We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Bates Motel' Experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bellview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bellview
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'Bates Motel' Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

This hotel gets an A for location as it is right smack in the thick of action along the Esplanade. Aside from that, it has another plus point: a very friendly and professional receptionist whose service convinced us to stay one night at the Bellview, despite not too favourable reviews from other travellers on the internet.

The double room we had was very old and dinghy. We felt transported back in time to the 1950s! The bed cover was old and tatty, the bedsheets were none too clean and there were bed bugs for sure! The toilet and shower at the end of the corridors were also just as old but of an acceptable level of cleanliness. The corridors were poorly lit and together with the dated furniture and lamps contributed to that 'bates motel' feeling we got. ;) Plus points: there's a sink with mirror in the room, and the hotel is generally quiet.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Old and dinghy room and bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solicisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    63
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
47
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2007

having stayed two nights in Shan-gri-la hotel we found the Bellview to be half the cost but not half the value. Not quite as luxurious but what the heck, we only slept there. Very helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to facilitate.Would recommend to any budget travellers!

  • Liked — friendly and convient
  • Disliked — somewhat dated
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oulpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Bellview for 5 nights in late March/early April, and would definitely recommend it to budget travellers! The front desk staff were helpful and friendly, and overall the rooms were basic but nice.

The only problem we had was when we booked a regular motel room instead of a deluxe and ended up in a room with cockroaches, an ant infestation, and noisy neighbors who smoked right outside our window in the middle of the night. We asked the front desk to change our room, and we were able to move right away. If you can afford it, the "deluxe" motel room is worth the extra $10 a night!

The deluxe was very large, with a double bed and a twin bed, a tv, aircon, refrigerator and private ensuite. They also provided complimentary tea with milk and sugar, which was a nice touch.

We booked tour packages through the front desk and received slight discounts (around $5), and were happy with all the tours we took. Word to the wise: stock up on anti-sea-sickness medication if they tell you it's going to be windy on the day of your trip to the Great Barrier Reef!

  • Liked — Proximity to nearby attractions, very friendly staff, large reasonably priced rooms
  • Disliked — regular motel room was dirty, with cockroaches, ant infestation, loud neighbors
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Del Carmen, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

Having stayed the first couple of nights in the Cairns Esplanade YHA it was a godsend to find this place.

As others have mentioned, the place is clearly showing its age, but everything was clean and worked perfectly.

The staff were fabulous (my wife took a particukar shine to Evan) and were very helpful for booking excursions.

What impressed us most though was that my wife left a photo in a book which she swapped with another. She phoned them a few days later to ask them to look for it, and unfortunately forgot to follow it up by giving them an address to send it on to if found. Imagine our surprise a couple of months later to hear that the photo had been received at our postal address back home in the UK which they must have taken from our check-in form. Now thats what I call service :-)

  • Liked — Location, price and the great staff
  • Disliked — Nothing much
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LV_Groom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2007

This place was great!! With two of us travelling on a budget (from the USA & Australia), we had originally booked to stay in a hostel down the road. But when we walked passed the Bellview we noticed they had rooms cheaper than our private room at the hostel and with much better facilities. (Plus it was right in the centre of town) We ended up staying here five nights and the staff were great!! They booked all our tours all with discounts and gave good pointers on where to eat aswell.

The rooms decor is a little old and odd (metal shutters on the wall that open to let air in but can be locked closed)but the rooms are comfortable!!! CLEAN!!! and close to everything. We had a double bed and a king single, new TV, Fridge, Air conditioning which was much needed in the heat, a ceiling fan and our own bathroom. They also had dorms in the back of the hotel near the pool and a kitchen which we used to one night to cook tea. I Would recommend this place to everyone. !!

Helpful?
2 Thank nameinlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2006

I stayed at the Bellview in a Motel room for 1 week with a friend paying $59 (AUS) per night. Rooms were very large compared to the others we saw and whilst it was slightly old fashioned it was clean. The staff were all friendly and helpful, they advised us on the tours that we took e.g. the reef, rainforest and each tour here was excellent, they explained that they did not sell tours that had bad reviews - I totaly believe them. This was really helpful as there are hundreds of hostels and information centres selling hundreds of tours and it all gets a bit confusing. The location right on the esplanade was great much better than the YHA Cairns central that we stayed in for 1 night paying $63, located a fair walk from the front and the room was tiny.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looloo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2006

For this price, you cannot beat it!! We stayed in the motel room with air conditioning which was the most expensive room they had ($59 AUD) and loved it. There was a mini fridge and tea pot. The staff was usually quite helpful, especially Geoff who gave us many good recommendations on trips and tours. This is right across the street from the ocean so you get some pretty views and the lagoon swimming pool is diagonally across the street which is an awesome facility! There are many bars and food options within a few blocks. But would suggest to stay AWAY from Rattle and Hum. The service was horrible. We had ended up extending our stay here in order to stay at the Bellview and to continue to take part of their discounted trips and events.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taffy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#63 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
0.1 mi away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#27 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#54 of 89 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellview

Property: The Bellview
Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bellview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing