We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There for a Conference...really liked it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“There for a Conference...really liked it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2005

I was at this hotel for a conference in July 2005. Upon walking into the lobby, I was impressed as it had a warm, slightly opulent feel. Lots of wood, marble and massive arrangements of fresh flowers.
Rooms - the rooms were a little more simple, but still very nice, light & airy and with balconies. My room, on the fourth floor, overlooked the casino, but higher rooms overlooked the ocean or the hinterland.
Location - it's right across the right from the casino. Two short blocks in one direction to the marina and less to shops etc. About 300m to the city 'pool' (located just next to the beach (mud flats), a cross between a pool and a man-made beach, surrounded by lovely green lawn - but absolutely packed in peak season).
Food - my dining experiences were limited to the pre-arranged dinners and lunches for the conference group. Dinners were truly sensational (a buffet mix of seafood, pastas, gourmet salads, tiny little desserts to choose from), whereas lunches were a bit more basic (salads, hams etc), but all very fresh and of great quality. Room service breakfasts were very good and substantial.
Staff - were all fine.
The only annoyance was that my room key card kept 'losing it's memory' and I had to traipse back down to reception to have it recoded so I could get back into my room.

If I was travelling to Cairns for pleasure, this is the place I would stay as it's handy, reasonably priced & pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oztourist76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    767
    267
    68
    36
See reviews for
345
858
112
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnegie, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2005

I stayed at this hotel while at a conference in September 2005. I was there for three nights and was on the executive floor.

It was a very nice hotel without being spectacular. The room was spacious with pleasant decor. The airconditioning worked well (important in FNQ!). The bed was fine. I had a balcony which was good too.

The food at the conference was good which is probably a sign that it is as good or better in other restaurants when not being mass produced. We had a seafood/BBQ buffet one night which was very good. Breakfast was also quite good but the service was very slow on all three mornings.

The internet access was terrible - expensive for what it was with a mouse that was next to impossible to use and a screen that was hard to read at times. There is no broadband in the room.

I did not use the pool but it looked great! The location of the hotel is also convenient for travellers. There seems to be lots of support for Japanese guests, ie things written in Japanese etc.

I would stay here again but would probably try some other hotels in Cairns first just for some variety.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Feeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2005

I found this hotel at the very last minute where my alternative were some loud hostels in the area. It is in a good location, fairly quiet area but walking distance to the central area. I found the restaurant was overpriced for what they charged which is predominantly asian food. The hotel needs work. The rooms need updating. There were scratches on the door, lighting was fluorescent, decor was on the shabby side. Housekeeping could have been improved. If you plan to stay there, pay the midrange to budget price. Service overall could have improved, they were a little understaffed at the desk.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank penpoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2005

The staff at the front desk were rude, the room was very large but sorely in need of updating, the bathrobes still had lipstick and perfume on them from the previous guests, the bathroom was dirty and the balcony had pidgeons living on it (consequently I scratched myself on pidgeon poo). Do not bother wasting your money on this hotel - we went to Thala Beach Lodge the following evening and we were so grateful just to get away from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2005

We got this for a third of the advertised rate and what a bargain! The room was lovely and spacious with a gorgeous bathroom and nice balcony. The eateries looked a bit pricey buth there are pleanty of options in the surrounding area. The pool was fantastic with three different temperature pools to choose from and it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2005

I assume that when you were seated the staff gave you a menu to look over. In that menu alongside your choice their would have been a price listing all food and beverage. What part off fish with crab @ $99.00A did you not understand.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of sales at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 7 September 2005
All of the hotels restaurants have pricing on them so I'm not really sure where this comment is coming from. Review is not cosistent with the pick boxes. I have no issue with guests making comment but it should be factual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2004

The hotel was fine. It is not exceptional, but perhaps the best to find in cairns. They have a very good restaurant although the portions are american style (huge!). We found it fine as 'a place to stay.'

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelbag so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing