We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent location, and upper level room (11) facing city was excellent. Some very friendly staff. Pool a little on the cool side somehow - oh well. Ample parking. Would definitely look to stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for upper level rooms for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear James T,

Thanks you very much for taking time to write a nice review about Rydges Esplanade Cairns.

I am really glad to know that you loved your stay with us and were looked after by our friendly staff members.

We will be glad to welcome you to stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Chinmay & the team @ Rydges Esplanade Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 8 nights. The staff were fantastic, so helpful and friendly. The room was superb with a really spacious bathroom. Good laundry facilities. The bed was amazing, most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home. Would totally stay again.

Room Tip: The family room has xbox's for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Amanda C,

Thanks you very much for such a wonderful review about Rydges Esplanade Resort.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I definitely have to agree with you that the Rydges Dream beds are really comfortable and as you may already know you can buy one of them from our website and have the Rydges experience every day.

We would love to have you back stay with us soon.

Regards,
Chinmay & the team @ Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

stayed here with 3 kids on a 2 bedroom apartment.
plus:
----near the esplanade and walking distance to city center (although there are some other rydges that are closer)
---great views
--- complete kitchen/ laundry in the apartment (although fairly good walk from supermarket)

minus:
---no daily cleaning service, you have to ask for replacement towels if you want them
--- the furniture and carpet are dated, the carpet seemed to need a good vacuum (the room kind of smelled moldy)
--- conversely, the bed were also a bit run down... (uneven)
--- no free internet, you have to pay for internet
--- you also have to pay rental on towels if you want to bring them to the beach.

If you have a large family and get a good deal on rooms... you get what you pay for.... not the upscale or most pristine I have stayed on.. (meriton has better facilities).. but it suited our purpose for our trip... would have loved it if they vacuumed more though or at least used an air freshener in the elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Im88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

studio apartments, are noisier, and don't have access to WiFi,felt like we were in some back end motel rather then part of the hotel. though loved the hotel facilities, especially the health club and tennis courts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Take S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed here in early April and found the hotel very good value for money with 2 double beds in the room, a balcony with lovely sea, city and mountain views and buffet breakfast included in the room rate. The bedding was really comfortable and the bathroom was roomy with separate shower and bath. There was a great children's playground across the road and it only took 10-15 minutes to walk into the heart of the town and the lovely lagoon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Great accommodation. I've stayed here many times and never been disappointed. On our way to Port Douglas. Great food and staff are very accommodating. Had a sea view room this time and it was lovely. Also used the gym facilities and it was basic but functional.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripperstsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed being in the heart of all the activities, everything was within walking distance. The hotel and staff were very accommodating to our needs. We want to share our experience about their "honesty" policy. It's the truth. A week after we got back home, we realized that certain items were missing. They weren't really expensive but they were memorabilia's that we hand picked to share with our family and friends. We chalked it up as a loss but each time we thought about the cute koala bear for our granddaughter, we got sad. I decided to email the hotel and lo and behold, the staff had turned in the items that we carelessly left in the room. We were overjoyed and extremely impressed with the staff. I hope that management acknowledges their honesty and integrity because not every hotel can boast about having honest staff. We would like to thank the staff and management of Rdyges Esplanade for their honesty, it certainly adds to my wonderful experience in Cairns.

Room Tip: Not sure what side it was but we got the best of view, Ocean and city view, best of both worlds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.9 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#12 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £63 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing