found that the hotel was good. (I suspect I was part of the conference that irked a previous reviewer, but (a) went to bed and (b) sympathise as I would not have wanted to be there at the same time as a major conference) It was not in the Ritx Carlton or Four Seasons League but I was not expecting it to be - if it does advertise as 5* then I would be disappointed as it is 3.5 - 4 as a matter of impression. The view from my room across to the sea was wonderful (the fruit bats at dusk are a remarkable sight) and the hotel is very well positioned for the wharf and seafront generally. The bar and restaurant were average but the pool was good and the staff efficient and friendly. My room was of a high standard (clearly not an experience shared by others) and I would be happy to go back. The air-conditioning was efficient and no more obtrusive than anywhere else in my experience (I always turn it off at night wherever I am and it was good to have the controls by the bedside - more often than not the controls are impossible to find!). The TV channels were limited and the output dreadful - but that is not the hotel's fault - you realise how good the BBC when getting back home. I would treat the hotel more as a transit point either for trips to the Reef - Green Island is only 50 minutes and amazing, despite the numbers heading off on the Cats - or when heading further north to the rainforest. But whatever the destination, provided you do not have too high expectations of the Pullman it is more than adequate. Incidentally, if travelling business class to Australia I would choose Emirates again - the seat layout and comfort is 2nd to none.

Room Tip: High up (12 - 15th floors) overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wander2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Wander2London,
Thanks for a balanced review and I do agree with you regarding the harshness of some recent reviews however everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Thanks for mentioning the staff -they really do work hard here to overcome some obstacles.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked the hotel for the last 4 nights of our Australia holiday. We booked an "upgraded" room with water view room facing the harbour - well what a disappointment. When you got out of the lift the carpets were frayed and stained. The room was old and tired and the balcony cramped. The curtains fell off their runners every time you tried to open them and the air con was really loud.

There were far too many bad points for a supposed 5* hotel. The hotel desperately needs to be refurbished and all the rooms upgraded. The furniture is old and dated, carpets are frayed and stained and I agree with previous comments that the beds are uncomfortable.

Whilst we were there a massive conference was taking place. The public areas were unbearably noisy - especially breakfast, we wanted to go to the pool but the staff were setting up a pool party for the conference and we were made to feel totally unwelcome by staff who told us we had to leave by 5pm and deliberately played loud music to get rid of us earlier.

This hotel was supposed to be the icing on our holiday trip but it failed to tick any boxes.

We paid a lot of money for this hotel and felt totally cheated. We would not stay here again and would not recommend it to any of our friends or family. This was our first stay at a Pullman hotel and based on this experience most certainly our last.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobsterchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Nicole H,

Thanks for your review - and taking the time to do so. We are working on refurbishment plans currently and I understand for a section of the user group this is an important point - I can't get ahead of myself however but to relate that the recent spate of feedback is not lost on me and the people I report to. I will keep at it!
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Launceston, Australia
1
Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I feel conflicted about what I'm about to write because the staff were absolutely exceptional, the restaurant seafood buffet was amazing, the foyer is beautiful and the outside pool area is absolutely top notch HOWEVER the Pullman Cairns Internaitonal advertises itself as a five star venue and it's just point blank not.

As stated, the foyer is beautiful as is the outside area but the rooms are old, tired and desperately in need to renovation. The balcony was a nice touch but it's difficult to relax and enjoy yourself when you're staying at a hotel that claims to be five stars but only has three star (probably only two tbh) rooms.

Having said that, the staff at the Pullman Cairns International are absolutely exceptional and go way above and beyond the call of duty and it's not their fault that the hotel's rooms are badly in need of refurbishment and renovation. If and when this hotel gets renovated then I'd stay there again but, as it stands, for the price and the quality of the rooms I wouldn't currently stay there again nor would I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Neko S,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Thank you for your exceptional comments regarding the staff - we all really appreciate the fact that you recognised that part of your stay and that is the part that I have immediate control over so thanks again. I note your comments regarding the room standard and will ensure it gets passed on as well.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £110 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing