We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and would come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reef Gateway Apartments
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and would come back”
Reviewed 4 September 2006

My sister, myself and my two children stayed at the Reef Gateway in November 2005 and found it clean, comfortable and a great home away from home. The pool was well loved by my 6yr old and my 18 mth old. The fact that it had its own kitchen and laundry facilities was wonderful and the kids slept well in the airconditioned comfort of the bedroom. It was a very easy walk to the hospital and the Esplanade with its gorgeous frangipanis. There is a shop nearby for essentials. The other guests were very friendly and I would recommend it for families who are looking for basic comfortable accommodation.

  • Liked — Self contained and great pool
  • Disliked — No bath in bathroom - but my kids learnt to love showers
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    29
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
52
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 August 2005

We stayed there with a family. Disappointed with cleanness. When we arrived, there was hair (not just one or two) on the floor in the bathroom and most of pots in the kitchen were grisy. And there were many ants in the bathroom and kitchen. There was roof (maybe metal) under bedroom window and when it was rainning during the night water was dropping on that roof and making unpleasant noice. Soon after 7 a.m. they started repairing fance - our sleeping ended... (not just one morning).

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2004

Stayed 5 nights in one of the apartments during August.

The room in which we stayed had a distinct unpleasant odour which just wouldn't shift and the room seemed to be damp. Whether this was just the tropical climate I couldn't tell, but by the end of our 5 day stay the at first only slightly noticable aroma had to our mind become a sweaty stench.

The decor was very dated, and the rooms were not the cleanest, but that said, it was a holiday apartment and we didn't get room service so maybe it was partly us to blame!

The facilities included Satellite TV in every room which was a bonus, but the swimming pool looked a little dodgy, and no one seemed to use it as it was constantly in shade.

I would not recommend that you stay here, the backpackers hostel is probably better, and they include a free meal to boot!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, 27 May 2004
The comments were from walk-in customers, this means that they walked in from the street, inspected the premises and decided to stay with us. The comment about being aged is partly true, but the apartments have all been recently repainted and new white goods installed. We are rated as 3 1/2 stars, and are priced within that range. We have enough rating marks to actually be 4 star.

We have a complaints procedure in every guests compendiuim as set by the Dept. Fair trading(Gov), which advises guests to approach the management if disatisfied, and if they are still not satisfied there are contact addresses for them listed. We as the mangers appreciate a guest approaching us and we try very hard to satisfy our guests, even relocating if neccessary.

The pool is normally well used, and is a popular location for our guests. It is professionally cleaned each week, and the surrounds are cleaned by ourselves each morning. Obviously located between buildings it will fall into shade, at some time during the day. The shade in the pool area is appreciated by most people .

The most common comment in our Guest Book is the cleanliness of our apartments.

The apartments are fully self contained and contain a full kitchen, hence we do not supply meals.
Unlike a hostel, the apartments also contain a full laundry and other conveniences that are not shared.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#46 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#22 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.5 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Apartments

Property: Reef Gateway Apartments
Address: 239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Gateway Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can offer you self-contained holiday accommodation in 1 or 2 bedroom apartments that contain everything that you want to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. We are located an easy 15 minute walk from the centre of Cairns and the stunning Esplanade Lagoon, and just one block from the Esplanade. Your apartment can be a ground floor apartment with patio, a balcony apartment or a townhouse style apartment. For the person who likes to keep in contact with work and friends, we offer wireless internet in all apartments. All apartments are fully air-conditioned with ceiling fan in the lounge room. Included in each apartment is a full kitchen, laundry and a large lounge room with free Austar cable television. Relax by our floodlit salt water swimming pool complete with spa. The adjoining gas barbecue, surrounded by tropical plants, is in the pool area, and is set in the centre of the property far away from the sounds of traffic. We have an accredited Tour Desk, where we can assist you in the selection of the best tour for you. We do not have preferred operators, so our advice is unbiased and the service is free of charge. All major tour operators will pick you up from our front door and return you to your accommodation at the end of the day. Car hire can be arranged, and we will assist you with maps and advice to help you plan your self-drive excursions. Hire car pick up from the Airport can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Gateway Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing