We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to take the Family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We have a young family, so The Lakes is a wonderful place to chill out. We usually stay in the 2brm deluxe apartments which are great value and heaps of room for the kids to run around in.
The pools are wonderful no matter what stage your child is at for swimming.They range in depths. There are bbq facilities and two restaurants available one with a take away option. Great if you want the night off!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tink07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed in a 1 bedroom fully self-contained apartment with all mod-con's & we loved it! The only drawback was a slightly too firm bed but other than that a great place to stay. The apartment was spacious & comfortable, and also had a furnished deck. The grounds are beautifully landscaped & well-maintained, & include 3 pools. The location, while not on the popular Cairns Esplanade, is handy to most attractions in Cairns including the trendy Edgehill suburb, the Botanical Gardens & the rest of the Cairns Cultural precinct. We're already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBTLC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We spent 7 days at Lakes on their package which includes 3x day trips ( items on their website). Firstly, this is great value. The cost of the day trips alone if bought directly would be around $8-900 for a family of four. Surprisingly we enjoyed the croc farm the most. The sky rail is fantastic, but the town of Karanda I find more geared to international tourists. Green Island is average, and we were happy to get on the first boat back. My kids would rather spend a day at The Lakes pool!
Then plus's - great pools at Lakes, nice well maintained grounds, nice atmosphere, great value for families. Comfortable beds.
The downsides - too far from town. The rooms are very tired. Clearly when you are on a "package" you get the worst apartment. We had a ground floor with a huge, unusable deck because all the ceramic tiles were lifted and broken into shards- quite dangerous without shoes. It also backed onto a large wetland area with ponds that was home to some enormous mozzies. You couldn't go outside from dusk without getting eaten alive. This was not the case at other areas in the resort. The TV in the apartment was the size of a shoebox - quite surprising in the days of cheap flatscreens. There was also no service for the week so the towels and general cleanliness of the apartment was pretty average by the end of the stay, particularly given there is a "no cleaning" rule in our family when on holidays.

Fortunately we were heading to Palm Cove for 5 days in a 5 star following our stay. There was a massive difference in the quality of the two resorts. Nonetheless for families on a budget The Lakes is an option that will satisfy.

Worth considering, but do your research.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a good stay, but it had a lot to do with the fact that our apartment was not on the swimmingpools. It was in Dalrymple block facing the road. The aparments are not sound proof and the sounds from the people enjoying the pools from day break to late night would have driven me nuts. We did hear the diners chatting as they were walking back after having meals at the restaurant, cars coming and going and car doors slamming, it carried on quite late and we eventually closed the windows and turned on the fans.
The restaurant is exceptionally good - best pizza I've had in a long time.
There is only one pool that does not have icy cold water in and the kids enjoyed it very much - the others were just too cold for a long swim/play.
If you need city shuttles, they go on the hour and the airport shuttle is free if you stay more than 3 days (it was at the time we were staying there - it may pay to contact them to find out). The airport shuttles have to be pre-booked at least 48 hours in advance. Go down to reception in person as I called the concierge/reception desk 3 times in 1/2 hour time span (from 8:30-9:00am) and only got them once.
Parking is free and they give you a swipe card for the entrance gate when you give them the rego of the car.
Our apartment needed a good scrub down of the walls and doors - dirty marks that seem to have come from years of no washing ... The cutlery/crockery and linen were clean.
We could request clean towels, but only put the face washers we needed changed in the bath as we only stayed 4 days and the bath towels were fine to be used for 4 days.
Take your own shampoo if you have dry hair, their shampoo dried my hair out so much, I had to get hydrating shampoo after 2 days ... it felt like straw.
Overall we had a good stay, but I will rather try another place next time than go back there.

Room Tip: Away from the pools if you like some quiet time ... Not all blocks have lifts - if you require a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarinJapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I recently stayed at The lakes resort cairns just last week and had a very terrible experience. We travelled their on a living social voucher which included a 3 night stay in a 1 bedroom apartment, 3 rounds of golf at paradise palms as well as a pass to mini golf and adventure park at paradise palms all for $399 but valued at $1065. Check in was at 2pm and we arrived at 11am to check in our bags. We were told we would receive a call once the room was ready. We did not receive any calls so we went there at 2:30 and found our bags were still at reception. They sent us up to our room without Any assisstance or tour of The resort and mind you our room was at the end of the resort. We waited till 3:30 for our bags and eventually had to call reception again to have sent up. During the second day of our stay, we called reception to request some housekeeping to change our bins, sheets and bring us fresh towels and we where told "you are here On a budget rate that does not include basic housekeeping or even fresh towels and that housekeeping could be provided at an extra charge". This was very disappointing as I have stayed at many hotels and have always received daily housekeeping. I paid $399 for the stay believing that the rrp is $1065. I further went onto their website and discovered that the same room I stayed in Is normally $139 p/night. To top it all off, we never received our 3 rounds of golf or any passes to paradise palms adventure park and mini golf. Overall very disappointed. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yogy2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesManagement, Manager at The Lakes Cairns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We do at times offer reduced price packages and due to their sharpness, often dont include a housekeeping service. This is made clear in the offer details.

I would like to discuss your service issues in further detail. If you wish to do this could you please send an email to sales@visionhotelsandresorts.com with your preferred contact details.

Regards,


The Lakes Cairns Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had a spacious and fully equiped ground floor 2-bedroom apartment. Location is about 15-30 mins walk from Cairns along the picturesque esplanade. If u have young kids, play at Muddys playground and explore nearby Botanical gardens.
Swimming pools were awesome and plentiful. The kids loved the sand pit on the poolside.
Staff were helpful.
Only downside was the over-powering and lingering smell from the floor cleaner they use to keep the insects out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JenManGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a huge resort (almost a small town) with lots of great holiday apartments and also permanent residents. Lovely pool areas, good restaurant, and spacious lovely apartments. We got a very good rate on hotels.com and the resort was superb value .
It is located about 4km from the airport and 6km from town...there's a low cost shuttle available to town. Staff are very helpful.

It's a great resort in a marvellous area of Queensland for a wintertime sunny and warm holiday

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliveP-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 63 in Cairns
361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.6 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £77 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing