We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel but a little bit dated/overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming hotel but a little bit dated/overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Charming hotel but a little bit dated/overpriced. Is in a good spot in Cairns. Has a colonial feel but also the rooms/decor fell a little bit dated.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    771
    267
    68
    36
See reviews for
345
861
112
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Stayed 3 days and used the hotel as a base for sightseeing trips in the area (Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest). The hotel has a really nice atmosphere - something which is quite unusual. The building is quite old and some of the details in the rooms bear witness to that (e.g. loose electrical plugs and antique air-conditioning system) but it's all made up by sheer charm.
The mini bar in the room was not completely full of stuff we wouldn't have bought anyway, so we had plenty of space to store our own food and drinks in there. We decided to interpret this as an understanding gesture by the hotel although it probably means they sell fewer mini bar items.
The breakfast is up there with the best hotel breakfasts we have ever experienced. Don't miss the honey!! I know that sounds weird, but once you've seen it you will understand.
We had no problems with noise between rooms but there were functions by the pool every night, which were quite noisy, but they ended promptly at 11 pm.
An amazing service experience: I called the front desk on our first night expressing concern about the very noisy party by the pool. The front desk assured me the party would end at 11 pm and since it was 10:30 already I told them there was no problem.
The next day, we got a friendly call from the front desk morning crew asking if we would like to change rooms because there would be another function that day (again, ending at 11 pm). Now THAT is what computer systems are for.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Spent four days at this Hotel, room was made up every day, however they neglected to give us clean towels, this is normally no big deal but Cairns is very hummid and nothing dry's damp towels are not very pleasant. fab pool etc., didnt get the chance to enjoy. Must pay for parking $15 per day and $20.00 on a Saturday. As there is no parking around this hotel you have no option. Food expensive however close enough to Town to go out for breakfast etc., The airconditioners at the Casino running all day and night are a bit annoying if you want to sit on your balcony. Over all it was good for the price. Bed is comfy. Most of the staff were nice.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sebel - a little bit of luxury on a girls get away. Service was great and loved those cocktails in the lobby bar. The pool area was a favourite place with plenty of shade if needed, comfy lounges and poolside service. Close to everything, shops, casino, waterfront, restaurants etc

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

After using TA for all most of my holiday/travel research , I decided it was high time I contributed. The Sebel is well positioned. The pool area is gorgeous but in general the rooms feel like they are in need of an update. They are spacious but in need of a revamp. I had requested a king bed but got a room with 2 doubles so wasn't very pleased as I was travelling with my husband but was told they were booked (maybe because I booked at a good rate through Wotif?). The bathroom had a seperate bath and shower cubicle but was very dark even with all the lights on. Also be careful with the bathroom tiles..i sprayed some insect repellent on before walking out the bathroom and the combination of the spray and tiles was not great. I slipped and hit my head on the door frame. I found the food to be expensive for room service so ate out. In general, if they updated the rooms I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Good location and nice views of the harbor. Friendly staff but couldn't get early checkin.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Whilst this hotel has all the standard conveniences I'd expect of a hotel this calibre, the number of additional charges around every corner constantly gave the vibe of being mugged.

At $32 for a hot and cold buffet breakfast, one would reasonably expect that large fee to cover all costs. However, if you wanted poached eggs, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, or an omelette, that was an additional $5.50. The room comes with a safe (which was tiny and could have held nothing larger than two coffee mugs) but to get the key required paying an additional fee ($3.50). Internet in the room was an additional $0.55/min or $29/day - and that required a fixed cable connection, not wifi so you were trapped at the narrow small desk to use the internet (the old-style TV sat on the desk so there was no room for working there anyway). I overheard another guest arguing with hotel staff about excessive phone charges for a number of calls they'd made - a $2.75 connection fee per call (even for 1800 toll free numbers) was far more than they were expecting to pay.

In other matters, both the room and bathroom within the room were spacious. The bathroom was well ventilated so it didn't become a steam-filled sauna after a quick shower, and also featured a fog-free mirror which was appreciated.

The restaurant was reasonably priced (mains $23-$32) compared to other restaurants in the area, and the food was certainly edible, though nothing special. The drinks were delivered to the restaurant from the bar and were overpriced.

The breakfast was a major disappointment (particularly given the prices). There were only three cereals (corn flakes, rice bubbles and shredded bran), the fresh fruit selection was very limited, and the hot buffet breakfast did not include what I consider to be staples (no tomatoes, mushrooms, or fried eggs). This was the first Australian hotel I've ever seen with a hot breakfast that did not include fried eggs as a staple - what's a hot breakfast without bacon and eggs??? Scrambled eggs were available in the bain-marie but you could also purchase them custom-cooked for $5.50. Initially I was puzzled by this - why pay for something you have already paid for? - but then I tasted them and realised the included version was poorly cooked slop that had too much milk, so there was no taste and poor consistency. Presumably one could order the scrambled eggs to have less milk and more egg? I ate at the restaurant for three mornings and it did not improve, so I know it was not a one-off failure. I had unfortunately pre-negotiated a special rate with breakfast included for $20 (not $32) so I ate at the hotel but would recommend future guests go down the street and find a cafe instead (there are plenty within a 2-block radius). Although I can't comment on the quality of breakfasts at nearby establishments, I doubt they could be worse than the efforts of Sebel Cairns.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MQ007b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelUp, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing