We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Wen I met the staff from Traveller's Oasis I immediately knew I wanted to stay there. It was so peaceful and tranquil, despite the fact they were very busy and had a lot of guests.The warmth of the staff, the genuine enthousiasm for travelling, for the country and the things you can do there as a tourist was amazing. Also, they have a lot of know-how, they can help you get good deals and the hostel itself is just beautiful. Wonderful swimming pool, palmtrees surrounding it, clean kitchens and showers, nice beds and located directly next to the main shopping mall in Cairns: I can definitely recommend this hostel, and I will go there again if I am ever around in Cairns! I am already missing them but one has to look forward in life: but this experience is most definitely one I will remember always!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavdende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

My partner, my 15 month old son and I stayed at the Travellers Oasis just for a single night before we flew out of Cairns but this hostel truly left an impression. It is clean, it offers heaps of space, it has nice areas to socialise and a really good vibe in general.

It seems to be visited mostly by a crowd in their 20ies om a tight budget and it has everything people of that age would expect from a hostel. Usually you really never hang out in a hostel a lot but this place makes you actually stay there. The pool is a nice bonus.

There is a shopping center including supermarket just around a corner and there is enough parking space just on the road. It has 20 odd rooms so you can meet other travellers easily without making the place to overcrowded. The staff working there was really nice.

Hardly ever stayed in a nicer hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinoKos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is the best hotstel I have ever stayed in. The staff is super-friendly and helpful and the guests were grown up which gave the perfect atmosphere. Because it was so nice and relaxed there, I spontaneously decided to take a few days from traveling the world and have a rest in paradise. Thanks you so much for this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. We felt very well looked after by Helen and the team, who made us feel instantly welcome. Our room was like a hotel room and was very comfortable. The bathroom was always available and clean. We made use of the barbecue and large outdoor dining area. On the last day they let us stay in the hostel until we caught our bus at midnight. They were well-informed about trips and had plenty of information. They were really helpful with booking the trips, too. Thanks!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AlbertB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed there for five nights. The staff was super-friendly and managed to solve all of the request we had and provide any information we needed for tours or Cairns. The decoration and the warm atmosphere make of the Travellers Oasis a must-see place in Cairns.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which are a bit too close to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOND-OF-TRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed at the hostel for 3 nights early August 2012 in a double room. Onyl booked two nights but on arrival we realised we needed another night, not a problem for the staff who arranged for us to have the same room for the 3 nights. When our original tour got cancelled to Cape Tribulation the office staff managed to get us a trip for the following day even though it was 7pm.
Can't really fault the Hostel, it was clean, tidy, homely and close to all ammenities.

The management need to be proud of their staff who were amazingly friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theavgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hostel is probably the best case I have seen so far of a budget place that can still be welcoming and nicely decorated! The common areas (kitchen, bbq area..) are clean and fully equipped. Toilets are clean but maybe shared by too many rooms and sometimes quite far from the room, which is not very good if u need it at night :)
The rooms were also nice and clean.
The best thing of this hostel is without doubts its staff. Helen is a great host, manager and travel agent. She booked all our excursions and helped us to get organized in every single little detail. We really appreciated her devotion for her work and wish her the best for her future career! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#8 of 84 in Cairns
504 reviews
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £16 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travellers Oasis Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing