We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of The Bellview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bellview
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely place, seems like a backpackers place, nice price, nice rooms, can walk anywhere in town. Many restaurants around, very convenient for airport shuttle, can remember what else to say, but i enjoyed there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    66
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
49
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shoal Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Well me and my girlfriend haven't stayed at the Bellview since August 2013 but after reading your review we will be back.You failed to mention the excellent security I remember the long haired gentleman and all the excellent staff you were so busy winging that you failed to mention all the wonderful points like old world charm about this classic older time-peace, best location,best value,best service etc(ie they know how save other patrons from wingers).You come to the Bellview looking peace you'll get it,come looking for trouble you will feel like your in an ejection seat.Well done everyone well be back!

Room Tip: En suits are great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pierreaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Reasonable, & very clean room. It was ideal for what we were looking for. The staff was very, very friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the price. I would definitely stay again :-)

Room Tip: As a family of mom and 2 grown children the motel room with private bathroom was the right choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robin123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for three days here and were very happy. The locations is great, right across from the lagoon. The place is clean and tidy with laundry, kitchen etc.
The room we choose had a fan and that was fine without air con and the pool is nice too. Beds are comfy and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Long hair male receptionist service attitude is very poor! Yesterday, 27/1/14, 8:30 am I check out, I want keep luggage in the hotel, the staff told me after 6:30 pm keepbag need to receive three dollars fee, no problem, I gave the fee! 5:30 p.m. I went to the hotel want to keep one more bag of luggage, this long-haired male staff asked me luggage receipt, I said to him, I am sorry, your cstaff in the morning did not give me a receipt, I dont have receipt, and then He was not satisfied with me, you do not give me a receipt, I need receive luggage fee again! I talk him again !is your staff did not give me a receipt! Then he opened the luggage room, talk to me, you do not understand what I say! If you understand that, you are immediately taken away all your luggage!!! But after he finished off the door immediately! ! ! I was already very angry! He was very rude! Very unfriendly! I do not charge fees for the issue and angry! It is his attitude problem! After dinner I get back to the hostel take all my luggage! I told him I want to pick up the luggage! He did not bother me, I told him more than once, he asked me, poor attitude, do I need him to help me open the door, I said yes! ! ! Then I waited a minute or two with friends before he opened the door to me! ! ! This hotel is the right way to treat guests? I will never patronize! ! ! Horrible! ! !

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank yu310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellviewCairns, Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
As manager of The Bellview, I take very seriously complaints concerning the conduct of my staff.

I have spoken to the staff member concerned and wish to apologise on his behalf.

I hope the rest of your holidays spent in Australia are enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My boyfriend and i recently stayed in the bellview for 3 days, whilst exploring the great barrier reef. This is budget accomadation for those who still want to see these amzaing places, but dont have the budget to pay that much. My boyfriend and i were on holiday and this suited us well and for the price we could not complain at all. If you were staying longer than 3/4 days, like 2 weeks, perhaps you would not choose this place as it does have a shared bathroom. But if you are staying for longer you can upgrade for another 10 dollars to a motel room and have you own bathroom. The rooms are clean and in such a good location opposite the lagoon and right near the pick up for the great barrier reef tours.
The reception staff are excellent offering advice/trips/transport and arranging everything for you. Super helpful and very organised.

Room Tip: no resturant or room service at this accomadation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKL-happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed one night here and the staff were very friendly and the room was excellent value for the money. Wifi is available for purchase, reasonable fee. Great location and even though it is on a busy road, no noise really, slept very well. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snogable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#25 of 64 in Cairns
1,630 reviews
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellview

Property: The Bellview
Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bellview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing