We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reef Gateway Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
40
31
17
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
31
17
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentcock bullthese apartmentscairns hospitalself containedlittle thingsconvenience storekitchenesplanaderateslaundrylagoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

There are small ants everywhere. You have to throw garbage away to the back of the carpark everyday by yourself. I have visited many hotels, motels and service apartment in the Canada, U.S.A., Europe, China, Korea, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam etc.
But the Reef Gateway Apartment is the only place that don't provide bathroom tissue, shampoo etc except for the first day. When we ask for some more the next day (we are four persons staying for 4 nights), the only answer is that here is not hotel, so bathroom tissue is provided. It seems that we are begging for something. In supermarket, the bathroom tissue is sold in bags. We cannot buy 1 bathroom tissue. That means travellers have to buy many bathroom tissues. Surely you cannot use them all and you don't want to bring the tissue home. Then they are remained in the apartment for the owner of the apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Daphne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ E, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thankyou for your review of The Reef Gateway Apartments. We are truly sorry that you do not understand the nature of Self Catering Apartments. All our Apartments are fully equipped as in as normal Unit, allowing the Guests to do their cooking, washing etc in the Apartment. We, (as most other Apartments of this type in Australia) provide a Starter Pack with the basic essentials in order to allow time for Guests to purchase the things they need for their time of stay. It is unfortunate that you were unaware of this and we hope that you will understand for future possible visits to Australia.
Russ E
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My daughters and I spent 5 days in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was spacious and spotless. I love the apartment concept with our own kitchen with a washer and dryer. The location was perfect to either walk or drive to the beach or CBD. Russ could not have been more helpful in finding just the right tours for us and our diverse interests and priorities. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jannine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ E, General Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks very much for your very kind review. We are genuinely pleased that you enjoyed yhour stay so much and trust that you will visit us again with your friends in the near future.
Regards
Russ E
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Arrived 5/10/13 for 4 nights. Arrived early at approximately 1130 am. Met by Russ the owner who could not do enough for us. Checked in and opened the door to our apartment (no 8) overlooking the pool. The apartment had everything we needed, very clean, spacious and comfortable. Russ recommended places to go and trips to book which we did and were not disappointed. Overall we could not have been happier about our trip to Cairns and where we stayed. The apartments are a lovely 10 minute walk along the esplanade to all the restaurants and bars and is ideal to get on the highway to explore this beautiful part of Australia.

Room Tip: Room 8, excellent apartment overlooking the pool up one flight of stairs
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hyltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ E, General Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thankyou so much for your review of our Apartments. It was greatly appreciated and we sincerely hope that you and your friends will visit us again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Russ E
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at The Reef Gateway Apartments the last week of August after spending a week in Port Douglas and attending my nephews wedding. We stayed in apartment 15 which was a 2 bedroom apartment as we had our 2 sons (23,21) with us. The apartment was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool.Good pool and BBQ area. The apartment was very spacious and clean with a good sized kitchen with all the appliances you need. We caught taxis into the center of town,only cost $8.00 each way. Plenty to do around Cairns,Sky rail,reef,fishing,great restaurants and bars.Russ and Pam were great hosts and you can book all your tours at reception.We had a Great time in Cairns.

Room Tip: Apartment 15 2 bedroom overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaynoCentralCoastAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ E, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for your review. It is always pleasing to get some nice positive comments. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Russ E
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked our holiday in Cairns based on the Trip Advisor reviews and the website pictures on the apartments. This was the first time we had returned to Cairns since having our daughter and it had been approx. 7 years since we had been to Cairns. The managers Russ and Pam were very nice, polite and accommodating and assisted us with booking and recommending which tours to go on.
The room we were given was relatively nice and it was clean. Despite the website stating it was recently renovated the room still has the appearance of being old and tired.

We found the air-conditioners controls initially difficult to work out. In this day and age, we would have expected to have either ducted air-conditioning or at least modern split system units installed rather than the old style wall units which were at times very noisy. The units were situated approx. 15 to 20 minute walk with a child from the Esplanade and main shopping district and required at times to use Taxi to carry our shopping home.

The pool was nice and we had sole use of it while we were there which was very nice as it appeared no one else used it. The pictures on the web site give the illusion of a bigger pool. Also the pictures on the website were slightly different to what we saw when we open our door for the first time. We were slightly disappointed and had an initial feeling of regret in booking this apartment for the whole week.

The main disappointment and reason we would not return is that on the landing on the first floor was a smoking area which was basically outside of our door and it was very off putting to say the least when we arrived and were faced with 3 smokers staring at us in a cloud of smoke. This happened 3 other times during our stay. In this age of non smoking in public areas I find this hard to accept and would have expected that a smoking area could have been located somewhere else rather than near people’s front doors.

There was no lock on the bath room door and there were several light globes burnt out Next time we will stick to the apartments that are not individually owned to ensure they are modern and well maintained.

Overall we still managed to have a great week in Cairns and would definitely returns bur unfortunately stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_Traveller874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ E, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We think some of your comments and criticisms are a little wide of the mark, but we are constantly looking for ways to try and improve and upgrade the property and appreciate any constructive criticism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews