We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nomads the best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
Ranked #34 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 24 November 2012

would love to thank all the team and staff at nomads lake street.
i have stayed here now three times as i work and travel all over australia.
meals were of an awesome standard and very cost effective.
great bar,great party games which gets everyone smiling and involved.
if you are ever in cairns dont stay anywhere else.this is the place to be.
the pool is very clean as are all the rooms..
general upkeep was of a very high standard.
the airconditioners work here was a bonus as the sun is always shining
the staff make you feel right at home.very helpful with all your needs...
the bookings for tours and other fun stuff to do in cairns were all booked through the staff at the front desk not to mention cheap...
go to the nomads web site lake street check out the fun pics and great times..
LOVE YOU ALL AT NOMADS will be seeing you again very soon..
thanks guys love shannon

Room Tip: the double rooms were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hi - thanks for the great review we work really hard to keep guests happy so it's lovely to hear when you are happy! Wishing you all the best for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

I've stayed at nomads for about 2 weeks. And it was awesome. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, if you have any problem they will sort it out right away. Couldn't be more pleased about the way they've treated me. Met some good friends over there as well.

Each morning they have free breakfast and in the evening dinner for just $3 dollars, or buy a $5 dollar beer and get the meal for free. If i could i would've stayed longer but duty calls and had to travel further.

I would advise everyone when you are in Cairns, just stay at Nomads Serpent if you want to have a good time with a lot of fun and cool activities that they organise!

Room Tip: go for the dorms! Yes there will be other people in it but it is cheap and you make friends easily!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hi and thanks so much for your great review - come back and see us again next time you are in Cairns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

It is a fairly basic place. Single rooms look and feel like prison cells. Air conditioning is controlled from reception so you can't adjust it and they switch it off at 10am. You have to go down to reception and ask them to put it on. It's Au$5 for a towel.

Biggest surprise was that the rate they charge for direct booking is WAY more than what you pay if you use one of the internet sites - about 65% more + card fees! I felt cheated.

The real strength of this place is the people that stay here -from everywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hi and thanks for your review - we are sorry that you were charged more for booking directly as we always honour online rates at reception and offer great budget rates all year round. As you stayed during the total solar eclipse in Cairns then the rates were higher during this period as everywhere was full - this may have been the reason your rate was higher than when you originally booked. We are definitely not out to cheat anybody. We hope you had a great time in Cairns and would love to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I recently stayed Nomads and really enjoyed it. It met all my needs and was well priced. The pool was lovely and the food was good too but it has a great big share kitchen to do your own cooking in if you want. I had lots of fun and was treated very well by all the staff especially the management. I found it to be clean all of the time and I would stay there again in the future. Not bad for a backpackers at all. Well done and keep up the good standards and good work. C

Room Tip: If you can afford it and want your privacy pick a single room but the share rooms looked fine and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hello and thanks so much for the lovely review - our staff are indeed awesome! Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Yes youth hostels are typically budget accomodations and the Nomads properties do cater for backpackers, however there is never any excuse for uncleanliness or poor facilities, no matter which type of traveller you are catering for.

The word 'basic' doesnt begin to describe Nomads Serpent - this is a place to stay if there is absolutely no where else to stay in Cairns (as was the case over the Solar Eclipse this month).

The carpetting in the hall ways were worn and in the rooms, a bit sticky. The air conditioning couldn't be turned on from the room; you have to ask at the front desk for it to be switched on remotely as travellers clearly are not qualified to operate a remote! When it was on, the A/C was ineffectual and as a result I sweated all night. Not pleasant.

The room was dirty, with pools of an oily substance on the bedside table (I didn't want to know what it was) and the towel that I was supposed to use was badly stained with white and brown patches and looked like the sort of thing I'd give my dog to sit on in the car. Overall, it was like staying in a remand centre. Except that the prisoners would probably complain.

To top off the magical experience, the power went out at about 8:30pm and only came on about 2 hours later.

Room Tip: The best room in this case would be somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TenRingShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hello - thanks for the review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay - although we do feel that some of your comments are a little unfair. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and there is no denying that we have some of the best facilities for a backpackers hostel - huge swimming pool, beach volleyball court, well maintained gardens and chill out areas, bar and bistro, ping pong tables and pool tables, a convenience store, lounge areas and TV rooms, internet room and dining deck. Also the aircon is controlled from reception as an environmental move to conserve energy - otherwise they get left on all day every day and when you have over 90 rooms this can be quite an energy impact. It is small step to reception to switch them on or off for the guest but a giant leap for the cause of our carbon footprint. Maybe this was not conveyed well enough by our staff so I do apologise for that. Unfortunately we did lose power one night due to a tree falling on a powerline in the city - it was restored within a couple of hours and we did our best to help everyone out during that time - again I do extend my apologies to you that you were inconvenienced. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spent a week here and absolutely loved it - really clean and the staff are super friendly. Massive pool and free stuff to do every day - thanks to Dan for the awesome rainforest tour! The free breakfast is toast and tea or coffee and the bar meals are delicious and really cheap. Thanks - we will be back!!

Room Tip: The private rooms are really good value - check if they are on special - we got an ensuite private r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Thanks for your great review - we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

absolutely brilliant staff, free breakfast and good kitchen facilities to use, great pool - its huge! only thing i could moan about is the cheap meal on an evening always being vegetarian! i had the roast veg salad instead- 8 dollars - very filling and yummy! quick service too! staff were always great. if you want the air con on you have to go and ask at reception - eco friendly too i guess! great bathrooms and rooms were always clean although the lighting in the dorms could be a little brighter!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccahair220190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hiya - thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a good review it is really appreciated and makes all the hard work worthwhile! Please come and see us again when you are next in Cairns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.1 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#11 of 82 in Cairns
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edge Apartments
Edge Apartments
#57 of 82 in Cairns
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.5 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
1.1 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#10 of 82 in Cairns
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar

Address: 341 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £11 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Cairns backpackers resort is a 4 ½ star AAA rated budget accommodation with resort style facilities and onsite Serpent Bar, and has been designed to provide you with a great night's sleep. Located only minutes away from the Cairns Esplanade, gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, it includes everything you need to enjoy Tropical North Queensland in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Serpent Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing