We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I stayed at in my time in Australia.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best hostel I stayed at in my time in Australia.”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was the best hostel I've ever stayed. The staff is soooo nice! Helen is the best, she is so kind and always wants the best for you, helps you with anything, always has time for a talk or a question. She can help you with all trips in and around cairns, she can book trips for you and the day of your trip the hostel will drop you off if necessary. Rooms were very nice. Enough power points, a personal safe with code, nice beds. Nice kitchen, never closed. There is a very chill and cosy vibe in the hostel. You feel at home immediately. Go here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana-vl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    128
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
226
350
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

For all those that are not used to staying in hostels it can be kind of a worrying moment when trying to pick a accommodation to stay in. For those that are not used to staying in a hostel and are travelling alone then I recommend booking Travelers Oasis.

The complex has a really relaxing, colorful and tropical atmosphere great for those that want to hang out reading a book by the pool, hang around in a hammock listening to the palm trees in the wind. Great for those wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of the cities they may have just traveled from.

As soon as you arrive you are greeted by a friendly and highly informative team who leave no stone unturned to ensure you are happy and make the most of your stay ( tours / trips/ places to eat/shopping/car hire) you notice that there is always members of staff around to help with all things and ensure the complex is scrubbed,washed and clean to perfection DAILY.

I booked for a couple of nights originally but ended up staying nearly a month on and off. When I was away working in the outback and returned to civilization it kind of felt like coming home! Thats how good it is.

I listened to the advice of Helen ( Hostel Manager) who was great and because of her I have some of the most amazing memories of Cairns that I will remember for a lifetime - The Rainforest, road trips, Great Barrier Reef and many more definitely the highlights of Australia!

Twice a week there are nights to get everyone together ( its not all just chillaxing ) there is the pizza night and the famous bbq ( Emu, Crocodile, Kangaroo with entertainment) which is great as you meet lots of other people travelling alone and you end up in the famous woolshed bar where everyone gets up and parties on the tables ( free and discounted drinks with tokens from TOasis )- kind of felt like a 18-30s for the one night only which is good for some entertainment and to meet like minded people.


Location is spot on just across the road from the mall,train station and food courts and a nice 10 minute walk into the central area / Esplanade.
I made friends in all places from around the world and had the best time ever - thank you Helen and the team for showing me what a real hostel life is all about....other hostels and even hotels have a lot to live up to now! ;)

Thanks Travellers Oasis!

Adam W

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Overall Traveller's oasis is a decent place to stay but I had a couple of gripes. 'Private balcony' is in fact a shared balcony, with a wooden divider. The safe didn't work. The TV remote didn't work. The sheets smelled a bit odd (a bit wet dog smell). Walls are quite thin (think noisy neighbours that can be loud). Now that's the bad out the way. On the upside the staff were helpful and friendly. It's clean. Location is decent. Good cheap airport pick-up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamboozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Travellers oasis was clean and the atmosphere was great. A friend and I stayed for 3 nights and loved it. Everyone working there was really friendly and helped a lot with booking the best tours and activities. Although this was not a party hostel they had great deals with the local pubs for really cheap drinks and meals. The communal kitchens, lounges and bathrooms were great- clean and spacious. They also had free wifi which was defiantly a bonus!! Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corban B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is the best place to stay and meet amazing people. The room and the shared bathrooms were clean. The people at the front desk were extremely nice and helpful, especially Helen. Also the atmosphere was very welcoming and warm. It was very easy to socialise with other guests and organise barbecues.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHA_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I went here with 3 of my friends when we planned to see the reef and rain forest. It has friendly staff and a great outdoor area which gave a great feel to the place. The rooms were basic but comfortable and the aircon was fantastic which was needed. Although we booked our excursions without the aid of the hostel they did offer to help us with any thing else we planned, My only problem is the odd (in my opinion) reception hours. But either than that it is well worth the money you pay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deco313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. They were so helpful. Everything was booked for us. It was extremely clean. Staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. It was like being part of a family. We'll be back mummy Helen :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsurunclecit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.4 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Property: Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing