We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WiFi is like water - stop gouging!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Pullman Cairns International have a terrible pubic relations leak. The staff were lovely but the management need to take an urgent, good long look at one or two charging policies.

The positives
It's a fabulous entrance and the reception, concierge, bar staff maintain a high standard that any international hotel would be entirely satisfied with. The room was large and airy but even in winter housekeeping turn the air conditioning ON every time they're in the room. Cold is not welcoming in winter.
The meals were all very good, including the set menu for about 150 of us. Never an easy job sending out 150 perfectly cooked pieces of fish and beef. Nicely done F&B.
The lobby furniture is charming. The in room furniture is looking a little tired and the veneers are bubbling and peeling here and there which is the revealing crack in the armor of an otherwise fairly faultless front of house performance.

The negatives
A nine minute call to Melbourne was billed at over $38. I rang for help to fix some office email settings on the mobile. $38. Disgusting, shocking and this (at check out) undermined all the positives so needlessly. This kind of ridiculous gouging just has to stop. The Pullman also charges for WiFi. I note they don't charge for water use. Many of us consider charging for WiFi just as ridiculous. The room-night bill for three of us exceeded $3000. What possible good can come of creating bad feeling and bad PR over trying to rip off a measly $38 for a phone call and some $25 daily for WiFi. I'm here for business. WiFi is like water.

Room Tip: The rooms get bigger as you get higher. The front rooms see the sunrise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cafehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Cafehead,
Thanks for your balanced review - you have made some valid points for our consideration. I thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and food.
As a regular travller you may have heard of our free Le Club program - once you gain silver status you get free Wifi in all our hotels - I realise this is not your point however we are moving in the right direction.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Cairns International
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great hotel, location and staff. Buffet breakfast is fantastic.
Only 2 issues: We had a pre-arranged bed/breakfast deal for 2 nights but had problems the first morning when the breakfast deal did not appear on the Hotel's paperwork so we had to pay for breakfast. Sorted it out later at Reception but only because we were able to show written email verification from Pullman. Apologies all around - but then same thing happened the second morning. Luckily the same guy was on Reception as the previous day and was it sorted with a quick phone call this time. Annoying and embarassing. Other issue was that the people in the adjoining room entered our room by mistake using their room key-card. Luckily we were in the room at the time as we were about to check-out - but it is worrying that this can happen. Reception did not seem to believe us and said that this never happens. But it did. Apart from these issues as usual a great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi MIck B,
Thanks for the balanced review. I do apologise that we got it wrong - it is annoying we did it twice! I will also look at the room entry issues as this should not happen -thanks for bringing this to our attention.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here just for one night to transit to Fitzroy Island (where I strongly suggest to go!) upon arrival in Cairns. I didn't have much expectation prior to my arrival but found it quite grand. Lobby was huge and nothing wrong at reception or concierge service.

I didn't have dinner or drinks here then cannot comment much however if you need a quick stay nearby the beach particularly the wharf this is well recommended. I have to add the room was large and clean enough.


Cheers. Taka

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank takafujino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Takafujino,
Thanks for the review -glad you enjoyed Fitzroy it is great over there.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here on friday night with my partner. We live in Cairns and so it was just a night away where we could simply relax with no distractions and enjoy. The entrance and foyer area are very enticing and are reminiscent of grand colonial style. Checkin was efficient and we were escorted to our premium room. We were located on the 16th floor which is the highest floor and looked over the city and the mountains-what a wonderful view it is. The rooms are extremely spacious and well appointed with the usual amenities you would expect in this caliber of hotel. At 6pm we thought we would have a pre-dinner drink while catching up with the latest news on the television. Oops the TV didn't work. Rang reception and unfortunately the person they sent was unable to fix the problem. This problem then became rather tedious as the hotel endeavoured to solve the problem. Unfortunately the hotel was almost full and they could not relocate us to a similar room. Eventually we ended up on the floor below with similar views, but we had lost our king size bed and ended up with two double beds! So much for our romantic night we has been looking forward to. With all the time that this took, we had no time for our pre-dinner drink, missed the news and even had to push back our dinner reservation! This was not really what either of us has imagined for our evening.
We had the seafood buffet downstairs at Coco's Restaurant. Despite ringing and pushing back our reservation the table was not ready on our arrival. We were given a complimentary drink at the bar. The maitre d' at the restaurant deserved a compliment. He was really fantastic.
The hotel deal we were on was supposed to include a complimentary newspaper in the morning which didn't arrive. Unsure whether this was because we changed rooms or not. I mentioned this at checkout and we were given a newspaper. It would have been nice to have had the paper earlier and read it in bed.
Overall the hotel wasn't bad however our experience was not particulary good. It all went terribly wrong just because we wanted to watch the news. It was not the pleasant evening that it should have been despite the staff trying.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Judy1362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Judy,
I'm really sorry about the TV -it obvoiusly had an adverse effect on your whole stay. Can I say thank you for bringing it to our attention, we really appreciate the feedback. I'm glad Andrew was of assistance however there is no doubt the TV should have been working.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wow!! This was more than we expected,the hotel was beautiful,and our room was so clean and comfy plus we had great views of the mountains.Everything was within walking distance shops,restaurants,more shops and restaurants plus the Casino was right across the road, even tours could be booked within the hotel which is a bonus as theres so much to pick from.10/10

Room Tip: There was a Deb Ball on when we stayed and never heard a thing so im hoping the other rooms are the...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi Gloria C,
Thanks for the nice review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the city view basic room and oh my it was amazing. Normally with standard rooms they are small. But not this one including the bathroom they were very large. We would recommend this hotel and the location is perfect.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi Jodie D,
Thanks for the review -our rooms are quite big (all 40sq metres or more) so we're glad you enjoyed the space. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £112 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing