We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, not far from city centre, close to airport 5 mins away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakes Cairns Resort
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay, not far from city centre, close to airport 5 mins away”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We chose to stay here simply for the above photo in the travel magazine and we were very impressed. Cairns is hot , sunny and wet. Umbrella's available btw. Pools everywhere !!!
deep and shallow options with lit waterfalls , we did not want to leave!. Great eating in and the onsite shop prices are not too bad as our luggage was delayed so we needed sundries and they had a good range.The booking team were very good.
The aircon was quiet and missed as soon as we walked outside tropical north Queensland certainly lives up to its name ! Taxi to city centre ~ bus fare but quicker.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: we stayed in a ground level room on a bend and still very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    187
    85
    40
    40
See reviews for
264
132
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to relax and unwind. Staff were so helpful and the accommodation was absolutely fantastic. They did everything to make us comfortable. Beautifully set amongst tropically gardens and pools. Thank you!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yves67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for a week and it was perfect. The 2BR apartment was spacious, clean and new and had everything we needed. The whole resort was brilliantly maintained, the pools always clean and the gardens neat and well kept. It was very quiet and no noise at all from the pool areas overnight. The lakes & botanical gardens are just a few mins walk. Don't miss out on the Zoo or the Night Markets.
We had a vehicle, so we could do everything we wanted which was great. Another time we walked back along the Esplanade from the night markets one evening (only 3km), so it's not to far away. The staff were all very friendly. We will definitely be back and recommend The Lakes to others travelling to Cairns.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment 715 (Tinaroo). It had a huge lanai/deck overlooked one of the pools and the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at The Lakes. Our family just spent 8 nights there to get away from winter down south and we enjoyed every minute of it. I have read all of these reviews each time before booking and I just don't understand some of the complaints - but perhaps we have been lucky.

Yes, the place is looking a little old but it is still in great condition. The pools and grounds are beautiful, the beds are very comfortable (although the roll-away really was only suitable for a small child), the facilities and provisions were fine. The staff are friendly.

We had some scheduled and the next day unscheduled jackhammer noise in the apartment below but it didn't last too long and maintenance has to happen. The hot water heater stopped working but it was fixed the same day.

The resort is within walking distance of a great fish and chip shop, a basic IGA and the resort itself has some essentials - as well as a small but decent selection of wine. I would definitely recommend this place to families and I will be back there myself next winter.

Yes, there are stairs. It's good exercise!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The resort seemed nice but it was easy to get lost and rooms were very tired and old looking. We hired a cot so they knew there would be 3 people but only got 2 towels. We got one bar of soap to use for the shower and fir the basin when washing our hands. We couldn't get any mobile or ipad reception and coming from Victoria we were hoping to watch the footy but it wasn't on TV or we couldn't get it on the ipad. The bed was very uncomfortable. The restaurant is no longer there and there is no information or welcome pack in your room. Very slow reception service I waited in the car with our 2 year old for 15 minutes to check in. My husband said there was no queue just very slow. Overall I wouldn't stay here again. We also had kids running up and down the floor in the room above us at 6am.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for a 5 night stay as part of a family celebration. Our apartment overlooked a beautiful pool and bbq area. The apartment was very large with a large balcony area. The spa section of the pool was warm enough to swim in during winter and was a great way to start the day. The other pools looked beautiful but too cold for this time of year. We also tested out the BBQ facilities one night.

Both reception and ground staff were very friendly. I noticed a lot of people mention the tea and coffee and dishwashing supplies were limited but when we ran out we asked reception for more and they were readily supplied.

It was great being slightly away from the centre of Cairns and was a great place to unwind and relax.

We needed a trundle bed for a couple of days of our stay and again this was easily organised.

The tennis court facilities were good and the gym looked well equipped although I didn't get a chance to try it out.

The planes are loud in the evenings and the mornings but I found you got use to them.

I would definitely return to this place again.

Room Tip: Ask for a apartment that overlooks the swimming pool in the Dalrymple block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We've just come back from a 7-night stay at The Lakes. Great stay. We had a two bedroom apartment which was very large ... Very impressive. It was clean and had all we needed. After reading previous reviews, we knew supplies (washing liquid, toilet paper, coffee, tea, etc) was limited, but there is easy access to a well stocked IGA (plus the resort had stuff as well). The beds were comfy.

The resort was quiet and well kept. We were in a room near the front of the resort and never heard a lot of to-ing and fro-ing of cars. You could hear the water fountain, but it didn't bother us. You can also hear planes ... Plenty of planes ... Taking off from the airport. That didn't bother us either (my boys love planes, so actually added to the appeal). Being winter, most of the pools couldn't be used, but the little heated spa pool was just right for us ... I couldn't keep the kids out! The resort had free wi-fi in the lobby, a bar at the front near reception and the restaurant at the back of the resort was closed. It has a small playground for the kids ... Not that I could convince my kids to forgo the pool for the playground.

All in all, we had a great stay and will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.8 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#19 of 64 in Cairns
322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Property: The Lakes Cairns Resort
Address: 2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing