We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Great resort, walking around the botanical gardens next door was a lovely highlight and then going for a swim in one of the pools was just ideal. I travelled with a new baby and the accomodation was just fab as the one bedroom apartment was really roomy for a port-a-cot as well. Kitchen had all the things you would need to cook just like you are at home.

Staff were very helpful and prompt when I required some help. Looking to stay there again soon as I know my other daughter will love the choices of pools, where else do you get that???

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jett1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    188
    85
    40
    41
See reviews for
266
132
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I have visited Cairns just last weekend in November. There was 4 of us (2 couples) who had took up an offered advertised by Spreets which supposingly covered accommodation, golf session for 4, and "full hot and cold buffet breakfast" as listed on the offer. Fairly good deal, we rang up prior to check if there was any additional charge for golf hires (e.g. buggy, equipment, ball etc), there was apparently no additional charge. That all sounded great, we took the offer and booked our Cairns stay with them.

Here is the disappointing part, when we rocked up to the golf course, we were told there would be an additional charge of $50 min just to hire the equipments per person. Fine, we thought perhaps this is a pretty good golf course we pay for it, however the buggy apparently only covered 2 adults, so there would be another $50 charge again. Not sure what happened to the offer there?

Anyway, this review is mainly about the resort. The buffet breakfast certainly wasn't there. They had apparently closed down the restaurant. In exchange, we were able to order ala carte breakfasts in an alternative cafe. Fair enough you say? Yes, that is what we thought too until we turned up for breakfast the next morning. There was 2 breakfast list, one the normal ala carte breakfast, with the whole big breakfast, etc etc options. And then the other breakfast list was a piece of paper that says, a bowl of muesli, toast with jam, or a slice of french toast. I am confused at this stage, our buffet breakfast was downgraded to this limited list of breakfast. Apparently the resort thinks this ala carte (bowl of muesli) is much better than a full hot/cold buffet breakfast. So I'd be very careful when you need to deal with them about these specials.

Overall, the resort stay is very comfortable, family friendly, the 2 bedroom was extremely spacious, well designed, we couldn't complain about the accommodation at all. It is a 5--10 mins drive to city, so not quite walking distance but if you hire a car you are fine. In fact, we really would consider coming back on our next Cairns trip but the breakfast and golf thing is a turn off.

I would have recommended it if not for the whole breakfast and golf saga. We do not appreciate businesses going off tangent on their special offer, there was no prior warning, it was all a surprise. I would not recommend any one travelling on a holiday to get surprises like that.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_kuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had a fantastic stay at The Lakes and I would recommend this place to everyone. First class rooms, unbelievable pools and bbq areas, 4 different pools to choose from all with beach (sandy) areas, shallow going deeper. 25m lap pool, spa, sauna etc. Kids had an absolute ball and the pools are open until 10pm so night swimming encouraged. Cannot praise this place enough for attention to detail and family friendly layout and staff.

The rooms were fantastic, we had a 3 bedroom and it was very large and open. Could easily accommodate 3 couples or 2 families.

We will definitely come again...

Room Tip: Room 501 (ground floor) is great, quiet and close to a pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davros70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Lakes Cairns Resort & Spa recently. The setting is really beautiful - the palm trees, gardens and the 4 swimming pools. Our 2 bedroom unit was spacious and very clean. Beds were firm but comfortable. Airconditioning units and fans in both bedrooms plus the living room made it very comfortable. Our children aged 14 & 10 had plenty of room and really enjoyed it. The TV was the only downside - small and old with limited reception, but we weren't there to watch TV so it didn't really matter much to us. We have travelled overseas and in Australia a lot, and this resort really is one of the best we've stayed at. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Fantastic resort, staff were excellent. Great location and the shuttle bus service is a great addition. The only downside was having to climb two flights of stairs with suitcases to get to our room :(

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberhaydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The place is very noisy at night and does not allow a good rest. The staff is arogant and not helpful in controling the noise

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernadette17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesManagement, Director of Sales at The Lakes Cairns Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for providing your feedback. I would like to discuss your concerns in further detail, and if you could please send an email to sales@visionhotelsandresorts.com

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Regards,


The Lakes Cairns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns aust
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We have a young family, so The Lakes is a wonderful place to chill out. We usually stay in the 2brm deluxe apartments which are great value and heaps of room for the kids to run around in.
The pools are wonderful no matter what stage your child is at for swimming.They range in depths. There are bbq facilities and two restaurants available one with a take away option. Great if you want the night off!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tink07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.8 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Property: The Lakes Cairns Resort
Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing