We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for kids, best service in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for kids, best service in Cairns”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

There is so much positive information to say about this place, we stayed for over a week in a villa and the service was the best in cairns. Every single person we encountered was helpful, genuine and friendly, the free pancake breaky in the pool area was awesome!! Facilities top notch, all maintained fantastically and free wifi - can't go wrong lol. We will definitely stay here again if we need accommodation and recommend to friends with children.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Mel H, thank you so much for your excellent comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do particularly pride ourselves on the service that we provide our guests and it is always great to hear that we are delivering on this very important part of our philosophy. It is also great to hear that you thought that our pancake breaky was "awesome". If you can come back to visit be sure to try our new signature "Coconut" pancakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    96
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
491
115
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were very impressed with this place. It is quite expensive, but if you have children with you, it is worth the money. The playgrounds and pool areas is much better than any other holiday park we visited.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azatoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Azatoth, thank you for your very positive review of Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort. Although we would be reluctant to claim to be the "Best in Australia" many of our guests may concur with you and they would certainly attest to the fact that we offer great value considering the facilities and activities that we have on offer. We are very pleased that your entire family had a great stay with us and wish you safe travels on the future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My family stayed in our caravan on powered slab site. As soon as we arrived, we were impressed with the service. Upon check-in, a staff member loaded the whole family (4) into an electric golf car and provided a familiarisation tour of the resort. From the outset, we were impressed by the level of maintence and cleanliness of the park. More so, we loved the range of activities for our boys, aged 6 and 10. There were two good sized pools, two bouncing pillows, a couple play grounds aimed at different age groups, outdoor movie theatre, gymnasium, put put golf, tennis court and the list goes on. For adults, there are large, very clean bathroom facilites, camp kitchen, laundry, restaurant / cafe and general store for essentials. You caneven buy discounted fuel on site (diesel and unleaded). For vans, the sites are roomy, and most are angled to allow easy entry and exit. Location is good. Sugar World is 10 minutes south, and Cairns central is 15 minutes north. We stayed five days, and the kids loved the range of activities. Note - the first thing my 10 year old looks for is the games room (PS or Xbox); there is none, and it didn't matter. There is too much else to do. Last point, the staff at reception can book tours (Skyrail, Kuranda Railway, island and reef tours) for you.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear BJP, thank you very much for taking the time to submit your very comprehensive review. It is good to hear that your whole family were able to go on the buggy "famil" tour. Guests find this an excellent orientation given the 28 acre size of the resort. It is really great to hear that your boys didn't miss their games once they discovered the huge range of activities that we have on offer for children! We are very pleased that you were happy with the size and orientation of our sites. The angle definitely assists with access to sites and we do often receive compliments on the size and landscaping too. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our kids adored staying here and didn't really want to do much sightseeing in Cairns! It is hard to beat the many activities on offer. The facilities are perfectly maintained and the staff are really helpful. The pancake morning was a fun touch. It is worth noting that this property is next to a highway/freeway. While it didn't affect us, we were glad not to be in a cabin overlooking the highway.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms/cabins close to the highway/freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomDon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Tom Don2014, Thank you for submitting your review of your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that your children "adored staying here". We do endeavour to entertain children of all ages with the many free activities that we have on offer. Thank you also for your compliments regarding the maintenance of our facilities and the helpfulness of our staff. We do pride ourselves on both of these areas. Whilst we do acknowledge that the Bruce Highway does generate a certain amount of highway noise this has actually reduced with the removal of the nearby traffic lights. We hope we can welcome you and your family back again should you return to Cairns on the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our family has stayed at the CCHR many times over the last 10 years and even though our 4 children are now teenagers they continue to enjoy the many activities available - table tennis, pools, tennis, the NEOS Interactive Hub (quite unique), Giant Chess, Mini-Golf, Waterpark, Jumping Pillows and much more. Our two night stay on was on the Super Ensuite Site (there is only one of these in the park) which has some extras on the normal ensuite site including a spa-bath, personal laundry, spacious site and particularly an excellent location to all the activities for the children. The service and cleanliness continue to be excellent. My only feedback was that the wi-fi did not have great reception at our site and that I was not able to work out how to connect (the instructions were quite good so maybe it was just an intermittent problem as the cyclone had only just occurred.)
In particular, I would like to comment on the outstanding maintenance of the grounds and gardens as they always look beautiful, adding to the overall experience of your stay. The attention to detail around maintenance continues to ensure the park is always in peak condition. I would highly recommend this park for families with children of any ages as there is something for everyone. Our thanks once again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Chris A, Thank you for your great comments and for returning so often over 10 years with your four children. Excellent to hear that they make the most of all of the free activities that we have to offer here at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort. We are certainly very proud of the presentation of our grounds and gardens. Unfortunately, cyclone Ita did put us behind with our with our maintenance so everything wasn't as perfect as we would have liked. We have been working on slowly improving the Wi-Fi, but will investigate any recent issues. It is great to hear that you had "a wonderful stay" and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

CCHR is the yard stick by which I will measure all places in future, that's how good it is.

I read the reviews on Coconuts Cairns Holiday Resort here on Trip Advisor, after already making a booking with another high profile, yet inferior site. I couldn't refund the other booking and I was kicking myself.

We had to leave our initial hotel the first night, which was far below expectations and I became violently ill there.
Our relatives rang CCHR immediately. CCHR kindly got us in even though it was high season. We had no bedding, which they provided at no cost because of our dramas. I could have cried at the kindness showed to me when I arrived looking a mess after vomiting non stop for 12 hours. There was no judgement, just a high level of genuine professionalism.

From the initial tour of the place, to the cleanliness of the room, and the friendliness of everyone there, this is place above and beyond a caravan park and I want to go back every year.
The kitchen and was packed with all the crockery and mod cons that I expected and the outdoor BBQs, laundry facilities all in good condition. The main drag is in walking distance and the take away places well priced and good quality. Cairns city is so close and the location is close to major arterials for day tripping, it was the perfect location to be in Cairns.

The activities for the kids numerous and meant our experience was joyous; amazing water features, spa two other pools, jumping pillows, go garts, mini golf, tennis, badminton, volleyball, we didn't want to leave and the children and I laughed with glee.

Thank you from the bottom of hearts, Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort. Everyone was so amazingly nice, from the reception staff and maintenance man, gosh even the cleaners were smiling. You deserve all your awards and I hope your having another great day at the CCHR!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MishkiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear MishkiP, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your generous comments. We are very pleased that we were able to take care of you on your recent trip to Cairns. It is great to hear that you recovered and were all able to take advantage of all of the activities that we have to offer at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort. We are having a great day, thank you and hope to be able to welcome you back on your next holiday in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Pines, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our kids had THE BEST FUN with so many water park activities, movies on the big screen, pancakes on Thursdays, bikes, playground, mini golf, pool table, basketball and so much more to keep their busy bodies buzzing with excitement everyday. We stayed a week and wish we could live there, shame to leave but we'll be back!

Staff were super friendly, cleaners and grounds people do a fantastic job with presentation of accommodation grounds, pools and park, shop was great to top up on the things we forgot to buy from shops and on-site restaurant/café was a relief when we were too tired to cook and venture out. Only 8 minutes into the Cairns town centre/esplanade and to the wharf for great barrier reef trip with restaurants and good shops only few minutes away if not wanting to head into City centre so location was fantastic. Resort is like a mini Wet 'n Wild from the Gold Coast with a lot more activities away from the water.

So many things for the kids to do, Mum and Dad happily enjoyed not needing to venture out to find things for them to do. Grand parent also had a fabulous stay and had never seen anything like it! Surroundings of lush gardens and tranquil rainforest walk were encouraging for to leisurely wander around and enjoy the change of life.

EVERYTHING was immaculately maintained and facilities were exceptional providing everything you could need on holidays.

AAAAAAA+ rating for the best holiday we've had - looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coconut Condo that sleeps 8 and it was perfect, clean, with fully equipped kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyHolidaysX5Ppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear FamilyHolidaysX5Ppl, we are wrapped that your children had "THE BEST FUN" taking advantage of the huge number of activities that we have on offer. Thank you for your compliments for our cleaners and grounds people who all do an amazing job. We are very proud of their efforts and we will certainly pass your praise onto all of those concerned. It is good to hear that the Coconut Condo worked out perfectly for your family group. Loved your "AAAAAAA+ rating for the best holiday we've had". We look forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday up to our part in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
4.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
3.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort

Property: Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Address: 23-51 Anderson Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4868, Australia (Formerly Cairns Coconut Caravan Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cairns
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly self-contained accommodation with the most amazing range of free activities including heated SPLASH water park, under sixes indoor playground, adults only therapeutic hot spa, mini golf, the NEOS interactive playground, two heated (and cooled) resort pools, monster Jumping Pillows, tennis court and much, much more. Accommodation choices range from luxury three bedroom Condos, fully self contained Villas with two bathrooms to Tropical Cabins and sites for caravans, motorhomes & tents. Multi award winning including 7 times winner of the Australian Tourism Award for Best Tourist & Holiday Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Coconut Holiday Hotel Cairns
Cairns Caravan Coconut Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing