We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, nothing works in the rooms at this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 27 November 2011

A colleague and I stayed at this 'resort' for a week in November 2011 on a working trip. There is no lift, so we were on the 3rd floor and had to carry our bags up 3 flights of stairs. The temperature was high 30's and the air-conditioning in the lounge room did not work. We called reception, who came and told us it was working.... we called everyday and they really did not care, did not move us and told us repeatedly that it was working. The towel rack fell off the wall, the toilet did not flush correctly, some schoolies had stayed the week before so they had turned off the gas, and not turned it back on so we could not cook ... the TV remote did not work. When we checked out, they did not even say sorry, try to explain or take any responsibility for the fact it would have been 38-40 in our room overnight.

I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caren1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Fantastic holiday, we were catered to for all our needs, the staff were greatly helpful with the surrounding tours and amenities; they were also very friendly and considerate, great sense of humour we felt like part of the family. We received great service and meals in their restaurant. Our accomodation was excellent; spacious and clean, we had 4 wonderful pools to choose from, which were highly maintained. Loved the fact they had a shuttle bus to and from town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Would have rated 5 if all facilities had been open, Bar shut at 7.00pm and only one Restaurant open. nice but pricey. Appartments A1, clean, bright and well appointed. Its a bit out of town but a shuttle bus operates $4.00 per person per trip till early evening. Better value is the 130 bus from the front gate or the frequent services on Sheridan Street that operate till very late $5.20 buys you an all day pass. Would use again good pools,sauna , gym, BBQs, Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pools will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirleeolgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Great resort, walking around the botanical gardens next door was a lovely highlight and then going for a swim in one of the pools was just ideal. I travelled with a new baby and the accomodation was just fab as the one bedroom apartment was really roomy for a port-a-cot as well. Kitchen had all the things you would need to cook just like you are at home.

Staff were very helpful and prompt when I required some help. Looking to stay there again soon as I know my other daughter will love the choices of pools, where else do you get that???

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jett1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I have visited Cairns just last weekend in November. There was 4 of us (2 couples) who had took up an offered advertised by Spreets which supposingly covered accommodation, golf session for 4, and "full hot and cold buffet breakfast" as listed on the offer. Fairly good deal, we rang up prior to check if there was any additional charge for golf hires (e.g. buggy, equipment, ball etc), there was apparently no additional charge. That all sounded great, we took the offer and booked our Cairns stay with them.

Here is the disappointing part, when we rocked up to the golf course, we were told there would be an additional charge of $50 min just to hire the equipments per person. Fine, we thought perhaps this is a pretty good golf course we pay for it, however the buggy apparently only covered 2 adults, so there would be another $50 charge again. Not sure what happened to the offer there?

Anyway, this review is mainly about the resort. The buffet breakfast certainly wasn't there. They had apparently closed down the restaurant. In exchange, we were able to order ala carte breakfasts in an alternative cafe. Fair enough you say? Yes, that is what we thought too until we turned up for breakfast the next morning. There was 2 breakfast list, one the normal ala carte breakfast, with the whole big breakfast, etc etc options. And then the other breakfast list was a piece of paper that says, a bowl of muesli, toast with jam, or a slice of french toast. I am confused at this stage, our buffet breakfast was downgraded to this limited list of breakfast. Apparently the resort thinks this ala carte (bowl of muesli) is much better than a full hot/cold buffet breakfast. So I'd be very careful when you need to deal with them about these specials.

Overall, the resort stay is very comfortable, family friendly, the 2 bedroom was extremely spacious, well designed, we couldn't complain about the accommodation at all. It is a 5--10 mins drive to city, so not quite walking distance but if you hire a car you are fine. In fact, we really would consider coming back on our next Cairns trip but the breakfast and golf thing is a turn off.

I would have recommended it if not for the whole breakfast and golf saga. We do not appreciate businesses going off tangent on their special offer, there was no prior warning, it was all a surprise. I would not recommend any one travelling on a holiday to get surprises like that.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_kuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had a fantastic stay at The Lakes and I would recommend this place to everyone. First class rooms, unbelievable pools and bbq areas, 4 different pools to choose from all with beach (sandy) areas, shallow going deeper. 25m lap pool, spa, sauna etc. Kids had an absolute ball and the pools are open until 10pm so night swimming encouraged. Cannot praise this place enough for attention to detail and family friendly layout and staff.

The rooms were fantastic, we had a 3 bedroom and it was very large and open. Could easily accommodate 3 couples or 2 families.

We will definitely come again...

Room Tip: Room 501 (ground floor) is great, quiet and close to a pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davros70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Lakes Cairns Resort & Spa recently. The setting is really beautiful - the palm trees, gardens and the 4 swimming pools. Our 2 bedroom unit was spacious and very clean. Beds were firm but comfortable. Airconditioning units and fans in both bedrooms plus the living room made it very comfortable. Our children aged 14 & 10 had plenty of room and really enjoyed it. The TV was the only downside - small and old with limited reception, but we weren't there to watch TV so it didn't really matter much to us. We have travelled overseas and in Australia a lot, and this resort really is one of the best we've stayed at. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.6 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 63 in Cairns
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £75 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing