We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant & Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Elegant & Good Value”
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We paid $130 a night and were very pleased with the accomodation.

The hotel lobby and public areas were elegant, we ate in the restaurant which was good quality and very good service. Cocktails were on happy hour 5-6.30pm which were a good deal. The pool was attractive and had plenty of loungers around it.

The room was a little tired but elegant and spacious, the only problem was - we were facing the front of the hotel on a saturday night and it was very noisy however the other nights were quiet. Great views from the room we were in (918).

We did want to have a late check out but we were advised that this would be charged at $20 an hour which we thought was a bit excessive.

Other than that we were happy with our stay here and would return again (but not on a Saturday night).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D4T4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    799
    279
    72
    40
See reviews for
367
906
116
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed for one night with a three year old child. The room was really spacious with two double beds, table and seating area and balcony. The bathroom was perfect and again very spacious. This hotel is of an excellent standard with some modern beautiful features, it is clean and well maintained. The location was ideal for walking to some good eating places even with a small child. The pool area was great for children, but also for adults just wanting to relax in the spa. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here who prefer an excellent quality room and elegant lobby bar.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Beautiful hotel!!! And awsome people that work there. Where the hotel is located you can walk to any restaurants and only blocks from the pier to where you get on your boat cruises to the reef or other excursions . The Concierges are very helpful and friendly. Especially Steve or Rohod. They will help you with anything you need to bringing your luggage up to your room to booking an excursion for you to calling a cab. Even calling your airline carrier and getting you checked in for your trip off. You don't have to worry about a thing here, but just to rest and relax!!!! Service here on a scale from 1 to 10 is a 100!!! I have always said you get what you pay for, and we got more than we paid for here!!! You can't go wrong by staying here thats for sure. So if you plan on going to cains be sure to stay at the sebel carins hotel and be sure to tell STEVE & ROHOD that DAVID & CHARLA said HEY from GA USA and that we sent cha HAVE A GOOD TRIP!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

This hotel was centrally located by the wharf and very close to the restaurants, pubs and shopping. The Holiday Inn is more centrally located if you are not SCUBA diving or taking boat trips and want to be close to the restaurants and shopping.

It was clean, quiet, great harbour view room with balcony that looked over top of the Pullman Casino. The concierge desk was amazing! They were very helpful with everything we asked.

The pool was the only downfall as it was quite cold and most people sat in the hot tub/jacquizzi. You had to use the phone by the pool to order up any drinks/food. The seafood buffet was lacking in comparison to the seafood dishes you could get at numerous restaurants.

Great value at $120/nt of of lastminute.com.au. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifezgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed here from April 10 for 6 nights.
Impressive hotel on the website but in reality it is not as nice as first appeared. Lovely large reception area with access to lounge bar and restaurant. Friendly reception staff. Smooth check in. We were on the premier floor (15). Hotel room was large with double bed, small work desk, average bathroom, a 21in TV, minibar, aircon, wardrobe space etc.
Nice views of the City from the room and you could see the harbour too.
The room safe had a charge of $3 a day to use and it was tiny. Most people want to lock away laptops and big cameras. This safe barely had room for the paperwork we had! – I also did not expect to have to pay for this basic service.
Wi-fi had a weak signal in the room and the charge to use it was a whopping $36 for just 2 hours use which had to be used within 24 hours of first use. A complete rip off. Broadband was available in the room but again this was charged at $0.55 per minute with a max charge of $29 per 24 hours of use. Better value than the wireless card but still very expensive. The room BB was also a bit slow too. Worth bearting in mind if you want to see Youtube vids or News Videos.
Breakfast was included in our room rate of $220 a night. It was $29 if you had to pay singularly.
Breakfast was not bad overall but I was not happy to have to pay $5.50 extra to have eggs that were either scrambled, omelette style (one choice) or fried egg. Surely a so called 5 star hotel should provide this as part of the service. Also, if you wanted anything other than the mediocre tea and coffee provided, you had to pay $4.50 for coffee and $5.00 for tea. Again, I feel this should be included when you are paying a room rate of $200+ a night! These small things would probably make me think again before staying here.

Gym Facilities
There is a small gym provided in the hotel on the 3rd floor. Out of the 8 available machines in the room, 4 were out of order which I feel is unacceptable really. There is a sauna in the gym but you have to ensure it is turned on 30 mins before use to heat up if no one has used it in a while. It is small but does what it says on the tin. There needs to be a locker available to put your things into whilst in the sauna. Free water is available though which was good.

Pool Area
Large Pool and spa area is included and is a nice addition to the hotel. There are very comfortable sun loungers and this is a wonderful way to spend a sunny afternoon in Cairns. Free water also included which is great. No Pool bar was open though. Again for a five star hotel, you might expect this.

Overall
Whilst there were a few niggles with this hotel that could be corrected, overall, it was a pleasant enough hotel. It is centrally located, has lots of shops and restaurants nearby, a lot of which are geared towards the Japanese tourist. The hotel has a lot of Japanese patronage too. The pool area is nice, it has a useful laundry room ($11 per load inc wash, dry and soap) and use of a Gym and Spa (which did not use). Housekeeping was generally good and the rooms were spacious. I wouldn’t not recommend it but I would look around to see if there are better deals around too!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamDroitwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Why would anyone stay anywhere else? It is central, walking distance to marina, shops etc and the rooms are first class. For $120 a night either on wotif or phone direct it cannot be beaten in y opinion.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchie in Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We booked into the Sebel after a night in the rain forest. The hotel is well situated and lots can be done on foot if one so wishes. Cairns as a town is nothing to rave about. The prices are inflated for tourists, so are day trips.
Both bathroom and bedrooms were luxurious.
The swimming pool area is also very relaxing whether you want a swim a jacuzzi, a sauna or simply read a book and have a drink.
The only disappointment was with the Buffet Meal in the Coco Restaurant. The meal itself could not be faulted and the service was friendly and efficient. However in the room there was a leaflet with special prices for hotel guests. Among the offers was a A$ 10 reduction per meal, which made the meal to A$ 55 instead of 65. However we were charged full price as we were told the offer had expired. Even though it didn't have any expiry date on the leaflet they didn't want to honour the price on the offer. But the massage had the same offer and there was no query when it was time to pay.
Also we found wi-fi the most expensive rate compared to other hotels we stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aworldfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing