We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Caravan Pk we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This park is a real 5 star park. It is very well maintained, the staff are very friendly and helpful, there is a courtesy bus into town and lots of activities for children. We stayed there in July 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanc3419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Alan3419, Our sincere apologies, we accidentally posted our response to you on a similar titled review. This is the response we posted originally, "8 August 2013, Dear Alanc3419, Thank you very much for your review. we are very proud of our five star rating. We were the first five star park in Australia and we are still the only five star park in Queensland. Our grounds and maintenance staff work really hard to have everything looking good and I will pass on your comments to them and our reception staff as well. Glad that you found the courtesy bus handy and appreciated the range of activities for children. once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you return to stay with us again when you are next in Cairns."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have just spent 6 days in our caravan at CCHR after three months of outback travel. From the time we made the booking ( 2 weeks before ), to the time we left, it was perfect. The office staff were friendly and efficient, the sites large and well kept, the facilities new and sparkling clean and the whole park was beautifully maintained. The two swimming pools were very nice and the free water aerobics conducted by Carla on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays are great healthy fun.

Congratulations to management and staff for having a fantastic holiday park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Alanc3419, Thank you very much for your review. we are very proud of our five star rating. We were the first five star park in Australia and we are still the only five star park in Queensland. Our grounds and maintenance staff work really hard to have everything looking good and I will pass on your comments to them and our reception staff as well. Glad that you found the courtesy bus handy and appreciated the range of activities for children. once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you return to stay with us again when you are next in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

With our caravanning around Australia, we have stayed at many caravan parks with a wide variation in standards. However, consider this establishment the best and the reason I make this judgement, is because it is a resort and not just a caravan park. The facilities available and the social calendar provided are exceptional. Lots to do for adults and kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Bill W, thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and thank you for your judging us to be the best in Australia. We do try hard to provide the very best accommodation and caravanning facilities that appeal to adults and children alike. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our social activities - our bush poets nights and Bavarian dance nights have been particularly popular recently and we cooked over 500 pancakes and our free pancake breakfast last Thursday! We hope you enjoy the rest of your big trip and look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was the second time we stayed at what we fondly call the coconut resort. It was faultless, we ordered food from an organic grocer and the park staff received it for us and packed it away before we arrived. Great facilities for all ages including the gym which opens at 7am. Choose to get involved in the free daily activities or book day jaunts out through the friendly staff. We will DEFINATELY return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northsiderinmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear northsiderinmelb, Thank you very much for your review. It is so good to hear that you are a returning guest - we pride ourselves on the high number of returning guests we have as that along with recommending us to family and friends are the highest compliments we can get. Glad to hear you enjoyed our new gym. We are pretty proud of it and we are delighted that so many guests are using it everyday. We look forward to having you return to stay with us in Cairns sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

When we ask our kids what was their favorite part of our recent trip to Cape York, without hesitation the say Cairns Coconut. We could have filled the whole holiday in just there without travelling up to 'the tip'. The staff were terrific, making sure we had everything we needed and the activities, we've never stayed in a caravan park with so many. Cant say loud enough, get to Cairns Coconut

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Daniel A, Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad that your children loved it here and that you found our staff terrific. I will most definitely pass this on. We often hear that parents cant get their children to leave the park as there is just so much to do but we are glad you made it to "the tip" so that your children got to explore this great country of ours. Once again thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Expensive (especially with three kids), but the best park we have ever been to for kids. So much stuff for the kids to do with their pools, games rooms, play ground, water park, bike/scooter circuit to name a few. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Andy8472, Thank you very much for your review of Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort. We are so glad you enjoyed the extensive facilities that we have on offer free of charge and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We chose the Coconut Resort specifically as a place to keep our 20 month-old entertained. We figured a happy baby was a necessary basis for a happy holiday.
The CCHR has great facilities for kids from 18m to teenage, with great pool & spalsh park facilities, pedal carts, tennis, climbing equipment, a games room and more.
The park is well designed, with the family-friendly cabins/villas are close to all the kids amusements, while the grey nomads and their camp sites are on the other side where it's a bit quieter.
There are planned events every day, it reminded me a bit of a cruise liner.

We stayed in 2 bdr villa. The villa was of a good size, though we had to put the baby cot on top of a bunk bed. The one negative was the Queen bed in the main bedroom was soft and sagged awfully at the edges.

We requested and got a villa with an upright oven/cooktop. We were able to bake muffins & slices on our first couple of days that saw us through the week.

A/C was great, but as we were there in July, we didn't use it much. We had two TVs, but as our little one was either sleeping or keeping us busy, we didn't use the main bed TV.

The free WiFi wasn't very good. Even as an IT tech I found it painful to use and just stuck with using my own personal hotspot from my phone, as mobile reception was good in the area.

Service was friendly and quality.

The attached mini-mart was good. The nearest IGA was somewhere around 7 mins walk (though you may need 5 mins to walk to the front gate) so it was convenient. They had a fair range for the sort of stuff families and nomads wound need, open until 7.30pm most/all nights.

We only went to the café alongside the mini-mart once, on our first night. We ordered fishermans' baskets and it was awful and quite expensive. We didn't go back for the rest of the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigIcePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear BiglcePete,

Thank you for your honest and detailed review of the resort and for giving us the opportunity to address the issues that you raised. Your comments have really identified all of the reasons why people just keep coming back to stay with us, year on year. Our aim is to create a family holiday destination based on the number of facilities, inclusions and attractions and the fact that you never have to leave the resort.

Let me apologise for the comfort of your bed, this is something we are very particular about as we understand the need for a good sleep when you are away from home and your own bed. Part of our standard quality checks is to ensure the quality of the mattress and I am unable to explain how your mattress got missed. Since receiving your review we have replaced that mattress with a new one and are conducting a follow up check on all accommodation styles.

We too share your frustration with the Internet service. We have been lobbying all levels of government to try and get an upgrade to the infrastructure that services the park. On a positive note, it appears we are making headway and hope to have the issues resolved in the next month or so.

I have addressed your comments with the operator of the cafe, who will follow up with his staff.
While we don't operate the Coconut Cafe, I do understand that from a guest's perspective it seems part of the resort's operation and therefore must be up to the standard we set for ourselves.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope we see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
4.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
635 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,383 reviews
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut

Address: 23-51 Anderson Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4868, Australia (Formerly Cairns Coconut Caravan Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cairns
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £52 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly self-contained accommodation with the most amazing range of free activities including heated SPLASH water park, under sixes indoor playground, adults only therapeutic hot spa, mini golf, the NEOS interactive playground, two heated (and cooled) resort pools, monster Jumping Pillows, tennis court and much, much more. Accommodation choices range from luxury three bedroom Condos, fully self contained Villas with two bathrooms to Tropical Cabins and sites for caravans, motorhomes & tents. Multi award winning including 7 times winner of the Australian Tourism Award for Best Tourist & Holiday Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Coconut Holiday Hotel Cairns
Cairns Caravan Coconut Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing