We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average holiday hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average holiday hotel”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Just had five nights here and as a vegetarian, I would have gone hungry if I had relied on the restaurant every evening. They did not cater for vegetarians and when I asked, I was told that there was soup and salad! In addition the wifi price I was quoted was 15 Aus dollars for 30 minutes. Alternatively there were computers to use at 2 Aus dollars for 20 minutes Internet connection.
The rooms were OK and if I you get a room with a sea view it's nice to sit on the balcony. All rooms seem to have balconies. The hotel also has 2 laundry rooms where you can do your own washing and drying for 3 Aus dollars each.
There was a tour booking desk and the staff there and at reception were very pleasant and helpful which was more than can be said for some of the restaurant staff.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JudeEB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    496
    263
    93
    48
See reviews for
325
397
90
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This was my second time to the Rydges in Cairns and it was just as wonderful as my first stay. The rooms are amazing - beautiful views. The location is great, the breakfasts are beautiful and the staff are friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronkaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

There’s nothing really wrong with this hotel if you get it for a cheap price, it’s just nothing special and needs a good scrub up – it’s old and weary.

Pros – The view (don’t stay lower than the 6th floor if you can help it, also for noise reasons), spacious rooms, comfortable beds, the staff are ok.

Cons – shabby, especially the pool area which is almost embarrassingly shabby, terrible food (don’t bother with room service breakfasts unless your desperate), and it’s not in the center of town – about a 10 minute walk to the main hub, which doesn’t sound that far, but in the heat, it can be uncomfortable (taxi costs less than $10 to get to the center though.) No free wifi in the rooms

If you get this hotel for about $100 a night then ok, but don’t pay any more than that. And don’t expect the staff to go out of their way for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Check in staff was lovely & gave us an upgrade to a Premium Harbour View room, clean, great view & punctual room service. Would stay more often if I had the money! Pity cloud covered the eclipse... hotel was thoughtful enough to provide eclipse glasses though - nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Nyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Wasn't too bad at all. Its a little walk to the main part of town but was pretty busy with Contiki tours which had a lot of girls...Fun.

Good Room very big, Most staff were nice and very helpful.

Check in time was a bit of a pain but overall pretty good.

Room Tip: Id recommend it for a cheap stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorpsYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel is a little tired, but was clean. Had great water pressure in the showers. The personnel were okay with the exception of the dining room staff - they were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet had a nice variety and the dinner buffet was very good with lots of choices. It was very conveniently located - one block to the esplanade and 4-5 blocks to the downtown which was a nice pleasant walk. The air conditioner wasn't the greatest as it was cooler in the hallways and you could not control it. Overall, okay..but definitely not high end.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a week at the end of oct 2012. From the description on the net I.e. a 'resort' you would expect all the usual things you would get from a resort for the price, I.e decent breakfast as part of the price, morning paper, clean rooms, free wifi..

Well don't expect any of that! My room had dead bugs inside the sofa and all under it, behind the curtains and around the sink. Laziness on the cleaners part? For the full breakfast you are looking at $29 and the continental around $19, Erm rip off?! Worst part being the wifi, similar to my last review, get with the 21st century!! $30 a day for wifi access!!? I could stay in a motel or hostel for that price with free wifi! The other option is the 'business centre' ($2 for 20 mins access) - Crap pcs which don't work and won't allow you to access most sites, plus the time can disappear often so you pay and get 5 as oppose to 20 minutes. Anyway I'm rambling now so overall, stay here if you get a deal, the staff were friendly and the ocean view we had on the 12th floor was great. Oh and the partner gym, has everything a gym goer could ask for. 15 minute walk to town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnGmanager, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Luke
Thank you so much for your frank and honest review of our hotel.
You are correct, the cleaning service you experienced on this visit is not up to our usual standards in this instance and this has been addressed with our Executive Housekeeper. I apologise for this lapse in our servie to you.
Your comments regarding the internet service have been taken on board and we are investigating various alternatives to upgrade and modernise this facility. Please contact us directly prior to your next visit to Cairns so that we can confirm the upgrade and hence disappointing you a second time.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing