We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly hostel in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
Ranked #46 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great friendly hostel in Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hostel, while it is a little out of town, is a great choice if you are looking for quiet, clean and friendly atmosphere! They have a really nice pool and bar area and the staff is really welcoming. The walk to Cairns City is beautiful (along the esplanade) or they have regular free shuttles that take you there...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet7337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hiya - thanks for leaving us a great review - we are so happy that you had a good time and we would love to welcome you back next time you are up North. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    100
    83
    51
    45
See reviews for
16
75
124
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Great value shared rooms, friendly staff, free pick-up from airport, cheap dinners, free breakfast (coffee and toast) and a tour desk that offers 10% discount off many of the local tours plus a free regular shuttle bus service into town (or to the docks if you book a tour thru them). The only thing they dont offer is a free transfer back to the airport but because they are at the north end of town it is only a one hour walk along the edge of mangrove forest to get there by foot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hiya David - thanks heaps for taking the time to review us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere in hostel and all you need is there. Very clean and comfortable. Much much more than I expected. Food is great and service was always good. Would recommend to anyone and definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iklchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hiya - thanks for the awesome review we think you are awesome too! Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed at Nomads Cairns for a week and had the best time - the staff were all friendly and the room was comfortable and clean

It was a great place to relax and unwind after a hectic 3 months in Asia - there's a huge pool and big grass area that are great for chilling out

The bar is also open all day and serves really cheap food and drinks - good quality too

There is a free shuttle into the town centre although it is a scenic walk down the esplanade that only takes about 20mins and it is super close to the airport which made it good for my early morning flight.

Loads of free activities and super cheap rates topped it off nicely - I will be back!

Room Tip: Dorms are great for meeting fellow travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hiya and thanks for your great review - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed in our Jucy Camper and used the facilities. At $5pp it's a great deal. Shower facilities are decent and car park is secure. Pretty far out of town though and the shuttle bus is poorly run. The only bad part of my stay here was a very grumpy young female receptionist. Otherwise, nice place to stay for couple of nights!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank world_explorer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hiya - thanks for your review we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Just to clarify a point though - we do not allow camping here in vans or campers but we offer super cheap dorm rates and free parking. Enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We booked five nights in this hostel. If we had known what it was actually like, we would have spent our money in a better establishment(which would have been anywhere else)!

Upon check in, they could not find our booking, despite us having all the necessary details. The staff member finally found it after some confusion. The room we got was ok, but did have ants. Also, the key cards for the room did not work. I spoke to reception about this but nothing could be done, so for our entire stay we struggled to actually get into our room.

All the cleaning here appears to be done by the work to stay staff and it is not done by professional cleaners. This unfortunately leads to a poor quality of cleaning.The bathrooms are FILTHY!! The staff say they are cleaned regularly but the "cleaning" they do is entirely inadequate. I know it is inadequate as they do not close the bathrooms while they clean them, so I was present for many of the cleanings, which consisted of a quick wipe with a damp mop. The floors are black with dirt in places. I was unfortunate enough to witness, on two different nights, two different girls lying on the floor and throwing up in the bathrooms after drinking too much....definitely a disgusting sight. This went on while another girl rinsed a vomit soaked cardigan in the sink, where people wash their face and brush their teeth etc....so disgusting!

The kitchen is the dirtiest kitchen I have seen in my five months of travelling and staying in hostels. There is food on the floor and on the countertops. The sinks are full of dirty dishes and cutlery. It made it pretty much impossible to cook in the kitchen. Also, the $3 meals are not even worth the $3.

This hostel was also one of the noisiest hostels I have stayed in. The bar is closed at 10pm, but it is the people who come home from town that are the problem. Every night we stayed, we were woken at 2am and 3am when they came back to the hostel on the shuttle bus from town. They were literally shouting in the corridor outside our room. It got so bad one night that I felt a little scared! This shouting was not just at the weekend nights, it continued every night. The staff say that there is someone to stop this noise, but this is clearly not the case as it occurred every night and continued for some time every night.

The hostel is really far from the town, but they do run a shuttle bus every hour, that is probably the only good thing about this place. I definitely do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hi and thanks for taking the time to write us a review - I will try and respond to all your issues. We have electronic key card access to the rooms for security and have found them a huge improvement on the old key system - we very rarely have problems but I apologise that you found this the case. Not being able to see your name from your review I cannot have a look what room you were in or when you stayed so I am not sure what the booking problem was. We have 2 professional full time cleaners working over 7 days and we also hire part time cleaners to help. We take a massive pride in the cleanliness and appearance of the property and I am surprised that you found things not up to standard. Unfotunately we cannot control the behavior of the guests and I am sorry that they were acting so inappropriately. This is also the case for the backpacker kitchen - we have cleaning patrols throughout the day but it becomes hard to manage when hundreds of backpackers leave their dishes and mess for us to celan up. We offer a $3 meal each day which is basic but healthy and substantial - normally a rice or pasta base with veggies and different styles - satay, curry, italian etc - for those who want something different we offer a full menu with meals from $5 - $12 - great value for money. With regards to the noise we have staff on all through the night who monitor guests and keep noise levels to a minimum - I feel that you must have been super unlucky to experience noise problems during your stay. We hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Hey guys, just wanted to say thanks for my stay at Nomads. Clean, tidy, organized what else do you want from a hostel. Also your meals were tasty as for only like $5.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thanks to you as well Craig - a pleasure to have you here. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.0 mi away
Edge Apartments
Edge Apartments
#47 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.6 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.1 mi away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
0.9 mi away
Globetrotters International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar

Property: Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
Address: 341 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Cairns backpackers resort is a 4 ½ star AAA rated budget accommodation with resort style facilities and onsite Serpent Bar, and has been designed to provide you with a great night's sleep. Located only minutes away from the Cairns Esplanade, gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, it includes everything you need to enjoy Tropical North Queensland in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Serpent Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing