We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Very Clean, staff really friendly, discounted trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2008

A friend recommended this hostel. it doesnt feel like a hostel. It has a lovelly wee lagoon and lots of bathrooms, shower rooms and kitchens. The staff - John, Gabrielle and Lisa were lovelly. John really goes out of his way to help you. He sold us some discounted trips for the Barrier Reef.

They have a wee mini bus and they pick you up at the airport for free, and they take you to drop off points for trips/excursions.

The location of the hostel is really handy - just behind the shopping centre.

I felt really safe staying there. I shared a room wtih my mum and uncle.

Prices were really cheap and they do a bbq on a Monday night - it is a must see and do! We had a great laugh.

I want to go again!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Juleboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2007

Going to Cairns - Stay at the Oasis.

This is a great little spot - just a short walk from the Cairns CBD. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is extremely helpfull - The only little downside is, that the office is closed from noon to 4 pm.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank harapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We stayed in a double room at the beginning of September and after reading the reviews of this place I was hopeful that this would be ok. Our room was small but clean and had a fridge, fan and air conditioning (coin operated) and the hostel was generally quite clean. The 2 kitchens are small and a little 'tired' looking as are the bathrooms. The pool area is nice. But when we stayed there was a big group of people up all night till morning shouting and talking VERY loudly which kept us up which is not great when you are being picked up for a trip at 6am!
This place is ok I wouldn't recommend it and I wouldn't stay here again!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Jitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Lovely clean hostel. Friendly staff. I stayed in a 4 bed room for 7 days. I had intended to travel around a bit but ended up baseing myself there and coming and going.

Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Easy short walk from the night life in Cairns. The monday night BBQ are a must! Really good fun and a great feed.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DebbieOSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

I stayed two nights in a double room. The room was small but comfortable, we had our own small fridge. The bathroom was clean. The
hostel is nice and quiet, and the kitchen was good and clean (which tend to be hard to find in hostels). The whole place seemed well managed. It is very close to the shopping center (with a big supermarket) and it is not far away from the city center.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank elo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

nice clean hostel. i booked a single room for a couple of nights to cath up on sleep. the room was quiet with a fan and a comfy proper bed and duvet. it's a bit far from town so not so great for walking home on your own at dark. staff are a bit rude though

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank L84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Johannesburg, South Africa
14
Reviewed 2 October 2003

I had a wonderful time at the Barrier Reef from 15-20 September 2003 and stayed at the Travellers Oasis in Cairns which was great and also stayed on a dive boat for two days with Cairns Dive Centre which were excellent. Great guys and gals This was one of the best times of my life and would definately do it again. Australia is a beatiful country and the dive-trip was made worthwhile by the above people Douw Steyn

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.4 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 83 in Cairns
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £17 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travellers Oasis Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing