We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABOVE, BEYOND and OUTSTANDING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Aquarius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairns Aquarius
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ABOVE, BEYOND and OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our family booked Cairns Aquarius based on the Trip Advisor reviews which we read. Always a bit apprehensive when we travel such a long way for an infrequent holiday, but I have to say that this place exceeded our highest expectations.
Our apartment was ultra clean, very large and modern. Every facility, like kitchen, laundry, separate toilet and showers, huge lounge room and massive balcony with breathtaking views. I think that that sums it up.
For the eight days which we stayed we did just about every tour and reef trip that we could. Cairns is a great location and the tours are fantastic but coming back to our apartment was the icing on the cake. Best holiday ever!

Room Tip: Our apartment was in the middle of the building but it seems like there are excellent sea views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Percy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you very much Percy T for your outstanding review. Knowing that your holiday experience at Cairns Aquarius was all that your family could have wished for is really rewarding for us. We do try really hard to ensure that our guests have a good experience when they stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and we look forward to your return visit; hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    42
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
122
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

It fantastic veiws and of the ocean great layout of apartment reasonable price easy walk to resturants and shops very central location management were very helpful undercover security parking it the place to make your base in cairns you will fall in love with this place

Room Tip: Book early avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88stewart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Many thanks and appreciation for you lovely review. Cairns Aquarius is, as you say, in a prime location and offers first class family accommodation. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on Trip Adivisor.

Wishing you all the best for the coming year.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My uncle and I stayed in a 4th floor, water front condo in December 2013. The location was fabulous and convenient. The views were great and the unit (#29) was clean (2BR/2BA, W/D) and very well kept.

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you Neil B, for you fabulous review. Always brilliant to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Apartment 29 is, as you say a very lovely and recently fully renovated apartment. Your recommendation of Cairns Aquarius is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel has a great location with spectacular views. It is a bit dated, but the price and views are well worth staying here. Our 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdrgsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you may return. If you do, my recommendation would be that you book one of our premium apartments which are all newly renovated and far from dated.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I've spent my hens weekend in Cains and stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment with another 3 girls. Annette had no trouble organized the top floor one for us with very big balcony over looking the ocean. This place is quiet, clean, spacious and with all the high quality cooking wares and latest white ware (double doors ice/water processor fridge etc) those you need but we hardly used them, as all the nice restaurants are just at the doorstep, super convenient to enjoy the local cuisine and check out people working out in the park just cross the street. Price is reasonable for our budget, 3 nights at a labor day weekend costed $750 total.

Room Tip: Ask for the high floor premium if you loves the better view with breeze. Rooms are quiet in general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank whaticare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, Owner at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much ladies for you lovely review. Always very rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed their stay and the facilities.
Hopefully we will one day see you back at Cairns Aquarius. Hopefully in the not too distant future
Until then our best wishes for the New Year.

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

When the kids were little it was easy to fit everyone in a hotel family room. But now that they are young adults, our accommodation requirements are different. This is why Aquarius is perfect for us. This is now the 2nd time we've stayed here as a family and I can honestly say that from now on whenever we come back to Cairns as a family, we will make sure to stay here again. It ticks all the right boxes! Easy booking system, no-fuss check-in/check-out, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, very spacious, comfortable and modern furnishings, free wifi, Foxtel and of course, perfect position (right on the esplanade, but not on top of the touristy area, close enough so everything is walkable) and gorgeous views from the balcony! One couldn't ask for more. We stayed on the 7th floor this year and it was brilliant! High enough to catch the sea breezes, we just opened the balcony doors to cool the place down and hardly turned on the aircon at all, and this is December in the tropics! Stayed for several days over Christmas and it has been really lovely and quiet. Met some of the residents and other guests in the lift, they are all family folks and really friendly, no drunken rabble here. The kitchen is well-equipped so there is the opportunity to self-cater, but why would you when there's many good dining places within a minutes walk from the door. Still, it was nice to grab some great coffee from the cafe in the corner after an early morning walk on the esplanade and take it back to the apartment. Make some toast and sit at the balcony watching the world go by. What a way to start the day!

Overall, I highly recommend this property to families with teenagers and young adults. The space and amenities alone are well worth the money for a relaxing holiday in the tropics. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geckopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Annette T, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
What a brilliant review! You tell it well and as it is.
As you state, the apartments are large and extremely comfortable. I can certainly can identify with your sentiments in regard to sitting out on the balcony and enjoying the sea breeze. We do it often, and frequently reflect on, just how fortunate we are to live here.

We would love to see you all back at Cairns Aquarius. Hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is one of the most spacious, beautiful and modern places to stay. It's location is close to the shops, beach and big swimming pool (the lagoon). Although we wanted to stay at a higher level, the room we stayed in was at level 4 which actually gave us a perfect view of the beach and scenery so we didn't need to go to a higher level.

The living room, kitchen area and king bed room is very spacious (it even has its own TV!). The apartment and rooms are also very clean. However, I found it strange how one of door knobs turned the opposite way of how door knobs are usually turned in the bed rooms that had two single beds. Also there's an awesome swimming pool and tennis court! The place is very secure!

Also a massive plus: Free Wi Fi!

As we went as a family, we were only given one set of keys (which was quite annoying when we wanted to go to go back to the apartment/ other places at different times). This is probably due to security reasons. Also I found the parking spaces to be a bit narrow.
Also one of the A/C controller in the bed room wasn't working so we had to use the other controller in the other bedroom.

Overall, we really loved staying here. Out of the other apartments we stayed in, this was the best! I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILOVETRAVELLING955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Annette T, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review.

We have to say that positive feed back from our guests is so motivating for us. Annette and I put in a lot of time making sure that everything is just right. We appreciate how small things can be quite frustrating when you are on holidays.

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#27 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Aquarius

Property: Cairns Aquarius
Address: 107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Aquarius 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cairns Aquarius holiday apartment is the perfect holiday destinaton choice for your stay in tropical Cairns, Far North Queensland. Enjoy the accommodation convenience of a fully furnished, self-contained, waterfront holiday apartment in the heart of Cairns city. Stroll along the Cairns Esplanade, recline on a sun lounge by the pool or experience the breathtaking ocean views from your private balcony in Tropical Far North Queensland. All premium apartments have been fully refurbished. Book direct with Cairns Aqarius through our Web Site or call us. Troy and Elisabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cairns Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing