We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for $!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bellview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bellview
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for $!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

My expectations were rather high after reading the reviews and they didnt disappoint me at all! The location is great - it's right in front of the esplanade; the room and toilet were very clean, and room service was also provided - the room was miraculously tidied and towels were changed everyday.

I also booked the tours via the reception. Prices were slightly cheaper compared to other agents', and more importantly, if you have a travel schedule to stick to, like me, they'll help you plan your itinerary so that you can maximise your time there.

I paid $69/night for a room with A/C but I didnt use the A/C at all cos the weather was nice and cooling. Therefore, if you are visiting Cairns during winter, you can save a few more dollars each day by booking the non-A/C rooms.

The motel has many regular customers and some backpackers who arent the rowdy sort. It is not recommended for travellers who are looking for parties and fun at night, as it is generally a quiet and peaceful motel. Good for people who are looking for good rest at night!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    63
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
47
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
113 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

I stayed at this hostel for 10 weeks. It is simple but it´s well placed in Cairns near everything. I stayed in the sharing room with other 03 guys. The time I stayed there they offered free dinner at a pub called Samuel´s, it was great ! They have a good pool to cool off.
If you are not looking for an up market hotel the Bellview is really conveniente place to stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank San_Fior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

The Bellview has a very good situation right in the centre of Cairns, with basics but clean rooms. Staff is very useful and the booking centre is one of the best in Cairns. They had the best prices in nearly everything we booked through them, from trips around to diving courses.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moon_Parigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

My fiance and I (26,22) stayed at the Bellview for 6 nights in October. We booked in after reading reviews on this site and weren't disappointed - it is great for the price and the main bonus is the people are so friendly and helpful. We booked white water rafting and a liveaboard scuba diving trip with them and they recommended great tour operators. We had a motel style room for $65 per night, which had a double bed and a single and was really big, clean and comfortable. The en-suite was also clean and fully functional, if a little dated. The shower was really powerful and the air con worked fine.
It's just across from the lagoon on the sea front where you can use the amazing public pool (the one in the Bellview is fine for a quick cool down but not particularly big). We would definitely recommend the bellview to anyone who wants to experience Cairns on a bit of a budget but wants somehwere clean, friendly, safe and central!
It's also near some great bars and restaurants but really quiet at night. Recommend the Rattle and Hum for some reasonable food and good atmosphere, the Woolshed for a proper backpackers night out. All the other restaurants we tried were great too. While you're in Queensland, we would recommend going up to Port Douglas for a couple of nights if you can, we stayed there for 4 and it's a gorgeous tiny town with a brilliant beach and closer to the Daintree rainforest for day trips.
Enjoy Queensland!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariogriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

WONDERFUL HOTEL!

We originally booked to stay in a hostel, but checked out after one night because it was bad and we found this hotel.

This hotel is conveniently located, right across from the water, AND PRICED BETTER THAN HOSTELS!

Rooms are clean and quite large.
The Reception area arranged for tours and attractions, CHEAPER than all of the local travel agencies and centers...WE checked!

Will definitely stay here again!

Jesse

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — all was great
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

My spouse and I stayed here for a week in Cairns while exploring Queensland. Like the other reviewers said, the location could not get any more central! The amenities were great - kitchen facilities, fridge, free coffee and tea, tv and en suite bathroom. We had a suite near the stairs and the acoustics, however, are bad. I believe that all the en suite rooms are located near the front. The window shutters, although secure, were thin and we therefore heard all the activities of the bathroom next door (gross!), and of all the comings and goings of other residents. The rules are strict - no visitors after 10:30pm - no exceptions, which helps with the noise. I'm not a fussy traveller or a light sleeper but did find it annoying at times. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper!

For the most part we found the staff friendly and very helpful. They did not seem to like that we had one of our tours arranged previously and not through them upon arrival. Not sure why. The common facilities are well maintained so no complaints there. The place is in need of a reno & technological update compared to other hostels in Australia but for the value, we felt that it was worth it for all the things that we got to do and see from here!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not for business travellers (no internet)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ecocat_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

Wow! What can I say...it's a small hostel/hotel property in the PERFECT location! The rooms are simple, but comfortable. They include a private bathroom, a queen & twin bed (great for spreading your luggage!), a little closet, fridge, A/C, ceiling fans and cable tv. We only paid around $45 US per night, so we didn't expect much, but they over exceeded our expectations! The staff was wonderful...all of them! They helped us book discount trips and recommended places to eat and go. There is a small kitchen that you can use too; we ended our 3 wk tour of Aussie there, so it was great to finally cook for ourselves! The hotel itself is literally across the street from the Esplanade, right next door to the night markets and a 2 minute walk to "town". You are in the middle of EVERYTHING! I think it's probably the best location in Cairns. We did a couple of tours on the water and we were able to walk to the boat in less than 5 minutes. The Esplanade pool is beautiful and very well kept and there are tons of little gas stove/grills at the park for anyone to enjoy! There was always some kind of free entertainment going on there, which was really fun! There are plenty of places to go out at night too...just depends on your style. If you're a beer drinker, try the Carlton Mid, it's great! Another tip, if you want to try Kangaroo meat (like us) don't bother spending $30 for a meal at one of the local restaurants, buy some at the grocer and cook it yourself at the park. We spent $4 US and got 3 steaks! Oh, you have to go to the night markets and try one of the Chinese full body massages! They end up being like $12 US and are TOTALLY worth every penny! We went twice and wish we could have gone more! Bottom line, if you're looking for luxury, go elsewhere. If you want a great hotel/hostel in a fantastic location for an awesome value, this is your place! Well I hope this helps!

  • Liked — The location, the staff, the price....
  • Disliked — The only thing we didn't like was leaving!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MustangMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#63 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
0.1 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#26 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#49 of 89 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellview

Property: The Bellview
Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bellview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing