We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the bites !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed as a family of 6 people - parents, 2 children, and grandparents in June for 10 nights.
We had Room 801 on the ground floor right buy a lovely pool. The apartment was a bit tired and smelled a bit musty when we first arrived.
The complex is made up of permanent residents and holiday lets and I believe some are newer than others. Undercover parking was useful but one resident was very impatient with other people when getting in and out of the garage.
The WI-fi was practically non-existent and although I purchased a $7 card for 3 hours I could not get online and even the receptionist tried for me and she was unable to connect me so I had my money back. I managed to get on for free twice during our stay (somehow) but this was only by sitting in the reception area where there were others doing the same thing as this was the only place where it was possible to connect.
The complex is out of town but this is not a problem as we had a hired car - there is also a shuttle bus.
Our main complaint is the bites that we obtained on our bodies. It was the adults that suffered quite badly. It is not mosquito 'season' and we didn't see any. We were told that there were a lot of very small insects and management could do nothing. We are fairly sure from the position of the bites that it was bed bugs obtained from the two double bedrooms especially as the children who were in the twin bedded room did not have them.The bites were on our elbows/arms on people who slept on their sides and across the backs of 2 people who slept on their backs.
I would suggest anyone booking this accommodation in the future to stay in the newer accommodation. We booked here as my son, who lives in Australia, has used it before and had no trouble so it may be that the apartment we had has not been used for some time.

Room Tip: Not Room 801 ! Try for newer accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Found this resort on Wotif and after comparing facilities and prices online decided it looked like great value. Loved it! The rooms are comfortable and have that lovely tropical holiday feel to them. Love the atrium with shutters and outdoor dining table and chairs overlooking the pool. The gym is well serviced and easy to access.

Only wee disappointment is the shower in the bath, with a tired old shower curtain... and some of the kitchen cookware could really do with updating, but overall a very pleasant surprise and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartment very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizzyLizzyGoodThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was our final stop before heading home and what a way to unwind in
The pools was lovely to relax in at all times of the night or day
Rooms were spacious and well equipped for cooking in if need be
Friendly staff and informative
Only down side you have stairs to climb no lifts.
A little out from town but, close to the airport but, not noisy worth hiring a car recommend Eastcoast Car hire.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2mumies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We travelled around Australia back in 2007. i was young and this is one of the only hotels/villas I can remember, the villa was absolutely outstandingly perfect, we had our own conservatory. I loved this villa so much becasue it was so quiet and relaxing, it was perfect for kids and grown-ups with a lengths pool and a relaxing pool which was like a back garden to us as we had a ground floor villa for 6 of us. the only slight negative about this villa is that i wouldnt want to stay here for longer than a week with kids ans it can get quite boring. Definitely would love to go there again when im older.

Room Tip: ground floor villas are exeptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

A fantastic family holiday location.
Pools are spectacular and the nice well established outdoor gardens and surrounds.
Only issue was all BBQs had been removed for maintenance - however after a visit to reception this was corrected promptly

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigEvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were looking for a place for the kids to have fun and to relax. We found it here. The apartment was extremely homely and had everything we needed. The resort itself was fantastic and very tidy. The swimming area was superb and this is where we spent most of our time. The only time we really saw resort staff was when we checked in, after that we didn't see anyone until we checked out. Our apartment block did not have an elevator which wasn't an issue, however it isn't openly advertised that apartments have stairs, so older travellers may want to request an apartment on the ground floor. Travellers should also note that many of the apartments are privately owned or rented, so as well as tourist there are many locals who stay here. The onsite restaurant had some great deals on, we had the $10 Sunday Pizza which is definitely value for money. The resort is located approx 10 mins drive from the Esplanade but there are plenty of food outlets etc in walking distance. We are already planning our next trip back, and taking friends!!!

Room Tip: Older travellers or those who find it hard walking stairs should request a ground floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncratahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

When I booked this hotel, I was a little bit hesitant after I saw bad reviews on the net. But I give it a go and completely satisfied with this hotel. We have 2 bedroom apt, clean nice n tidy. Spacious bedroom, spacious apartment with big balcony. The have a couple pools that you can choose. All nice clean with blue water. Concierge always attended with nice n friendly staff. Food also good just a little bit expensive. After all this is a big resort but well taken care of. I am happy with the service and the room. However we could use extra air conditioner on the living room, since it seems struggling to keep the room cool during summer. It's a bit far from city, but taxi only cost us around 14$ or you can use shuttle bus as well. This resort make me feel like at home relax n happy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#21 of 64 in Cairns
195 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.6 mi away
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £80 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing