We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmed by everything at Reef Gateway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reef Gateway Apartments
Ranked #54 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overwhelmed by everything at Reef Gateway”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We just can't thank Gary & Angie enough for everything at Reef Gateway. Our trip was an emergency dash to a very sick son in Hospital, and from the second we dropped our bags and dashed off to see him, to the time we left to move in with our daughter-in-law 10 days later they could have done no more to support us. The Apartment was perfect, had everything and more anyone would need, calm, cool with a lovely pool. Everything worked well, and we found it a beautiful and relaxing place to live. Easy walk to centre of town for main shopping and restaurants, but also very near convenience stores and several good restaurants just a few steps away. Quick walk to beautiful Esplanade.

We find it unbelieveable that anyone could complain about anything!! We would love to return under happier circumstances, BUT can't say any bigger THANK YOU to them and this lovely apartment stay.

Sally & David Cullen Surrey UK

Room Tip: We stayed in one bed apt (think classed as renovated -= absolutely perfect, ground floor at back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Hi Sally & David, Thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us even under the circumstances. We also enjoyed the chats we had and your forever beaming smile Sally. Hopefully you will be able to stay with us again and you are very welcome anytime. All the best and speedy recovery for Max. If we can be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to ask. Garrie & Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    30
    17
    7
    12
See reviews for
54
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weipa, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We got there, apartment had roaches, the microwave was broken (they did end up replacing it) We had hired baby gear(cots and pram) which was in the apartment when we got there. When we had check out at 10, instead of allowing us to keep our baby for hire stuff in the room to be picked up(like every other place does), they put it OUT IN THE RAIN.
Even though check in is not until 2pm they REFUSED to accommodate us and leave it in the room until the company picked it up which was way before 2pm. The manager was EXTREMELY NASTY, He was intolerant and rude in front of my 7 month old, and 18 month old.

These people are absolutely horrible and have NO business being in the accommodation industry. I DO NOT recommend this cockroach infested place, you are better off staying at a backpackers (or under a bridge) than at the Reef Gateway Apartments. The ONLY reason these people are getting a 1, is because I cannot write a 0.

Room Tip: No good room in this disgusting cockroach infested hellhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Reviews should really contain the truth. You failed to mention you arrived 5 hours late & didn't show the courtesy of calling us as we specifically ask on the confirmation email; it's only a phone call. Hours earlier a huge amount of baby equipment was delivered unannounced, 2 huge wooden cots (not porta-cots), large walker, large twin pram, bags of toys, which I put in the apartment for you, and not even a thank you. The microwave was replaced within 2 hours as soon as I could buy one. At departure time, Sunday 10:00am, you decided to check-out and leave the baby equipment in the apartment, again without informing us; I had to ask what your plans were for the equipment. The hire company informed me they do not work on Sunday & after I explained I cannot store this amount of equipment they begrudgingly collected it, if not, it would have been the next day! Did you stop to think that the next guests, arriving in a couple of hours may not want to share their apartment with your baby equipment, and yes, the apartment needed cleaning before they arrived as well. As I have no storage for this amount of equipment it was placed on the balcony awaiting pick-up, not in the rain as you said. I'm sorry Kimberley, you really should not expect accommodation places to re-arrange their guest list and room allocation because you cannot be bothered to ask or plan ahead. You had 4 days with us to make arrangements; you can't simply walk away and assume we will look after your affairs for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have just spent three nights at Reef Gateway. There were six of us who commandeered the beautiful pool area for BBQ's and swimming, Thanks Garrie and Angie for putting up with us :-)
The apartments were spotlessley clean,well equipped, modern and extremely comfortable. The grounds are immaculately kept, we can't wait to come back!!!!!! See you in June/July

Jeanette,Mick,Maz,Tel, Teri and Colin (16th - 19th Feb )

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi Jeanette, Mick, Maz, Tel, Teri and Colin,
Thank you for your very positive review and hope you had a safe trip home. It was a pleasure having you with us and so glad you all enjoyed your stay. I think it was the casual BBQ evenings that did the trick! Hopefully we will see you later in the year. Cheers, Garrie & Angie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

just wanted a quiet stay to go diving this reef aptment was the perfect choose as i also got a chance to see everything on the reef

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

stayed for a week on a friends recommendation.
Had a town house type of room for the 4 of us, the room was spotless
and had everthing you would need for aholiday as well as a large plasma/lcd to keep the
kids entertained,fantastic pool with a great bbq area.
Gary and Ange the managers were fantastic, couldnt be more helpful.
Suggested a number of tours, as there are so many to choose from,
we took their advice and each one was better then expected.
An easy walk to the esplanade and all the shops, so didnt have to spend more money on a car.
will definetly go back and have already recommended the place to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here in apartment 4 (2 bedrooms, one bathrrom) for a week. The apartment is small but has everything you need. It was clean and comfortable. It is a 20 minute walk to the CBD and reef terminal. There is a shop nearby for groceries and a great Indonesian restaurant just 2 minutes walk away. The hospital is directly opposite and we were a little worried about noise but we didn't hear anything. The manager was always helpful and made us welcome. I would stay here again if we were to return to Cairns. All the apartments are privately owned so would probably request the same one so we knew what we were getting. The air con is a little dated and a bit noisy but it was cool at night so we didn't need to use it. There were no ceiling fans either which may be a problem in the height of summer.

Room Tip: Check on what air conditioning/fans are in the apartment before booking in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalouAliceSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReefGatewayApts, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and that particular apartment is the only one in the complex without a ceiling fan. Hopefully when you need a break from the "red dirt" around Alice Springs we will see you again. Cheers, Garrie & Angie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here while traveling in Australia and found our unit well equipped, extremely clean and had a pleasing decor. The grounds and pool were well maintained and the managers were extremely accommodating ensuring an early check-in as our flight was early in the day. They were extremely informative providing a map with lots of extra info on check in. We were well taken care of throughout our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWE30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#31 of 64 in Cairns
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#46 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.4 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Apartments

Property: Reef Gateway Apartments
Address: 239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Gateway Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can offer you self-contained holiday accommodation in 1 or 2 bedroom apartments that contain everything that you want to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. We are located an easy 15 minute walk from the centre of Cairns and the stunning Esplanade Lagoon, and just one block from the Esplanade. Your apartment can be a ground floor apartment with patio, a balcony apartment or a townhouse style apartment. For the person who likes to keep in contact with work and friends, we offer wireless internet in all apartments. All apartments are fully air-conditioned with ceiling fan in the lounge room. Included in each apartment is a full kitchen, laundry and a large lounge room with free Austar cable television. Relax by our floodlit salt water swimming pool complete with spa. The adjoining gas barbecue, surrounded by tropical plants, is in the pool area, and is set in the centre of the property far away from the sounds of traffic. We have an accredited Tour Desk, where we can assist you in the selection of the best tour for you. We do not have preferred operators, so our advice is unbiased and the service is free of charge. All major tour operators will pick you up from our front door and return you to your accommodation at the end of the day. Car hire can be arranged, and we will assist you with maps and advice to help you plan your self-drive excursions. Hire car pick up from the Airport can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Gateway Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing