We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little corker!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Stayed here in November 2008 and can't recommend it highly enough.

The phrase 'clean and comfortable accommodation' doesn't always go hand in hand with a hostel, but this place bucks the trend.

It's a lovely place to stay and the folks that worked there helped us out with planning trips etc and just generally made us feel welcome.

I'm looking forward to going back already.....

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2008

This hostel does what it says on the tin - it really is an oasis, both in Cairns and compared to other hostels. As an independent hostel they have gone all out on trying to make the place feel like a home from home. When we arrived after hours we were given a hand-drawn personalised map to our room which made us feel wanted. After Uluru, I nearly cried with delight when I saw our comfortable double bed made-up with bright bed linen, pay as you go air con, towels on the bed, TV, fridge, and hammock on our balcony! We had booked a double deluxe which came with a balcony (shared with the another room, but we rarely met and it was big enough for all of us) and the balcony was complete with hammock, and table and chairs for breakfast. The shower/ bathroom was shared between three rooms but was never busy. The kitchen was well stocked and seasonings and condiments were provided. There was also a cosy TV lounge, internet access, outside seating area and small, well-looked-after pool. The reception staff were really friendly and chatty and knew our names. We stayed for 5 nights and were even given clean towels half way through. The hostel is decorated by hand-drawn signs which give it an ethnic, quirky, homely style. The hostel is in a quiet side street at the back of Cairns (by that I mean about 15 mins away from the beach and on the other side of the train station) but it was in a perfect location for rest and relaxation. It is five mins to the nearest supermarket (above the train station), and near to pick up points for all reef/rainforest tours. We would go back in a second - it was bliss!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank SS_Minnow_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

The place was just perfect in every sense! Not only clean but very neat with great attention to details. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the dorms were not too big (no bunks). It is located next to the railway station and a 5-10 min walk away from the town centre. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all our bookings, and what impressed me most was that the receptionist knew the names of all the guests! Amazing! Such thing really does make a difference!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Doro13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

My husband and I stayed in a private room for 7 nights in July/August 2008. We loved Travellers Oasis! The hostel had a great tropical feeling, a perfect location, great amenities, and was extremely clean. The prices were great and I’d definitely stay there again!

Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable, although it was quite small and there wasn’t really any room to put our packs where we weren’t tripping over them. We had a bedside table, a small sink, and a bar fridge (fantastic!!) in the room, and a hammock and private table/chairs right outside our door. Although there was an air conditioner, it cost $1 to run for 3 hours. We didn’t end up using it because the ceiling fan was adequate, but it would probably be necessary during the heat and humidity of Cairns’ summer months.

As far as I could tell, there were 3 showers and 4 or 5 toilets shared between all of the guests. I never had to wait for the shower or toilet the entire time I was there even though the hostel was at full capacity. The atmosphere in the common areas was great (with a beautiful little pool and barbeque grill in the middle of it all) and seemed to be perfect for people wanting to meet socialize. Noise wasn’t a problem for us given the somewhat secluded location of our room. There were also 2 conveniently located kitchens, a TV room, and 4 washers/dryers ($3 per wash).

John at the front desk, who seemed to be the main staff member at the hostel, was amazing! He was incredibly helpful in every situation and always went out of his way to help make guests’ stays the best possible. They keep in stock a ton of travel and activity brochures along with restaurant coupons and activity listings in the main office. We booked 4 tours through him and they all turned out to be great! This worked out particularly well since the hostel provided free transportation to the reef terminal.

This is definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed at and I’d highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suprchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. I was recommended to stay here by someone and im glad I listened. Its a good spot as just out of town so not in all the noise but close enough to be able to have a good night out. Its a chilled out place where your name is remembered with a complete range of people staying. Its very clean, but watch out for the bleach!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank junecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

A friend recommended this hostel. it doesnt feel like a hostel. It has a lovelly wee lagoon and lots of bathrooms, shower rooms and kitchens. The staff - John, Gabrielle and Lisa were lovelly. John really goes out of his way to help you. He sold us some discounted trips for the Barrier Reef.

They have a wee mini bus and they pick you up at the airport for free, and they take you to drop off points for trips/excursions.

The location of the hostel is really handy - just behind the shopping centre.

I felt really safe staying there. I shared a room wtih my mum and uncle.

Prices were really cheap and they do a bbq on a Monday night - it is a must see and do! We had a great laugh.

I want to go again!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Juleboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2007

Going to Cairns - Stay at the Oasis.

This is a great little spot - just a short walk from the Cairns CBD. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is extremely helpfull - The only little downside is, that the office is closed from noon to 4 pm.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank harapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £20 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing