We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value, Great Staff, But Rooms Just Okay for Sleeping”
Review of The Bellview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bellview
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value, Great Staff, But Rooms Just Okay for Sleeping”
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The staff are great -- helpful with recommendations and directions, plus great prices on tour bookings. The location on the Esplanade was great, with views of the harbor, tons of restaurants and shopping, and public transit right nearby. Our rooms were good-sized and clean, if plan and a bit worn. The only real negatives were that the room had louvered panels and windows that opened out onto the open-air common area, so if you need darkness and quiet to sleep, this isn't the place. (We had sleep masks and ear plugs and were just fine, though.)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    66
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
49
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wynyard
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We have stayed at the Bellview twice now and have found it to be the perfect accommodation for those on a budget. We have stayed in a 4 bed dorm as well as a double motel-style room, both of which are excellent value. The Bellview is clean (even the common kitchen!), comfy and the staff are very helpful and friendly. (Ask for help as in our experience they know what they bare talking about!)
The location is awesome ... very central to Cairns and right on the esplanade. We also found it to be a very quiet location despite its position in a busy location. (The rooms are at the back of the property, avoiding street noise) Also those staying there dont seem to be the "Party Goers" .... it is definitely not a "Party Hostel" which means you get a good night sleep!
We would certainly recommend the Bellview!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U2pies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
423 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Stayed at the Bellview a few weeks ago and was extremely impressed, the rooms are only average but are cleaned every day and each room has a wash basin which is handy! What made my stay here so brill was a) the location, right on the esplanade and right by the bus stop meaning all the tours pick you up right outside reception! and b) the staff who were extremely helpful, we booked up several tours there and they spent lots of time giving us advice and searching for the best tours for us and our needs, they also gave us some brilliant discounts, the tour desk is def worth a visit whether you stay here or not!! The only down side i have about this place is there is no computer access which means you have to go to the more expensive internet cafes, but the value of the rooms was fab and you get a great discount for staying 2 or more nights!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokie_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Bellview has been around for a long time but is an excellent value in Cairns! My friend and I actually started our stay at another hostel we had found online and didn't even stay a night because of how gross and dirty it was! We went to the Bellview which is located right in front of the lagoon and central to everything. The night markets are a few doors down and everything is within walking distance. While it is a hostel the staff cleaned the rooms and made the beds everyday and were very helpful with their advice on things to do and places to see! In particular, Eric, at the front desk truly helped make our stay very enjoyable.

There are people from all walks of life staying at the Bellview which offers dorm rooms to individual rooms. The dorm rooms house between 4-6 people and have their own bathrooms and showers within them as well as a mini fridge. There is also a nice pool in the hotel, although with the lagoon right in front you do not need it. It is very close to where the boats leave to go out to the reef and the McDonalds down the street offered free (but slow) wi-fi. Also behind the Bellview are a number of Internet cafes and a grocery store. The best thing about the Bellview is it is not loud like a number of other hostels/motels. It was easy to go to bed early to be up at 6am for the reef tour the next day.

Would definitely stay here again! Was much more than we expected to receive for $19 a night!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank australialover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Ok hostel: (we had a twinroom)
+ Really good location, right down to the promande
+ Cheap

- really bad/old smell in the room
- small room
- the bathrooms was not really delicious

But if you want to have a chaep hostel in downtown and just need a place to sleep, it can diffenetly be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This is a bargain place to stay, Eric and Betty couldn't possibly be any more friendly! and its run very well.

The rooms were really spacious, the clothes washing facilites are very good and great value ($3) it has a pool and kitchen if required.

The only thing i can put down is the floor of our room was pretty filthy, we ended up cleaning it our selves with one of the towels, which came up black. On passing one of the cleaners they don't seem to change the mop water from room to room which would explain it!

The rest of the room was clean though, especially the white sheets, (the top cover could have done with a wash but we didnt use it anyway.)

But for $36 a night i'm not complaining, it WAS great value and the location could not have been better and when it comes to booking tours and suchlike they get great discounts!

If you're looking for somewhere spotless then book a hotel, this isn't the place for you, if you're looking for somewhere roomy, with good facilites thats right in the middle of Cairns then definatley book here!

Its also right next to the night markets which are great for a cheap meal and a $15 chinese massage!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

fantastic location, very helpful and friendly staff, no 5 star but very comfortable and large room, we had motel room we found to be perfect for us, only thing i could suggest was to have a bbq in the complex. will definately be back when we return to cairns

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoofusVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#25 of 64 in Cairns
1,627 reviews
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellview

Property: The Bellview
Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bellview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing