We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Given the price, it's a good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning of May, stayed in a 4 bed dorm room with friends for $25 AUD per person, per night. This was my first time staying at a hostel, so my expectations were not very high.

The room was basic, just 4 beds, a mirror, and a small 2 level shelf to put some items. It would have been nice to have an end table to put larger items on, but we got by. One of the window's crank did not work, but there was a ceiling fan to circulate the air. The room was clean and in good condition. But I did find a roach on the side of my bed, but to their defense I found roaches in other hotels and B&B's in Australia.

The community facilities were all in good condition and cleaned every morning. The showers were nice and hot. But the soap dispenser did not get refilled and the bathroom light did not get replaced. The kitchen was accommodating with a fridge, microwave, toaster, plates, cups, silverware, and a sink. There were ants crawling around so you have to watch the food you set on the table.

The people were very friendly. They took time to answer all our emails and helped us plan our reef trip. They also have a free airport pickup, just call their toll free number at the airport. Any questions we had about Cairns in terms of where to eat and what to do, they took the time to answer.

The location was good. It was across the street from a local mall and grocery so it was convenient to buy food. But it was "across the railroad", so it wasn't in the most happening location. It felt like we were in a local neighborhood. It took about a 10-15 minute walk to get to the markets/restaurants.

Overall, it was a good experience and good value for the price we paid. If all you're looking for is a place to wash, sleep, and take care of bare essentials, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msukevtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2009

Travellers Oasis was the perfect place for us to start our trip around Queensland. The room and the baths (shared) were o.k. and the staff was helpful and superfriendly. They organised as everything - a trip to the Great Barrier Reef and a roundtrip with a rented car to the Atherton Tablelands and Cape Tribulation.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We split our stay between two places in Cairns and originally stayed on the Esplanade, which was too long a walk to the Lagoon and city. After switching to Travellers Oasis, we were much happier with the convenience of the location. Anna was extremely friendly when we first got there, and the hostel also gives a few coupons for meal discounts at restaurants in Cairns (the best meal deal - the Wool Shed, huge portions and a drink for just $10).

Our room was decently clean, although we did have a roach scutter in from the main hallway (which didn't scar our stay too badly). The towels provided were a bit damp and smelled a bit funny, but we just used our own instead. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and pots and pans for cooking. The section of the hostel we stayed in only had one shower and sink, but we never had to wait to use them.

Despite the problems with the towels and roach, we still enjoyed our stay and would recommend it as a great hostel for location and value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank parisi615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We arrived at the hostel late at night and picked up our keys from a pre arranged location and let ourselves into our room for the night. Our room was basic and bedding smelt of damp but other than that it was ok.

This place was not to our taste, however we could see the appeal to the typical backpacker as there are plenty of communal chill out areas and the place had a nice vibe.

Personally I would not return to this Hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gemmasnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

This hostel has everything you want a good hostel to have and none of the bad bits!

The staff were overly kind, friendly and welcoming. The facilities are perfectly good for any hostel (kitchens, aircon, fridges, pool, pick up from the airport etc). The staff know everyones name whether you are there for a day or a month, they know a huge amount about all the trips and things to do in the area, its is a decent size but without hundreds of people charging around but still provide a really nice and comfortable environment to stay.

They have a sister company (Tropic days) around the corner and just as good. Monday is a joint bbq between the 2 hostels for $12 with crocodile, emu, Kangaroo and full salad bar on the menu - There are not many other hostels that provide this level of care and enjoyment for travellers.

No matter who you are, who you are with or what you want from a hostel - there really is nothing wrong with these two places.

They also recommended Uncle Brians Bus for a day trip - This was an amazing day swimming in natural lakes and waterfalls and natural slides and having a really funny day out "away from the reef". Definately recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gormansp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights when we arrive in Australia and we were very impressed with the standards of the hostel. We had a double room which had its own fridge, fan and aircon. The room was very clean with decent bedding- no stains or bleach marks. The shared areas were well maintained and were always being cleaned. The staff here were really helpful, when we arrive in Oz we had no idea what trips we wanted to go on but they talked us through the options with no pressure to book through them. It is not right in the city centre but it only a 5 minute walk to all of the shops etc.
The only small problem here was ants in the kitchen but there is not a lot you can do about them you seem to get them everywhere where food is prepared.
This was an excellent hostel and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Cairns.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nicky1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Stayed here in November 2008 and can't recommend it highly enough.

The phrase 'clean and comfortable accommodation' doesn't always go hand in hand with a hostel, but this place bucks the trend.

It's a lovely place to stay and the folks that worked there helped us out with planning trips etc and just generally made us feel welcome.

I'm looking forward to going back already.....

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.4 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 83 in Cairns
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £17 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travellers Oasis Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing