We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel in Australia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in Australia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in ALOT of hostels during our travels around Australia and I have to say this was the best. Clean, safe and well laid out. Incredibly helpful staff (very knowledgable about all the different options for reef tours). We stayed in a delux double room and had our own balcony and hammock - amazing! Nothing bad to say about it. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I'm sure all would be great but it was nice splashing out and getting a deluxe double. Loved the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJoyceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi There,

Great to read that a seasoned Traveler who has experienced many Hostels in Australia found us to be the Best, that really means a lot to us. We will keep trying to improve.

Thanks again


Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    126
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
223
341
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at beginning and end of a short trip to North Qld. Very well equipped kitchens, kept spotlessly clean. Pleasant outdoor dining area with Weber BBQ. Staff were super helpful and friendly. The Monday night BBQ at their sister hostel is fun and worth going to. Some rooms noisier than others but everything quietens down by 10pm or so, is not a party hostel!

Room Tip: Room 1 is on ground level, has 4 single beds, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for all your kind words, glad you enjoyed the Monday night BBQ, I got to say we all love it as well. Nice to hear you had a comfortable sleep.

Thanks

Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Friendly staff, good location, and quiet at night. I was traveling alone and this hostel is full of friendly people. It was easy to make some new friends am get suggestions on what to do during my stay. It was in walking distance from stores, the lagoon, bars, and bottle shops. I loved that I coul come home at night and it was peaceful and quiet so I could get some sleep. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chall79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Clean hostel. Friendly helpful staff , especially Marco. Stayed in a double room shared bathroom. Very clean, nice bed and pillows. Got the $5 airport shuttle right to the door. (Costs $8.50 to return to airport ) . Right beside a big shopping centre with Coles, target, post office, cinema etc and the train station. Good twenty min walk to lagoon, sea front. Nice pool and relaxing areas. Bit noisy at weekends but it's a hostel. Would stay again. Fridge in room, air con $1 for 3 hours

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGal8927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed for 5 nights and couldn't fault a thing. Everything was clean and tidy and the staff were very amazing from booking tours or just having a chat.
The light in our room went out so we went down to reception and they came right up to replace it.
The best thing has to be the showers, hot and with a powerful stream of water making you not want to get out.
Would also definitely recommend going to weekly Monday night BBQ for some great food and entertainment, never thought I would eat crocodile.
Hopefully one day I will get to go back.



  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was a good hostel, but I'm afraid they might be resting on their laurels a little bit. With the fantastic reviews up here and the '#1 hostel in oceania' flyers everywhere I was expecting a bit more.
Good points:
- Great wifi, strong reception, fast speed.
- Nice layout, several communal areas, relaxed atmosphere.
- Quiet area and rooms.
- Great vouchers available at reception- discounts for decent restaurant.

Needs improvement:
- No bin in the room.
- Shower drains need a clean - water pools around ankles.
- No brush or sponge in kitchen, same cloth to wipe benches used to wash dishes.
- Reception closed between 12-4pm, really surprised about this.
- No top sheet on the bed, this means the doona/duvet is shared with previous guest, if they shower in the morning, their whole day's filth is caked onto the blanket.
- No paper towels/towel to dry your hands in the bathrooms.'

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Penelope,

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed all the facilities we offer.
I do not agree with you saying we are sitting back on our laurels, this is not a fair thing to say considering the hard work that all our staff put in, we have great reviews and are ranked very high on a lot of web sites and are given various awards, we do not enter any competitions or submit to any awards. All the ratings we receive come from our guests, so we are proud to display them in the office.

I would like to say that we have used bins in the rooms in the past, but we found guest were putting food into them and consequently attracting ants etc, there are multiple bins that can be found in the bathrooms & communal areas which are emptied through out the day.
I have not been aware of any blocked drains but will look into it today.
Our kitchens are supplied with scrubbing brushes, cloths and detergent, and these are checked and replaced daily.
We supply a Doona/Duvet that has a removable cover, these covers and all linen and towels are washed on guests departure,
I am not sure why you think different.
We also give each guest their own fresh towel to use in the bathroom.

I appreciate your suggestions and will make sure we continue set a high standard.
regards

Gabe Thallon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This is an incredible hostel. We were booked in for 2 days and ended up staying for a week.

Very central, GOOD free wifi, great atmosphere and great facilities.

The rooms were absolutely spotless, along with all communal areas.

The majority of staff were brilliant. Helen, Micky and Marco are an absolute credit to the hostel; lovely, lovely people. The only negative point with this hostel was a cleaner - Christina. She was very rude, abrupt and just generally horrible.

Thank you Gabe, Helen, Micky and Marco for an unforgettable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Ash,

Thanks for all the positive comments, we really appreciate it, but no one can recall a staff member called Christina !!!????it is a shame that someone was rude none the less.

Thanks again

Gabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Property: Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing