We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stop in Australia!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best stop in Australia!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was 4th stop of 5 on honeymoon & we spent 4 nights here. A little bit out of town but reception called a taxi plus a shuttle bus stopped a few times throughout the day was was cheaper than taxi & this was an all day pass. Again apartment which was beautiful, spacious, huge jacuzzi bath!!! The only minor complaint would have been that our apartment block did not have an elevator which was a bit strenuous carrying our suitcases up. Thankfully we were only 2 floors up. Snorkling on the great barrier reef was amazing & a must. We also went on the cape tribulation rainforest & a crocodile park tour. Both expensive but well worth it. We got a train up through the rain forest with spectacular views, spent time around the village then a skyline back down through the rainforest. During the snorkling we got pictures taken with a turtle. Cairns was a little more spread out but lots to do & best stop in australia we had!! the lakes highly recommended

Room Tip: Ground floor as no lifts!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weemaz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesManagement, Manager at The Lakes Cairns Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for providing feedback on The Lakes, and we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay.

Indeed we do only have 1 building that has an elevator, and anyone with a disability should request a ground floor. Outside of this Front Office can assist with bags if required. The majority of the buildings are three floors so not too many stairs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

The Lakes Cairns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    188
    85
    40
    41
See reviews for
266
132
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our party was a couple, 2 older teens and a baby. The hotel arranged for a cot, cot bedding and a highchair in our 2 bed apartment at no extra cost which was helpful.

There is noise from the airport (only 3km away) but no noise at all from streets so it probably balances out. I am a light sleeper and it wasn't too bad because it's not a busy airport.

The resort is a bit out of the way but we found it perfectly fine to walk into Cairns along the Esplanade which starts just 3 minutes out of the resort grounds. And on the other side of the resort is the Botanical Gardens which is lovely but beware of the mosquitoes. I was eaten alive!!! Only there though, everywhere else was fine.

The Esplanade takes you along a lovely seaside walk into the Cairns restaurant/market strip. It takes about 30 minutes by foot from the resort or a few minutes by car (taxis were about $12 one way). Walking was great, I could eat and drink all I wanted and I still lost weight lol.

The resort has several pools which were too cold at this time of year but it wasn't a big deal as we spent most of the time doing other things. I'm sure that for most of the year the pools are a lovely way to cool off. A lot of Europeans were using them anyway but we've gotten spoilt living in Perth with a solar heated pool.

The apartment was clean and spacious without a lot of excess furniture for the baby to get hurt on or ruin which was nice. They are definitely designed with families in mind. THe TV was too old to be able to plug our Playstation which isn't a big deal but it's worth noting if you have teenage boys.

The only thing I would not recommend is eating in the resort restaurant as it's honestly awful. Hotel restaurants are always overpriced but the one dinner we ate there was one of the most tasteless I've ever had and the service was awful.

There are several small stores and take away places just around the corner (fish/chips, pizza, pasta, subway, bottlestore, organic supermarket, post office, chemist, bakeries). But there isn't a big supermarket close by - you have to go into Cairns for that which we did and came back by taxi. We usually had lunch out and then had take away for dinner. The pizza place is quite good, so is the fish and chips place.

I am already planning my trip next July and would definitely consider staying here again. It was a great week.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesManagement, Manager at The Lakes Cairns Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for your response, and providing a wealth of info on the property and its location. We are are indeed on the northern fringe of the CBD, halfway between city and airport. This does, however provide us more room to spread, hence the very large rooms.

Im a little concerned re your comments on Rambutan restaurant. Would you please be able to send through any specific examples of the issues you experienced to sales@visionhotelsandresorts.com so that I can address these direct.

Regards,

The Lakes Cairns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithton, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here for a week and had no hassles what so ever. The staff were efficient and quite friendly, even when I asked to borrow a tool that I had left at home! We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment for the 4 of us. It suited us perfectly and the facilities such as full kitchen and private laundry are very handy.
The groundsmen went out of their way to give us lots (lots!) of good local advice and were extremely friendly.
We have already booked in for a 10 night stay next June so needless to say, definately worth staying at The Lakes!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IronmanFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

There was no compassion and little action with noisy permenant residents making a wruckes at all hours of the night.
Room was only serviced once a week, which looked no different.
Only supplied one new toilet roll for the whole week. For a family of 5, I will give you one guess to how long that lasted.
No hot water after the second person has their shower. With hot water system exposed in the main bedroom wardrobe.
Bit too close the airport, 3mins away. Always have 5:30am departures.
Although the grounds was kept tidy & clear, it was ashame that it was not the same for our room.
Had to go & see my optometrist to get a stronger prescription after trying to watch an old 40cm TV, no plasma or LCD TVs.
Chairs were smelly & uncomfortable. My young son had to sleep on an old & broken fold away bed.
If you are ever thinking of staying here, please consider just putting a few more dollars in your budget & go for some where you deserve to say in.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sl351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesManagement, Manager at The Lakes Cairns Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for providing an outline of your stay. This really doesnt sound like the experience of the majority of our other guests. If you have time could you please send an email to sales@visionhotelsandresorts.com with your contact details, as I would like to obtain further details on your points so that I can investigate and take appropriate action.

Regards,

The Lakes Cairns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I would not recommend this resort if u can call it that and the rating system must be reviewed for the place... The rooms really needs updating.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bib1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My family (2 adults and a 4 year old and 1 year old ) absolutely loved it. Slept in most days, went swimming every day. The down side was the glass table and glass coffee table for the little kids and our stay was not long enough. Absolutely loved it. If you need anything fixing just talk to the front reception and they will organise a maintenance man to fix the problem.

Beautiful food and excellent customer service at the restaurant and bar - we had breakfast every morning there and most night dinners there plus happy hour

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheeky014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

we had a weeks stay with family - young and old - and we all absolutely loved it. the staff were so helpful and had everything on hand to make the stay a success. we had one 3 bedroom apartment (equipped with washer and dryer) and one 2 bedroom apartment to accommodate all of us and the lakes managed to get us next door to each other. both apartments overlooked one of the many pools (all fantastic) and heated spa. Lots of barbeques around which we used regularly. The apartments were spacious and clean. We had a couple of meals at the bistro which was very reasonably priced and meals were nice. The Lakes is a little bit out of Cairns central but not really an issue if you have a vehicle. I feel it was of benefit being slightly out of the city as it was very peaceful and as we had an elderly couple with us the security of the Lakes was also of consideration as it is very secure behind locked gates. The pools were an absolute highlight. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The only regret I have is not utilising the pools more than I did but there's always next time. Highly recommended to anyone wanting accommodation in Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belly13061961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.8 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Property: The Lakes Cairns Resort
Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing