We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lakes Cairns Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stay here last week in a two bedroom appartment with my husband and 3 boys
aged 15, 7 and 10mths old - Got a realy good deal through Hotels.com $150pn

Beautiful grounds and pools
Pools - Went in three of their pools, the one nearest to our building was quite large and nice
Our favorite was the one near the bridge that had a rock waterfall they both had sandy beach areas. The other was ok more of a roman style pool and had a lap pool next to it

Comfortable beds, not so comfy lounge
T.V is old and small. Wish there was T.V's in the bedrooms

Staff not very helpful (had no key for the balcony door and no one came to fix it after asking twice) There was also a broken towel rack, that was fixed after two days. we also reported there was a airconditioner remote missing so we were not held liable

The appartment was pretty big and clean had everything we needed

We stayed in the Summerset Building. It was right next to a resturant that is no longer opened, which is a shame as it looked really nice.
We did have breakfast at 10am from the cafe at the front of the resort and the food was quite nice, we missed out on the buffet.

Would stay here again if we got the same rate


The following is an overall review on what we did in Cairns for 5 days with kids

The weather was good 2 1/2 days out of 5, So not to bad. Even when it rained it was still hot

We had car hire so it was easy to get around and central for us
visited. Didnt need a GPS could find our way around with maps and signs

Hartleys Crocodile Farm - Not to expensive. Really cool, Nice place to visit with little kids spent about 4hrs there.
Loved the free boat ride through the swamp watching the croc's jump out of the water for a snack. Got a family photo holding a croc for about $15

The Rainforest Skyway - Expensive about $220 for our family, but am glad i got the chance to experiance it, its the main reason i wanted to visit Cairns to see the Daintree (better place to visit the Daintree is at the mossman gorge just outside of Port Douglas and its FREE)
The rain did not effect us much in the forest as we were sheltered by the trees.
The walk ways through the forest are not very long but are pram friendly and they have free umbrellas to borrow. There was nothing really to see at kuranda when it rains, so came right back on the Skyrail. The Kuranda train was not working due to the heavy rain

Port Douglas - Much nicer than Cairns. Nice shops and restaurants, went to a seafood restaurant called Fins really nice food and atmosphere.
Also ate at the Ironbar and they have Cane Toad Racing at 8pm everynight that was fun, Kids loved it

Mosman Gorge - Way better to visit the Daintree. One road in there through a national forest across lots of water ways over the road. Theres a massive river rapid to one side. Parking lot at the end of the road and a nice easy stroll, again pram freindly through the Rainforest to a few lookouts and others of the beaten track through the forest. Very pretty !!!

The Cairns Lagoon - went here when it was raining and the water was still warm, not crowed at all. The kids loved it and didnt want to leave

Cairns - It was like a ghost town at times and Not as pretty as i thought it would be. We were told by a few shop owners to be carefull at night time as the indigenous people sometimes can become violent. But we did not see or have any problems with that. There was lots of police patroling the area all the time
We ate ate at Cactus Jacks one night its mexican style food, they have the best chocolate nachos you must try !!! We also ate at Chillie it was indian\Thai\seafood it was ok.
The Night markets are nothing special

Overall enjoyed our stay in Tropical North Queensland

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greystanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    187
    85
    40
    39
See reviews for
264
131
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide,australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Rooms where resonable. Comfortable beds resonable size . pay per day for a safe. Sort like a block of flats .So anyone coming home you will hear them coming back as the doors close. 2 pools . one a bit in the sun with a bbq and a kiddy pool and spa. second pool shaded 2 bbqs ( always full ) and a sauna . getting the key is is a pain. Overall be cheaper closer to town and use the town pool

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyjjj49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

If stayed at this property twice now. Once in a 1 bedroom and once in a two bedroom apartment (both times in the same building).
Have no complaints with this hotel. Would stay here again and i recommend it for those not wanting to be in the centee of cairns.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

No shuttle bus so ended up spending $50 a day on cabs into town.
Rooms average and one of our rooms had a terrible odour. Staff brilliant. Complex is amazing and pictures don't do this place justice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobla3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Girlfriend booked us on a voucher deal to stay 5 nights at the lakes as a christmas present for a vacation over the new years period.

Check in was handled very well considering our flights got us into Cairns by 10am - well prior to 2pm check in. Bags stored with no hassle and the reception staff were very polite.

First day it bucketed down with rain and having no car, we were reliant on eating at the restaurant on the premises. To save us from becoming soaked, they sent a golf buggy down to pick us up (we were at the far end of the resort) and took us to and from the restaurant. Very good service.

Restaurant was reasonable - a bit overpriced and I considered it a bit rich to be paying high prices by melbourne standards for the food that was served but it was tasty and convenient. Did a good pizza too! Service staff weren't bad although occasionally a bit misleading (asked if meal came with any sides, they said no, so i ordered fries at extra cost only for the dish to come out with mash potato)

Hired a car whilst there, had no problems getting in or with parking as others have mentioned prevously.

Probably 3 or 4 different pools to try out - did tend to get a little crowded during the day but it was summer and peak season so understandable from my point.

Rooms were good - we had a 2 bedroom apartment even though it was just the 2 of us (good voucher deal). Have no complaints in regards to noise and we were there new years eve and all.

Main drawback on this place is it a distance from the cairns cbd and from the beaches but otherwise it's good

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

What can we say......Fantastic!
We had a 2 bedroom apartment, it was spacious, clean, well set out and very comfortable (a real home from home)
All the staff that we came into contact with were helpful, freindly and totally proffesional.
The 4 pools and gym were great, greatly enjoyed by us as well as our 14 year old daughter and 17 year old son.
The shuttle bus was great for getting into Cairns and both the drivers we came in contact with were exemplary.
The only negative was the TV signal.
We only spent 4 nights here but really wish it had been longer and can't wait to visit again, and leave cold, windy and damp England behind.
Because it was so good here it made the apartment in Syndey pale in to insignificance.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank and Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Beautiful tropical gardens and four pools to choose from. We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment - very spacious, lots of room so that we weren't on top of each other (2 teenage boys with us) when we were in the apartment. Apartment has a full kitchen, so after an initial shopping exercise for food we were pretty much set up for a two week stay. Yes, the resort is a little out of town (1.5km) - but we found this an attraction rather than a hindrance. The resort is very secure - it is gated, plus a key is required to get into each apartment block and again into the individual apartments, so this was great peace of mind for us in letting the kids wander on their own. The resort offers an hourly shuttle bus service into town for a minimal charge, and we found the public bus system a very easy & cheap way to get around too. Most tours offered hotel pickups so this was no problem either. Overall a great place to get away from it all and relax for a while.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
1.7 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
2.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#15 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Property: The Lakes Cairns Resort
Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing