We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ol' Bellview Betty's - a classic!!”
Review of The Bellview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bellview
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Ol' Bellview Betty's - a classic!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I love this place. It oozes 1950s character mixed all the way through to 2012.

I first stayed here in the early 1990s and was happily surprised to find it unchanged here in 2012. The only change was that Betty has retired; not too long ago apparently.

Our room by the pool was comfortable in a way that transports you back to the 1970s and/or to your grandparents' home.

Right in the heart of downtown and as close to the Truman Show lagoon as anywhere.

Room Tip: Chose a room near the pool...................
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovebarbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    66
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
49
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We are staying for 4 nights in a motel style room. We have a room with a single and double bed which are very comfortable. We also have a brand new renovated ensuite. We have paid 65 a night which is a bargain so more money left for dining and tours. Staff are very friendly at the front desk. Place is very quiet at night. Great basic accommodation would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Honestly, maybe I've been spoilt for choice with hostels in Australia. I don't know. Any how, I did not feel safe at all in this hostel. The door to my room looked like it was going to come off and was breaking; the bathroom door had already done so.

There were bugs everywhere, the aircon (which was a big selling point in January!!) was so noisy you could hardly use it, and the owner was a bit of a pain when it came to letting me use the laundry - which was, y'know, fully allowed. Just sayin'.

Pluses: was cheaper than I'd thought, and one of the staff carried my suitcase up two flights of stairs for me.

Negatives: most everything else. I didn't even dare look in the kitchen.

Room Tip: Be very specific in your dorm booking: make it clear if you want an all girls dorm, for eg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of a lively town. Our room was large, spacious and clean and value for money. The front desk was friendly and helpful, what more can you want from a hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank periwinkleMarlow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights while in Cairns to dive the reef. The rooms were simple, clean enough and cheap compared to everywhere else we stayed in Oz. The location on the Esplanade was fun and super convenient. We came into town without having any tours arranged, and used the front desk of this hotel to book our trips. I cannot say enough great things about the front desk jockeys (as they called themselves)! They helped us to pick some great tours based on our desires/needs/concerns. And they didn't work on a commission system so they didn't try to sell us on anything we didn't want.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrihop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Excellent location right in the middle of the Esplanade. Friendly family-run service too.

Rooms could do with a refurb ..tatty furniture and didn't feel too clean, although bed linen was clean and crisp.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This hotel / hostel is nothing amazing, however it is simple clean and cheap.
I had my own room with a double bed for only $50 - this is good if you haven't got much money but could do with your own space and a big bed to yourself for a night.
The room didnt have a tv or aircon but had a ceiling fan and your own sink and mirror etc.
The facilities are all there. It has its own little pool, tv lounge, wifi internet, washing facilities and tour booking desk etc.
It is also in a great location right next to the Esplanade pool and the night & food market

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#25 of 64 in Cairns
1,673 reviews
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
0.0 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#50 of 84 in Cairns
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellview

Property: The Bellview
Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bellview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing