We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just a comment about the lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“just a comment about the lift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I am just surprised to read on many comments that there was no lift, because we stayed there and in our building there was a lift. Maybe not all buildings have a lift, so just make a comment in your booking that you want an appartment with a lift. We found our 2 bedroom apartment very big and clean and the kids loved the swimming-pools. I must admit this is quite far from the center, it is worthwile having the own car.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaprikaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    187
    85
    40
    40
See reviews for
264
132
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarrawarrah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here with miss 11 and master 9 and loved all the different pools. There are plenty to choose from and the kids tried them all. The tennis court is also great. We had dinner at the onsite dining and the food was pretty good, not too expensive and they do take care of the kids.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisuretravelonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and other family members stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment.The apartments were excellant and had everything you need in them.With 2 pools by our unit and BBQ we were able to host a great BBQ for all our family who were staying in Cairns for my daughters wedding.The best resort we have stayed in on our many overseas trips

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chergray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom unit at the Lakes in August 2011 which we booked through flight centre. I did send them an email before I arrived to request a certain bedding configuration, I also asked for a nice view with our room. The grounds are absolutely amazing and the facilities here are really great!! however.. the rooms were very dated and were a bit musty. I was feeling rather dissappointed when i arrived cause we certainally didn't get a view either. However, I found that the longer I stayed here the less I cared about the apartment as the beautiful resort was worth a slightly dated room. The staff here were friendly enough and were as helpful as they could be. The bar was awesome.. they have a happy hour on each night with $4.00 drinks!! All in all I would definately recommend this resort to people..as long as they are not too concerned about not getting a 5 star apartment and they must have a rental car for travelling otherwise it is a bit of a hike to town!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceyH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Everything you need for a great stay. The apartment was very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The spa was wonderful, ask for Kaia to give you a fantastic massage. The pool areas are lovely, quiet and relaxing a choice of 3 to choose from. The shuttle bus service takes you straight into the city and runs every half an hour.
Be aware however that the apartments are on 3 levels, with no lifts, not so good when you have a 75 year old with you.
The bistro was a real let down sadly, the food was at best mediocre and the staff were very rude. My friend had ordered the calamari salad and was told the waitress had dropped half of it on the floor and she would have to wait. We were told that as we hadn't booked there were no tables free, whilst the two hours we sat outside there were at least 6 empty tables. Hence the reason we marked down on the service. Such a shame as the rest of the staff particularly in reception were friendly, helpful and great fun.
They also provide free airport transfers, a nice touch!
All in all we had a very happy stay, just eat elsewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the ground floor as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Just returned from a trip to Cairns staying at The Lakes with wife and 2.5 kids. We couldn't have been happier with our accommodation, a large apartment with two big bedrooms, washing machine, dishwasher, dryer etc... Everything you could hope for.
The pools are superb with sand around each of them which was perfect for our little boy who is not keen on cold water.
When our return flight was delayed for 3 days we had no hesitation cancelling the crappy but free airline accommodation and paying for The Lakes out of our own pocket. The staff were brilliant, fitting us in at the last minute and even finding us a Day room as our flight wasn't until 11:00pm.

The apartments themselves are a bit tired but perfectly functional and clean. The real benefit for families are the 3 pools, you don't have to leave the resort to have fun.

The only slight disappointment was that the internet was down 3 times during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBen003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have just returned from our first family trip in four years. We were very excited when we were shown the brochure on 'the lakes resort' and looked like a great place to stay. The room /apartment was nicely appointed, however, don't stay in room 613. The bed bugs will eat you alive. I have in excess of 50 bites on my legs and torso, thankfully my wife and three kids didn't get as eaten as I did but they each have well over 10 each. The tap washers in the bathroom all need replacement (I'm sure the neighbors cringed every time we turned on the shower, the basin taps leak from the spindles and the loo leaks water down the back of the pan- constantly).
The grounds are kept in excellent condition and the pools were very tidy, pity the grounds staff don't clean the rooms, perhaps the hairs on the bathroom floor upon arrival may not have been there, and the tiles on the bathroom may not have had so much dust on them.
The food from the restaurant was well cooked and well priced however the 'two fat ladies' in the restaurant must either own the place or have been there forever as their customer skills are 'non existant', they didn't seem to want to be there on any of the occasions that we dined in the restaurant.
The reception staff were very helpful, check in was easy ( even though our room that was booked three weeks prior, wasn't ready upon arrival, only took about 3/4hr).

If this resort is really 4 star, spend the small amount extra and go 5 without the extras (beds bugs and unhappy staff).

Overall the stay wasn't too bad, I'll just be happy when my legs stop itching.
I wish I'd found this site before we booked the holiday and not when researching about the bed bugs.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stingose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesManagement, Manager at The Lakes Cairns Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Traveller

Thank you for providing your comments. We are very sorry that you were bitten during your stay with us and take the comment that you concluded that you were bitten by bed bugs whilst staying with us very seriously. We have had the room in which you stayed checked extensively for any signs of bed bugs. No evidence of bed bugs or lice activity is present in the room (either in any of the bedding or furniture). As bed bugs are only eradicated with treatment and we have not treated your room since your departure, we have to eliminate bed bugs from The Lakes Resort as the source of your bites and discomfort. We can assure you that no other guest staying in this room, or indeed the resort, has presented with similar issues. We have an intensive program monitoring any potential outbreak of bed bugs, and no instances have been reported or verified as this being the case. We do have a number of guests confusing bites from mosquitoes and midges, which are prevalent at times in North Queensland, but these certainly aren’t bed bugs. We would like to discuss your concerns further, and if you could please send an email to sales@visionhotelsandresorts.com with your contact details and our Resort Manager will be in contact.

The mention of bed bugs obviously causes much stress to future guests, and we are at pains to reassure guests that actual cases of bed bugs are extremely rare in any hotel or resort in North Queensland.

Regards,


The Lakes Cairns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.8 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#20 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Property: The Lakes Cairns Resort
Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing