We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a good stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overall a good stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Only spent 1 night here but was impressed with the service and size of the room. Would have been beneficial to have a local guide/info in each room to assist with navigating our way around Cairns, and the showers weren't the best for a tall person.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlpblonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    453
    244
    83
    42
See reviews for
287
362
84
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I could have titled this "soooo Rydges". It ticks the boxes...affordable, clean, friendly, no excesses, good view etc etc but it is sort of in the middle of nowhere unless you want to visit the hospital! At the Northern end of the Esplanade, it is quite a walk to other restaurants, tourist shops, wharf etc. Parking is convenient so if you have a car you can always drive.

Room Tip: Absolutely an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Out of the three Rydges in Cairns, this one is probably the oldest building. But with an interesting architectural planning, all the rooms in this hotel facilities are sea view which is great. Close (minutes walk) to the CBD and everything that Cairns can offer. The pigeons might want to share your food if you choose to dine in your private balcony, be it snacks or from the room service :)

Room Tip: The corridor is relatively narrow. Better to stay far from the lift if you cannot tolerate some/litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahid I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

A weekend getaway with the family and enjoyed the hospitality, no fuss, good service, late check in with no problems, fast checkout with no issues with a young family this was important. We got an excellent deal on the room rate so value for money 10/10
Bags taken straight to our room and since I had hired a pram the very friendly porter was more than happy to check delivery by the service provider and bring back to our room.
Our room was clean, inviting and spacious enough. The beds were big and very comfortable!
Ordered room service mainly breakfast, good food. Great location close to everything.
Pros: free parking, great rooms, comfy beds, daily service. Cons: not sure if there is free wifi.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMAINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnGmanager, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you TAMAINI.
It is certainly our pleasure to host you during your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

this hotel was right in Cairns central with many shops and eating places around.
We were comfortable here in a nice big modern room with all our amenities available.
The staff were happy to help us arrange things.
Was a nice stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quintes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnGmanager, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, quintes99.
It is a pleasure to hear such positive feedback and also to pass it on to our staff. They certainly appreciate your recognising their efforts.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the Rydges for a little over a week. There were five of us (3 adults and 3 children). It was a great stay. I have to hand it to the guy who designed the family suite with the bunks and Xbox’s the kids loved it (and so did we). The location on right by the water front and the play areas near Muddy’s is outstanding for easy family adventure.

Room Tip: if you have a family get the xbox family room with an inter-connect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

The city of Cairns has done a lot of work to make the foreshore the place to be. The Rydges Esplanade takes great advantage if this. Plenty of parking and easy access to the CBD. Rooms are spacious and clean. The ocean views are spectacular. Only small thing is the check in can be a bit tedious and slow. Breakfast is also a wee bit expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing