We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed here in early April and found the hotel very good value for money with 2 double beds in the room, a balcony with lovely sea, city and mountain views and buffet breakfast included in the room rate. The bedding was really comfortable and the bathroom was roomy with separate shower and bath. There was a great children's playground across the road and it only took 10-15 minutes to walk into the heart of the town and the lovely lagoon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    472
    253
    86
    42
See reviews for
302
375
86
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Great accommodation. I've stayed here many times and never been disappointed. On our way to Port Douglas. Great food and staff are very accommodating. Had a sea view room this time and it was lovely. Also used the gym facilities and it was basic but functional.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripperstsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrigada, Mariana Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed being in the heart of all the activities, everything was within walking distance. The hotel and staff were very accommodating to our needs. We want to share our experience about their "honesty" policy. It's the truth. A week after we got back home, we realized that certain items were missing. They weren't really expensive but they were memorabilia's that we hand picked to share with our family and friends. We chalked it up as a loss but each time we thought about the cute koala bear for our granddaughter, we got sad. I decided to email the hotel and lo and behold, the staff had turned in the items that we carelessly left in the room. We were overjoyed and extremely impressed with the staff. I hope that management acknowledges their honesty and integrity because not every hotel can boast about having honest staff. We would like to thank the staff and management of Rdyges Esplanade for their honesty, it certainly adds to my wonderful experience in Cairns.

Room Tip: Not sure what side it was but we got the best of view, Ocean and city view, best of both worlds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay, the staff are nice, the rooms are clean and have everything you need. By booking in advance you get a good rate through their website. The pool is also nice as is the view, we also ate in the restaurant one evening which was very pleasant. This is my second stay and i would return for a third.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Spent 3 nights here nice beachfront position. Pool was good ,staff friendly ,restaurant too overpriced $$ When we arrived in Cairns train station it was a big walk to the resort. Went to the other rydges on the esplanade by the time we got there we were hot and bothered only had a queen size
Room we booked 2 doubles wanted to charge for up grade
But no thank you so gave us up grade at no extra cost so we were happy with that overall happy with the resort

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My friend and I spent 2 nights here, were very impressed with the room, we were upgraded for a small fee of $20 to the top floor, our room had a beautiful view and a small but pleasant balcony.
The beds were perhaps the most comfortable I have ever slept in. It was very quiet and the pools were lovely.
Reception staff efficient and pleasant, car parking off road and undercover.
The only minus....it was a bit far from the town centre, only a 15 minute walk but needed a taxi to get home late at night.
The hotel is showing its age in some areas but generally acceptable.
For less than $100 a night (thank you agoda) it is good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardwell, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I travel to Cairns once a week for study. This motel is perfectly located for me. The reception staff are very friendly and recognize me. Clean, professional staff, great views from the higher floors.
Only slight downfall? I've ordered the same meal off the room service menu 3 times and it's been different all 3 times. More continuity is required here. Otherwise, wonderful.
Tip - if u have this motel or Cairns sheridan plaza to choose from, stay here. Much cleaner, friendlier and I'm not expecting a nasty response to my criticism from rydges as I and many others received from the completely childish and unprofessional management at sheridan.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpio8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing