We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be coming back to stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef Gateway Apartments
Ranked #53 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Thankfully I wasn't aware of the other reviews and walked in off the street with an open mind.

The 2 bedroom apartment that I got with my wife was spacious, clean and inviting. We liked the location and amenities (pool, BBQ, free Sat TV, laundry, etc.) so much we extended our stay by 3 days.

It's a 5 min walk to the excellent Bayleaf restaurant. 15 min into town but far enough from the noisy and often drunk teenage crowd that populate the centre.

I'd recommend this for honeymooners and families or thirtysomethings travelling with friends who don't need their parents to pickup after them.

Backpackers should avoid this place if they want bare essentials at a minimum price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gazang63, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2010

Thank you for your positive response. Although we were not Manging the complex during your visit we do appreciate the time you took to write a review. There have been many visible changes since your visit, the rooms are cleaner and the grounds tidyier and we keep it that way. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2008

Apparently, this is some kind of co-op arrangement that is fairly common in Australia. Each apartment is individually owned and the on site managers get their income from caretaking and from commission on booking tours or arranging taxi services. The apartments themselves are ideal, but the problem is the cleanliness. Housekeeping is supposed to be done every 7 days with the tenants cleaning it during their term of stay. The first apartment alloted us was filthy. We spent the first half hour of our arrival cleaning up and after accumulating a large pile of dirt from the floor, discovered that the washing machine was too filthy to use. They moved us after we complained, to a larger & cleaner( although certainly not spotless) apartment. So we give them a ten for complying with our request. One has to wonder though, if this had of been in the July peak season instead of December, what would have happened if there were no vacant apartments available ?

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ontario_CanadaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia49, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2008

We are disappointed with the recent reviews.
We do know who these guests are and are disappointed that they did not approach us direct that we could address any problems.

On our introductory letter on arrival and also in our Compendiums we request guests approach us if they find anything unsatisfactory.

We find that for each person who is unsatisfied we have over a hundred who love our complex, unfortunately they don't write reviews, even when they promise to, we understand they just get involved with their normal lives and believe that because they are happy everyone is also..
Many who come back each year from as far away as far away as England and Papua New Guinea..

We also have a Guests Comments Book which has reviews and cards and letters of thanks which is present on the Reception Desk to viewing.

For each of the last three complaints there is a "other side" which you are not aware of.

We have had embassadorial staff from Japan, China and England, Government ministers, japanese, american and british high profile businessmen stay with us some several times.

Sometimes they don't want to stay in Hotels, just want the space and peace of an apartment complex.

We are far from perfect and have staffing difficulties just like every business, but firmly beleive that in a fair deal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

The apartments are basic and not very comfortable (no baths, no view, basic public amenties in building, etc.). We expected more for the price. The main problem is the management which is awful, unfriendly and unhelpful. I would not recommend to anyone to stay there for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank disappointed81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia49, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2008

These people became disgruntles when we refused to open the Reception to allow them to get a selection of DVD to watch, this was approx 10pm. We were in bed as our day starts at 5am.

They were well aware of Reception hours ( its listed on the door.)
But persisted in coming outside of hours for DvDs or to return them.

You will find the majority of complexes in Cairns only have showers and few have baths.
We did not receivea request for a bath in the room, as we do have some apartments with baths with the shower over them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2007

We had the misfortune to stay in this place.
The rooms pictured on the web were certainly not the room we stayed in. As soon as we set foot in the room we could smell what can only be described as 'Wet Dog'. It stank the whole time we were there.
The manager of the place is also very rude, with no social skills at all. We asked if the DVDs in reception were there for customers to borrow to which he replied 'Yes'. When we chose the DVD and were walking out the door he said that will be $2 and he would add it on the account. He should've outlined from the start that he would charge for them. He also tried to charge us for phonecalls that didn't connect. The guy became very defensive when I challenged him on this and only when his wife intervened did he take it off the bill. The guy is constantly trying to make a fast buck.
Do not stay here. There are cheaper places on the same street.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Gmay2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia49, manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2008

This family did not fit normal criteria of 4 persons, so had to be placed in an apartment to accomodate the extra.
As we encourage our owners to decorate each apartment differently, and we don't have space to show every apartment, then it is obvious it may not be pictured on our website.
They also required a Standard (3 1/2 star) Apartment, this is one of the as yet unrenovated apartments and is cheaper.

They left behind a bag with souveniers and we emailed them immediately, as we new they we staying in Australia for a little longer and requested a forwarding address. They got back to us and said to charge the postage their credit card.
For some reason it declined our debit. We contacted them by email several times and were given reasons why the card wouldn't work. After three nearly 3 months my husband contacted them and said he could not respect someone who did not keep a commitment.To which they took offence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

My partner, son and I have just stayed here for 10 days. We had been a little nervous after the TripAdvisor reviews we had read. But we were delighted. The spacious 2 bedroomed appartment seemed recently refurbished; kitchen, bathroom, furniture and curtains etc all seemed new, well designed, very comfortable and extremely clean. It was very well kitted out. The tropical garden and pool was delightful. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. It is about a 20 minute pleasant walk to the Lagoon. There is a supermarket close by and the bus to the attractions north of Cairns also stops close by. We thought it was excellent value for money and would definitely stay there again if we were fortunate enough to return to Cairns.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

My sister, myself and my two children stayed at the Reef Gateway in November 2005 and found it clean, comfortable and a great home away from home. The pool was well loved by my 6yr old and my 18 mth old. The fact that it had its own kitchen and laundry facilities was wonderful and the kids slept well in the airconditioned comfort of the bedroom. It was a very easy walk to the hospital and the Esplanade with its gorgeous frangipanis. There is a shop nearby for essentials. The other guests were very friendly and I would recommend it for families who are looking for basic comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Maribor
14
Reviewed 29 August 2005

We stayed there with a family. Disappointed with cleanness. When we arrived, there was hair (not just one or two) on the floor in the bathroom and most of pots in the kitchen were grisy. And there were many ants in the bathroom and kitchen. There was roof (maybe metal) under bedroom window and when it was rainning during the night water was dropping on that roof and making unpleasant noice. Soon after 7 a.m. they started repairing fance - our sleeping ended... (not just one morning).

Stayed: August 2005
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#35 of 63 in Cairns
47 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
615 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cairns Southside International
0.4 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Apartments

Address: 239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Gateway Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can offer you self-contained holiday accommodation in 1 or 2 bedroom apartments that contain everything that you want to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. We are located an easy 15 minute walk from the centre of Cairns and the stunning Esplanade Lagoon, and just one block from the Esplanade. Your apartment can be a ground floor apartment with patio, a balcony apartment or a townhouse style apartment. For the person who likes to keep in contact with work and friends, we offer wireless internet in all apartments. All apartments are fully air-conditioned with ceiling fan in the lounge room. Included in each apartment is a full kitchen, laundry and a large lounge room with free Austar cable television. Relax by our floodlit salt water swimming pool complete with spa. The adjoining gas barbecue, surrounded by tropical plants, is in the pool area, and is set in the centre of the property far away from the sounds of traffic. We have an accredited Tour Desk, where we can assist you in the selection of the best tour for you. We do not have preferred operators, so our advice is unbiased and the service is free of charge. All major tour operators will pick you up from our front door and return you to your accommodation at the end of the day. Car hire can be arranged, and we will assist you with maps and advice to help you plan your self-drive excursions. Hire car pick up from the Airport can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Reef Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Gateway Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing