We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rydges- but not as good...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel, close to Cairns waterfront and few blocs away from the city's night market and

restaurants area didn't live to our expectations. Having stayed at other hotel of the chain, like

in Auckland, the, rooms were poor in comparison, beds uncomfortable and in general seemed

in bad need of refurbishing and renovation. What saved a bit the apparent disappointment of

the group members was the nice attitude of the kitchen staff. We came around 22:00, and in

spite of the late hour and dining room closing time the staff stayed and prepared personalized

dishes of steaks and seafood. Had the standard of the rooms been the same as the kitchen

staff- the hotel would have deserved top reviews.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a room with a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi David S,

This might be a review for our sister property Rydges Tradewinds which is right on the Esplanade.

That said, thank you for the great comments about the kitchen team, I will ensure it is passed on, and we hope to see you again in Cairns.

Shannon Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is the Rydges establishment farthest from the Lagoon and the centre of Cairns but as a result is very quiet. From our room we did have a view of the water and the mountains beyond. The Esplanade was about a block away with a good walking path along the water. Wifi was an issue throughout Cairns.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi BevSeattle, thank you for the lovely review.

It is a beautiful walk along the Esplanade into the centre of Cairns.

I apologise if some of the WiFi issues you experienced were at the Hotel, we have recently installed a new system offering our guest free access, however as with all things new are experiencing teething issues.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Shannon and the team @ Rydges Esplanade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Staffs are all experienced and friendly. They have two Japanese employees who helped our group from Japan greatly. Our group consisted of 31 boys and 25 girls with 4 chaperons. Although two boys in room 212 flooded their room and damaged the carpet and resulted to use their liability insurance, Mr.Takayama, one of the Japanese staffs handled this embarrassing situation quite smoothly. Students were treated like a prince and princess with white linen and table cloth with metal cutleries prepared respectively at the main hall for the breakfast. Even after the check out, they allow us to use this main hall for the baggage storage till the departure time to the airport. They also let one of the girls who felt under the weather to rest in the room 301 for free! She felt much better to have rested for 3 hours. We could not thank them enough. We will definitely use this facility again next year because of their friendly service. The only drawbacks were that the roads from Lagoon area back to the hotel was quite dark and looked unsafe for girls to walk back although it was actually pretty safe. The other was feeble Wi-Fi service which didn't allow too many to connect at the same time. Special thanks to one ot the front receptionists, Mr. Andy Dunder who helped our group greatly.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view are better choice. Also second floor(third floor for American) rooms have eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Horin5379kak7520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hello Horin5379kak7520,

Thank you for the fantastic review and glowing comments about our Team members.

Glad to read that your excursion went well and we look forward to hosting you again.

Shannon and the team @ Rydges Esplanade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here as part of our package deal. The location is on the Esplanade, but a bit further away from the lagoon area, so it is fairly quiet. There is a small convenience store next door. We had a mountain view - these cost less than the ocean view. Our fifth floor room was just above the palm trees so we had a pretty good view of the surrounding mountain/rainforest area. The room was clean and spacious, with a little balcony to sit out on. There is a fridge and nice bathroom area.

Parking is included. The spaces are a little tight but doable. Note that there are not many handicapped spots available if you need them.

Laundry was one floor down - you need to have exact change, a dollar extra for detergent packets.

You had to pay for wifi, and the price was fairly steep, so we just used our phone instead.

The pool area was not used very much, maybe due to the construction going on which closed off half of the pool area. We wound up visiting the lagoon for swimming instead.

There is a nice tennis club across the street with social tennis times, call ahead to find out the times and get a spot.

The restaurant has a special lunch on Fridays - pasta made to order with different meat and seafood toppings, and a small buffet as well. The price comes with a drink included. We enjoyed the lunch, although this was our only time we ate here as the prices otherwise seemed a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the fifth floor or so and up, to be above the line of palm trees.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JVA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hello JVA22,

Thank you for your extensive and postive review, I hope you enjoyed your Australian Adventure.

Due to feedback regarding the price of internet we have recently installed a new system, which is still in the teething stages, however it is free to our guests.

Again thank you for the great review, so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Shannon and the team @ Rydges Esplanade Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights and it was ok, very helpful staff. Our room was on the 12 floor with great sea views virtually on the beach
It is a 10-15 minute walk to where all the bars etc are. Excellent breakfast available to suit all nationalities including Japanese tourists..
No complaints

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Tom M,

Thanks you for your time to write a nice review about us.

We are glad to knwo you enjoyed our ocean view rooms and your stay with Rydges Esplanade Resort.

Look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Chinmay & the team @ Rydges Esplanade Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

From reading recent reports I thought that I might have been in a different hotel. My room on the 9th Floor looked towards the mountains (dearer if facing seawards) but with sufficiently pleasant landscape of surrounding suburbs and distant mountains.
My room was large, airy and quite modern with a small narrow balcony. Everything appeared to be recently new and fresh. The room was also furnished with a desk, sofa, good quality LCD TV and stocked bar fridge. The aircon was overly efficient with a set temperature, so if needed an overhead fan can be substituted for air flow as the room can become quite cold.
I booked a shuttle to the hotel through Rydges but it was subcontracted out to the normal airport shuttle. - cost is $10 per person, and perfectly adequate provided one is not in a hurry to get to the hotel. On departure I decided on a 15 min taxi ride to the airport - cost was $20 (note there is a $3.50 loading if inbound and leaving from the airport).
My check in was efficient and all staff that I dealt with during my stay were very pleasant and helpful.
It is about a 10 -15 min walk downtown and very easily accomplished on even/level footpaths. Should one want provisions for the room there is a Rydges convenience store at the back of the complex, but the main concentration of stores and restaurants require a walk into town proper. I do understand though there is a very good Bali restaurant just over from Rydges opposite the hospital which is adjacent to the hotel.
All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tastony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hello tastony2...........what a fantastic review from seasoned expert "Top Contributor" indeed.

A great read and very helpful for our future guests.

Thank you.

Shannon Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A nice hotel, located a little way from the Esplanade, not a bad location. Our hotel room had a good view of the mountains,without a balcony. (If I were making reservations again, I would ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the ocean.) The parking for our rental car was included in the price of the room. The selection of fruit and hot food at breakfast was very good- attractive and tasty. The service was good and the room was clean. The air conditioning worked well- an important factor because it can get hot and humid in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors facing the Esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeepleWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £64 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing