We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and location, BUT that's where it ends..........”
Review of Cairns Aquarius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cairns Aquarius
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubbo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views and location, BUT that's where it ends..........”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I booked the Cairns Aquarius based on the perception received from their web site of modern, beautifully appointed apartments. The reality upon arrival was a unit that more closely resembled a budget 1970’s beach flat. Not at all what we were expecting for the price, particularly when I had phoned to make the booking and specifically asked for a description of the unit and even stated that I had looked at the web site. This would have been the perfect opportunity for Annette to point out that not all units are up-to-date or as depicted on the site, but she was more interested in getting my credit card details pronto…
Based on their blatant misrepresentation I wouldn’t recommend the Cairns Aquarius to anyone, not until they either bring their units into the 21st century or at the very least make some attempt to differentiate them and charge accordingly. I’d suggest you’d find much better value elsewhere, even if you have to pay slightly more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Farmily_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, 18 March 2011
Your review seems a little harsh and does not at all reflect the ovewhelming sentiments conveyed in other reviews. However we certainly take your concerns very seriously and appologise for not having met your expectations.

What a pity that you did not pick up the phone or contact us at all during your stay. Had you done so we would most certainly have shown you other apartments which you may have prefered.

Don and Annette
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    47
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
126
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed at the Cairns Aquarius for two nights in apt. 39 on level 6.

At first glance I thought we'd hit the jack pot and ended up with one of the renovated apts. which I'd requested through wotif , sadly that was not the case. Whilst the apt. had a massive amount of space and a brand new sofa and two lounge chairs to match the rest of the apt. looked as if it could do with a serious makeover, kitchen cupboards especially. I just felt as if I'd paid an exorbiant price for a 3.5 star apt. The furniture in the bdrms and loungeroom appeared to be quite dated.

The view was fantastic and we made good use of the large balcony. The kids loved the big screen tv, the dvd player and the austar channels, and there was even a tv in the main bdrm. The laundry was well equipped, I'm not sure about the kitchen as we didn't do any cooking in the apt. It would appear as if the owners are trying to make the place as comfortable as possible but on a budget.

The location is great within easy walking distance to the kids playground, lagoon, restaurants and night markets. The Restaurant on the corner Villa Romano offered an excellent value for money buffet breakfast.

Overall if you can get this accommodation at a reasonable price then it's great value for money. Just be aware that some of the rooms are not as they appear on the website.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackster08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Stayed in a refurbished room for 5 nights. Impressed with presentation of unit and all amenities. Just down the road from restaurants, public pool, night markets and kids play areas. Would highly recommend the Cairns Aquarius for families.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHolidayer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsundays
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed at Cairns Aquarius for two nights over New Years as we have two young kids and still wanted to be able to enjoy the midnight fireworks on the Esplanade. We have stayed at several other places on the Esplanade over the past few years for NYE and I have to say that the Cairns Aquarius has the most amazing view and best location. The apartment is a little dated, however is still spacious and clean. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taykia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merlin076
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We stayed in apartment 81 on sub penthouse floor which is the eleventh floor. Requested a refurbished apartment and that is exactly what we got!!!! View and apartment was breathtaking. Extremely reasonable tarriff and great location. Right on the esplanade next to RSL and also at beginning of restaurant strip. Everything in easy walking distance. Two great Restaurants are Barnicle Bills and Villa Romana Trattoria which both had excellent early bird specials and great food all within 100 metres of accomodation right on esplanade! Our friends came to cairns with us and they stayed at aquarius as well in room 66 and theirs was as nice as ours. Because there was 9 of us in total finding good quality restaurants and great accomodation made our trip to cairns pleasurable as well as affordable. We will stay at the aqarius next trip for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlin076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We adored this accomodation. Waking up to breakfast on the balcony with those views was so enjoyable. Very spacious apartment, private and perfect location. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familypeopleAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Spent two single nights here at start and end of nth queensland trip. The views over the Coral Sea and out to Magnetic Island are spectacular especially from any of the upper floors and the passing parade of people along the Strand can be entertaining. There are numerous restaurants, coffee shops and bars within a 5 minute walk and it is only a 15 minute walk into the central part of Townsville.
There are 3 types of room classification - lower floor, horizon view upper floors and refurbished rooms which appear to be mostly upper floors and the rooms are priced accordingly. There can be a lot of noise coming from adjacent rooms and from the floor above so a long term stay would possibly be not very relaxing. But it is certainly worth staying one night just for the view.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bellview
The Bellview
#31 of 64 in Cairns
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
0.1 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#25 of 64 in Cairns
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Aquarius

Property: Cairns Aquarius
Address: 107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Aquarius 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cairns Aquarius holiday apartment is the perfect holiday destinaton choice for your stay in tropical Cairns, Far North Queensland. Enjoy the accommodation convenience of a fully furnished, self-contained, waterfront holiday apartment in the heart of Cairns city. Stroll along the Cairns Esplanade, recline on a sun lounge by the pool or experience the breathtaking ocean views from your private balcony in Tropical Far North Queensland. All premium apartments have been fully refurbished. Book direct with Cairns Aqarius through our Web Site or call us. Troy and Elisabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing