We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could use some work”
Reviewed 29 August 2005

I found this hotel at the very last minute where my alternative were some loud hostels in the area. It is in a good location, fairly quiet area but walking distance to the central area. I found the restaurant was overpriced for what they charged which is predominantly asian food. The hotel needs work. The rooms need updating. There were scratches on the door, lighting was fluorescent, decor was on the shabby side. Housekeeping could have been improved. If you plan to stay there, pay the midrange to budget price. Service overall could have improved, they were a little understaffed at the desk.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank penpoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    809
    283
    73
    41
See reviews for
378
913
117
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 August 2005

The staff at the front desk were rude, the room was very large but sorely in need of updating, the bathrobes still had lipstick and perfume on them from the previous guests, the bathroom was dirty and the balcony had pidgeons living on it (consequently I scratched myself on pidgeon poo). Do not bother wasting your money on this hotel - we went to Thala Beach Lodge the following evening and we were so grateful just to get away from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2005

We got this for a third of the advertised rate and what a bargain! The room was lovely and spacious with a gorgeous bathroom and nice balcony. The eateries looked a bit pricey buth there are pleanty of options in the surrounding area. The pool was fantastic with three different temperature pools to choose from and it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 May 2005

I assume that when you were seated the staff gave you a menu to look over. In that menu alongside your choice their would have been a price listing all food and beverage. What part off fish with crab @ $99.00A did you not understand.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of sales at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 7 September 2005
All of the hotels restaurants have pricing on them so I'm not really sure where this comment is coming from. Review is not cosistent with the pick boxes. I have no issue with guests making comment but it should be factual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 October 2004

The hotel was fine. It is not exceptional, but perhaps the best to find in cairns. They have a very good restaurant although the portions are american style (huge!). We found it fine as 'a place to stay.'

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 July 2004

Although we only stayed here one night, we wished it could have been longer. A wonderful hotel, within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The most luxurious accomodations we had in Australia.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2004

We loved this hotel - it was our first stop coming from the US and we were thrilled to find a great hotel. Our room was large, clean and new and the bathrooms were very nice. The hotel was in a great location, about 5-10 minutes walk to the Esplanade, shopping, restaurants, supermarket, boat terminal and the the train station. The concierge was very helpful in arranging our day trips to the Great Barrier Reef (amazing!) and Kuranda. The hotel restaurant was okay, but a little expensive. We paid AU$150 (----------) which was a great rate for a very nice hotel. Overall, great value for money.

Helpful?
10 Thank FerDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing