We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL DO NOT COME HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cairns Queens Court
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AWFUL DO NOT COME HERE”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

DO NOT GIVE THEM A SINGLE DOLLAR, THEY ARE LEECHES AND ONLY AFTER YOUR MONEY INCREDIBLY RUDE STAFF!
have never been so badly met in my life of hotel staff, upon my checkout i asked them for help very politely and they did not even answer me! after a while i asked them for their given names so i can write about them in my blog and on facebook and here, but they would not give me their names! so incredibly rude, after some time i spoke to the general manager Michael. he was not as rude as the old hag and the man in the reception.
i am so angry i am shaking, i payed more then 300euros for five nights stay and they were so rude, hopefully if someone reads this and concider their hotel, please reconcider, there are much better hotels around with better service.

Room Tip: the standard double rooms are on the 3rd floor without any lift! and they do not help you with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SveaSveaSvea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns_Queens_Court, General Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Svea,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

The reason you were left shaking and so angry is because you continually kept requesting a service that the hotel did not offer. I can not blame my staff for not giving you their names as you were becoming irate and this was over something that was completely unnecessary however I was happy to give you mine and take responsibility for this situation. You asked for a transfer to your next accommodation, we do not offer this service. We offer return transfers to the airport from Monday - Friday (excluding weekends and public holidays) at 10am and 12:30pm. You were requesting a transfer (not to the airport) on a Sunday. We do not have a driver on weekends as its a service we do not offer and I'm afraid we could not make an exception just for you. Perhaps you could have tried calling your next accommodation to see if they provided a courtesy pick up service?

We do not have elevators in the establishment but are more than happy to assist with your luggage if requested.

If there was anything else in your stay that you were unhappy with you should have notified reception during your stay. I always do my best to ensure guests have the most pleasurable stay possible when staying here.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Cairns.

Michael Roszak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    176
    113
    47
    20
See reviews for
82
199
54
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Pros:
- When you leave!

Cons:
- We arrived after a 24+hr flight & asked to check in 2 hours early; they said they had no rooms available.
- There is 1 shower & 1 restroom (in one) for an entire floor.
- The a/c is old and only turns on when you are in the room (it took ours about 30 minutes each time just to cool the room)
- Location is far from the center of Cairns & not convenient (we walked 20 min there each day)
- No free wifi as described
- No airport shuttle pickup (they limit to something like 9-3pm M-F)
- No maid service unless specifically requested
- No carpet
- Old rooms and small beds...think college dorm rooms but with a computer screen tv
- No continental breakfast

You might as well stay in a hostel for this price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns_Queens_Court, General Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear CYHONG,

Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court. However it would be appreciated if you could read over the website you booked through properly before writing a review on what you were dissatisfied with when websites clearly state a lot of it...

- We arrived after a 24+hr flight & asked to check in 2 hours early; they said they had no rooms available
* All sites clearly state that check in is at 2pm. We do offer early check-in to guests however it is subject to availability. Unfortunately there were no clean rooms for you to check into as we were fully booked. If one was available we would have got you in.

- There is 1 shower & 1 restroom (in one) for an entire floor.
* The room you booked is the shared bathroom style of room. This has separate Male and Female showers and restrooms. There are 4 rooms on each level that share these facilities meaning that a total of 8 people depending on what genders share the bathrooms.

- The a/c is old and only turns on when you are in the room (it took ours about 30 minutes each time just to cool the room
* We are a green (environmental) hotel at Queens Court. None of our air-conditioner units are more than 5 years old. The idea of the key card and key to activate power in your room is to try and be energy efficient. The air conditioner should generally cool the room within 5-10 minutes of inserting your key card.

- Location is far from the center of Cairns & not convenient (we walked 20 min there each day)
*All websites clearly state our distance to the city center. Please take more care in reading the site information before you book and write a review based on this.

- No free wifi as described
* We do not offer free wi-fi and this is not described on any of our online sites. It is something that we are looking at implementing in the very near future. However in saying that, we charge $5 for wi-fi for the duration of your stay. We feel that this is a very reasonable price compared to what some other places may charge you.

- No airport shuttle pickup (they limit to something like 9-3pm M-F)
* Again I would ask that you read the site information much more carefully before posting a negative review on this matter. All websites clearly state that we offer courtesy airport pickup from Monday - Friday from 7am-5pm (excludes weekends and public holidays). We do return transfers to the airport at 10am and 12:30pm Monday - Friday (excludes weekends and public holidays).

- No maid service unless specifically requested
* Rooms are serviced daily except for Sunday where we ask that if you would like your room serviced to notify reception. If you had your "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on your door then your room would not have been cleaned.

- No carpet
* No being the tropics and with mold being a major issue we have tiled floors in all of our establishment.

- Old rooms and small beds...think college dorm rooms but with a computer screen tv
* Some of rooms are older, however in saying that we pride ourselves at keeping them as clean and comfortable as possible. The beds are of standard size whether it be a single or queen size bed, depending on what you have booked. The TV's in the room you booked are 22" LCD's less than a year old with USB compatibility. They are not computer screens.

- No continental breakfast
* We offer an Continental breakfast and Asian Style breakfast in the dining area every morning from 6am-9am. This is all complimentary.
We also offer cooked breakfast options for an additional charge.

I hope you find this information helpful. Again I would ask that you read the Hotel information much more carefully before choosing to book and then writing a review in the way that you did.

Best regards

Michael Roszak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Cairns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

enjoyed immensely close to everything will stay again and recommend to everyone , great location, spacious room well laid out great pool, excellent service, personalised and felt at home and relaxed

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Details and photo on their website is a bit deceiving. My brother and I, had a holiday here last May 2012. In reality , the pool is so dirty and u wont dare to swim. The room is too small and shower/toilet room is old and got some broken tiles. Found a lot of ants near the bar fridge. We have stayed nights, the free continental breakfast they serve every morning are all the same, without any variety. Lastly, they only have free complimentary pickup from the airport, but only got certain time of free drop off to the airport (which us not clearly stated on their website). On the other hand, got few positive feedback, the reception could do the scheduling of your tour promptly and they clean the room everyday..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolGuy4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed one night and would definitely not want to stay another. The ensuite shower flooded the bathroom. We found the rooms to be very small and there was no sound proofing so conversations could be heard from the next room.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaupoCafe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed there for one entire week. The location is a little bit further from Cairns downtown than what we expected (but actually, the downtown of Cairns is very small!), but the walk was 15-20 min, with a very nice sun, so we enjoyed it. The room was clean and very large, and we appreciated it very much. The main area around the pool is very pretty. The only concern we had was that the staff was not really accommodating. We had to pay by credit card, and we have been charged of 1.5% extra for that. On the other hand, who is willing to pay a one week-stay by cash? The complementary shuttle is only twice a day, so we had to take a taxi to get back to the airport because the schedule was not right for us. We requested a second key for the room but they refused (while our friends, next room, received two keys!). Arriving at breakfast, the chocolate spread was empty, but they told us to wait the next day to get some more. We also pointed out that the complementary body lotion was empty, but we had to wait the next day to get it checked. This was a little bit disappointing despite the place is comfortable.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ViviD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns_Queens_Court, Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court. Your feedback is much appreciated.

We do state clearly on all booking sites that credit card payments do incur a surcharge. Please understand that this is common practice throughout many businesses as bank fees for processing payments are quite high within Australia.

With regards to the breakfast I can assure you that if there were more condiments available to be put out then they would have been. It is currently peak season and unfortunately we can't predict the high demand for certain products at this time. As this would have been the case, this is why none was available until the next day.

I'm glad you found your room spacious and the surrounding garden areas pleasant and tidy.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Michael Roszak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Queens Court provided comfortable accommodation at a very good price. It was well maintained and kept very clean. The showers were great - roomy and a great water flow. Breakfasts were included in the price, with a good variety of cereals and tinned fruit, toast and spreads. The dining area was around an attractive courtyard and garden - this also could be used for barbecues by guests.laundry facilities were provided as well. One drawback was that our room did not have any cooking facilities except for tea and coffee making - the rooms with cooking facilities had been booked out. Also our room was on the third floor with no lifts - OK except for arrival and entry when moving luggage. We had arrived late without precooking so this had been only room left for 3 adults.

Room Tip: Pre-book if you have particular needs, as most rooms were booked out - this was in peak tourist seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabondAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns_Queens_Court, Manager at Cairns Queens Court, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Queens Court. Your feedback is much appreciated.
I'm glad you found the Hotel grounds comfortable and the breakfast sufficient.
We hope to see you again someday soon in sunny Cairns!

Kind regards,
Michael Roszak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#28 of 64 in Cairns
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queens Court

Property: Cairns Queens Court
Address: 167 - 173 Sheridan St | PO Box 7234, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Queens Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Court is a family run hotel in Cairns ideally located to explore the tropical north of Queensland. It offers varying room styles to suit all levels of guest comfort and affordability. Accommodation options range from budget, moderate to premier rooms and self contained suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queens Court Hotel Cairns
Queens Court Hotel Cairns
Queens Court Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing